Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel on the north coast

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Not much to look at from outside but wonderfully welcoming, cosy and comfortable inside. Recommend eating at Peet's Restaurant in the town! Wonderfully large bathtub (great for warming up) and possibly the best shower I've ever had. Staff were attentive and took care of the one niggle we had instantly. Very dog friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel needs upgrading, he decor is looking it's age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury amid the beauty of the Scottish highlands

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Lovely views, clean rooms, great service
Location: Stunning scenery
Loved the hotel & the breakfast, such a pity we were only there for one night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent Hotel...BUT CONFIRM your reservation

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The hotel was wonderful, staff was wonderful, breakfast was wonderful...but, it almost didn't happen. We arrived late in the evening (approx. 9:45pm), but we weren't worried because we not only had our Expedia confirmation email in hand BUT we even received an email a week prior from someone in the hotel's reservation system confirming our stay and asking if we needed reservations for dinner. HOWEVER, upon arrival we were informed that we had no reservation!!! I provided my Expedia confirmation, but the hotel said they never received the information from Expedia. I said "but someone in your hotel emailed me confirming my stay", still they insisted we were not in the system. Luckily, they had one room left and we were saved. So, learn from my "almost disaster"....Confirm, Confirm Confirm your reservation multiple times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberlour

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: I love the food, staff and the sauna.
Cons: No improvements required.
Location: Great location for hill walking. Suilven is close by and there is a stunning beach at Achmelvich.
This is my fourth stay here and it is an excellent hotel. The staff are great and Nicholas the manager always looks after us very well. It's dog friendly which is fantastic. The restaurant serves some of the best food in the country and is always fresh and delicious. One of my favourite places to visit and I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent Service, Stunning Views.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We stayed (1 night only - wish it was longer) in room 220 ('Canisp') - stunning views of the mountains as well as the bay. Excellent service, lovely food. Pricey but definitely worth it. Thoroughly recommended. Will stay again if back this way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hershey, PA

What a View!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Not difficult to find, this hotel offers a lot for retired folks like my wife and. Foe example, I felt right at home wearing my kilt to dinner.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Poulton le Fylde

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place to relax. Room with a view. A bit over priced but good as a one off treat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Trying to be a 5 star but really only a 3 star

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The views.
Cons: Decor, food, new Tv's for rooms, redecorate rooms.
Location: Good location, nice views.
Trying to be a 5 star hotel but only really a 3 star, Albert charging 5 star prices.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Northants

Highly recommended!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic night spent in a 15th Century castle with the North Sea lapping at the walls beneath the window. A stunning hotel in a great location. Service was excellent which got started with a young man carrying our cases up the grand staircase to the 3rd floor (this is a proper castle with no lifts!) Dinner in the great hall (complete with medieval accessories) was excellent and post dinner drinking in the lounge involved some high quality alcohol and conversation with some interesting fellow guests.