Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An interesting adventure

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: We liked its quirkiness and environmentally friendly approach.
Cons: To reduce rubbish, shampoos and conditioners could be in refillable dispensers in the rooms.
Location: An hour from the Queen Charlotte Walkway, interesting artworks and walks.
This resort has a lot of interesting activities to check out, is close to Picton and had friendly helpful staff who went the extra mile, literally in our case, as we got a bit lost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique accommodation in a beautiful location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
My husband and I travelled from Auckland to Lochmara for a 3 night getaway. It was a was a whole day of travelling each way but well worth it. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a nice view. It was so relaxing sitting on our patio in the early evening with a bottle of wine, just watching the beautiful bay. The food in the restaurant was amazing as was the outlook. There are free kayaks to use and theres's lots to see when walking all around the grounds. Also plenty hammocks to relax in. Hammockville amongst the trees right on the waters edge was my favourite . I could lie there and watch the stingrays go by. We did the walk up the lookout on Queen Charlotte Track. Steep in places but so worth it. We had a great few days and I would highly recommend Lochmara Lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Lochmara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback and very pleased your enjoyed your stay at Lochmara Lodge, There is a lot to do and sometimes the hardest thing if choosing. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walked in off the Queen Charlotte track - about 4km / 1 hour walk off track.

Great Escape

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great views over the bay. This is a very good 4 star property. Rooms clean and functional. Excellent food and friendly service. Wine list could be more extensive with some quality wines. Some great artistic walks around the property. This is my second time this year, so definitely recommend as a stop along the way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful peaceful location

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately it was raining on both days I have stayed but if your looking for a peaceful relaxed location to stay. Disconnect from reality-with no TV.
5 out of 5
by Colin from Rotorua

Grwat Escape

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We escaped to the Queen Charlotte Sounds for some R&R and thats what we got. An eclectic art trail around the site and amazing views made for some picturesque hang out spots. Friendly staff and excellent food made our break for our 2 day escape on the sounds. Keen to return one day.
4 out of 5
by Jim from Christchurch

Great place to relax

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay with excellent restaurant/meals and a very interesting site where you can spend hours exploring.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Paradise with a great cafe

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Wotif
The setting and the set up are unbelievable. Even a bad weather day is beautiful. There so many things to do with the walks and the wildlife and yet it is just as fulfilling to just relax and unwind. A.little pricey because of the lack of cooking facilities but worth ever cent in my view.
5 out of 5
by liz from London

Great location, fantastic value

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Fab! Stayed in a basic room, very cheap and great value. Great location right on the water. Fantastic walks right from the lodge and free kayaks to use. The resturant served amazing food - I was a little worried about having no other choice of food for 2 days but I didn't need to. Would eat there again now if I could!
5 out of 5
by Clare C from Christchurch

Island retreat

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
We lovely dinner, other people staying friendly. Enjoyed all the tracks and the quirky things along the way. Look forward to staying again