Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Disappointed to learn about charges for air mattress and parking upon arrival. Would have taken these charges into account if they were explained when making reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Dustin , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. We apologize you were caught off guard by the extra fees but both parking and extra bedding fees are explained on Expedia in our Hotel information section. Unfortunately we cannot tell Expedia where to display this information as they make that decision on their own.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In The Middle

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Hot water ran out for morning shower, never had towels, always had to ask for them & one staff member just had a terrible attitude
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest USA

If you enjoy POOR SERVICE this hotel is for you!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Room was spacious
Cons: Hire people who are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Your current staff has none of there qualities.
Location: beach is a block away
This hotel is understaffed. Called for hours with no answer. When they finally did answer I was put on hold for over half hr, three different times! Just wanted to confirm my reservation which should have taken 15 seconds, instead I spent a whole day trying to talk to someone. Girl at front desk was very rude on phone and not welcoming at all when we arrived. She was more concerned about her boyfriend who was milling around the lobby area for hours. Breakfast the next morning was not replenished for guests. We kindly asked young man at the front desk if he could work on it as he had no customers checking out at the time. His slow and snarky attitude mirrored our check-in clerk's demeanor. We left with a bottled water and a cold bagel. Very disappointing stay because of lazy and immature staff. Owners of this property better wise up because their staff is running their business into the ground.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as pictured from the outside.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
While the decorations and interior were lovely, the outside of the building was a bit concerning. Upon pulling up I attempted to cancel my reservation due to the exterior, but based on Expedia policy and the hotel manager was un able to. When I finally checked in I found my room had no windows, which was VERY unnerving. There was a skylight on the vaulted ceiling but did not help the claustrophobic feelings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience! We appreciate the honesty as we work on improving our product. We are saddened to hear we weren't able to provide a satisfactory stay. We believe that the night you arrived, we were a full house and didn't have anywhere else to place you. As for the exterior of the building, we are working on improving it as best as we can. We hope you'd be able to give us another chance in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
It was nice and the location was great. You require too much information to leave a review, which is why people skip leaving reviews.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your kind words! We wish more people would review, but we're just happy and lucky you went out of your way to share your experience with us! We hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Nice overnight for international flight

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
New and super clean inn converted from an old school. neighborhood doesn't have much to offer in terms of stuff to do but we were just there for an overnight after an international flight. Service was top notch. Odd that the 3d floor rooms do not have shades or curtains and look right into the house next door. Try to arrange a flat rate cab from Winthrop - we paid double on the way from the airport as we paid to go to the airport. Value was ok given how expensive Boston hotels are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us! We highly appreciate it as we work on improving our services. We are working effortlessly on fixing the curtain problem, we hope it was an inconvenience during your stay. We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by Erika

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean and quiet, decent breakfast spread. Very much enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Short Boston stay

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was only a short taxi ride from the airport and is situated in a very pleasant residential area close to a beach. The room was excellent and was very quiet. Continental breakfast was included in the price. All the staff were helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we loved having you! We hope we fulfilled all your expectations and hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
by Janice

Hannah & Justin were Awesome!!!!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice, we were surprised with an upgrade! Hannah was absolutely a delight with Justin a close second! They both gave us great recommendations for local sightseeing and travel via train into Boston. So very nice to see young, helpful adults these days! The only bad piece was the noise level. It would be nice to have noise reduction devices to drown out the airplanes flying low to go into Boston Logan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience and feedback! Feedback is super important to us as we work on improving our services. We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

Don't miss this one

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay. Little things that come from being an 'inn' instead of a hotel were not a problem. The coziness of the small place that is run like a European option. Look forward to coming back. The local area has lots of character and the most amazing view of Boston skyline.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we loved having you! We hope we fulfilled all your expectations and hope to see you again in the future!