Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Staff was professional & provided exceptional srv.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
We arrived real early and the nightly shift was very virtuous and prompt to assist us with our needs. We had the best experience here. We will definitely come back again. Thank you!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!!

Posted Dec 8, 2017
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Winthrop Inn this past weekend. We were within minutes from the beach and though it was cold, it was still nice to see. Also, the staff was extremely helpful and made our stay pleasant. We wanted to upgrade to a bigger room when we arrived and they made this transition easy and painless. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Next to impossible to find

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Would not recommend.
Cons: Coffee in breakfast area, wakeup calls, clocks that work.
Location: horrible!!!
Nice rooms but - Don't expect to see a sign at night. Ended up having to turn around going down a 1 way street - fortunately it was 2 AM so got lucky. Didn't know it was 1 way till daylight. Breakfast is bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs and lunch meat. Only espresso downstairs so for coffee - make in your room and carry around. No wakeup calls (no phone) and alarm clock time was incorrect with no obvious way to fix it!!!! If you are driving $15 a night parking!!! Expedia didn't make that clear!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Dustin , Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed, anonymous review! We very much dislike hearing about our guest's negative experiences but it only helps us grow as a Hotel. We are definitely located in a residential area which we feel allows a quiet, peaceful stay while also providing an easy commute to downtown Boston. We are a large brick building located between triple-decker houses and small businesses and can found very easily and accurately by GPS. We also, as you pointed out, do not have phones in the rooms. Given the year and technology around us, we assumed most guests have cell phones. This is rarely a problem at our hotel because we are a 24-hour front desk (You can call from your mobile phone or take the elevator down to see us) and we can provide wake up calls by knocking on your door if you do not feel comfortable with us calling your personal phone. As for the alarm clocks, they automactically set to the correct time when they plug in and are checked daily before check-in by members of our staff. If the clock still was not working correctly you should have notified the front desk and your problem would have been fixed immediately. The parking fee is stated clearly on Expedia's website AND we send all new 3rd party bookings parking reminders as soon as the reservation comes through. I could show you the message we sent you if you'd like, would just a name other than anonymous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice suite-style hotel, close to BOS and beach

Posted Nov 21, 2017
This hotel surprised me, I may have gotten lucky with the price, but the per night cost was very affordable for spacious, 2-room, suite-style accommodations. It seems like this hotel may have been converted from a small apartment building given the layout. Everything was clean and nice. I only stayed one night, but it was a pleasant surprise and I wish that I had stayed longer. I turned up late and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. I visited in November, but I think it would probably be best in the late spring or summer, given that it is located close to the beach and close to the city. Additionally, it is very close to the airport so if you have a flight that gets in late or leaves early, your travel time to Logan International will be very short. I'm not sure what sort of accommodations they have if you drove your own car (I took a taxi/Lyft to and from, and my rides had no trouble finding it). Overall a very pleasant stay and seems like it could be a good "bang for your buck" place to stay near Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Boston short stay

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: spacious well maintained rooms
Cons: A cooked breakfast would be nice
Location: Well paced for Boston and surrounding area
This Inn offers spacious self catering facilities ideal for a short visit to Boston and surrounding area. Probably best to have a car to enjoy wider New England, but accessible by public transport using T at Orient Heights and Winthrop bus service. We stayed 5 nights and plenty of opportunity to sight see, shop and enjoy the local cuisine (mainly good seafood). Sales tax free NH is not far north, although clothing s mostly tax free in MA. The suites are well presented and maintained, breakfast is basic but satisfactory, all round a good place to base a visit to Boston from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean hotel near Logan

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Cons: Blinds in the kitchen.
Location: NA
Excellent and clean. Two room suite. Very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Dustin , Hotel Management
Doug, thank you for your feedback on Winthrop Beach Inn and Suites! We are glad you had a positive experience with us and noticed how clean we keep our property! We hope to see you again next time you travel through Logan Airport!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

Trip to Boston

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Everything we needed
Cons: The only one thing parking charges,
Location: Near railway ,bus ,water ferry , so easy and cheap to commute,
What a little gem ,comfort yes and easy to commute into Boston city ,definitely go here again , Lots of room ,little apartment ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Dustin , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, Jules! It sounds like you took advantage of everything our property and location has to offer, including Winthrop's Ferry! Our rooms are certainly equipped for guests to stay anywhere from 1 night to 1 week and public transportation is a quick and inexpensive way to travel around Boston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga

Lovely boutique hotel 6 blocks from beach

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet
Cons: raffia rug under bed was a little hard on bare feet.
Location: two good restaurants within walking distance from hotel. Near port.
Had trouble getting Uber driver to bring me to the address (it's 5 miles from Logan). Once there, no problems. Nice Italian restaurant within walking distance. Laundry across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Caitlin O'Brien, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester england

Night stay at the Winthrop

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Plenty of space
Cons: Was fine
Location: Disentangle get chance to get around over night stay but rebooked for 3 more days b4 going home
What a gem,hotel ,beautiful suite ,lots of room ,comfortable, going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Dustin , Hotel Management
Julie, thank you for reviewing our property! Look forward to having you back in Boston for a longer stay. Your spacious room will be waiting for your arrival!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Noise from parking lot all night. Hard to find. Odd location - nothing useful nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Dustin , Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are located in a residential location that generally provides our guests with a very quiet stay. However, the town gave us very late notice on road work they were doing and we do apologize for any noise heard throughout your stay. There are about 4 restaurants in walking distance and our front desk is always happy to help point you in the right direction. If you have any more questions or concerns please reach out to our front desk!