Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Richard from Quebec city Canada

Hotel was close when we arrive a 11 pm. Be aware.

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
We had book arond 8 pm. When we arrive there the hotel was close. We rang at the door several time, but it seems to be close for the season...It is very far away for city, and from the road. It s not a city hotel. it is in country side. Cost us a lot of money for the taxy to go and come back. We complain the next day at hotel.com, but so far we did not get any answer if we will get refund or not. We got fast answer to our phone call al hotel.com. They where not able to reach the hotel. The advertisement clain it s close to airport, but in fact it is quite far. The hotel look very old from outside. Be carefull and call before to reserve. So far we did not get refund.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catalin Negraia from Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

one word: amazing!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: old style
Cons: resto is very expensive
Location: is a quiet location, we loved it
old, classic but very clean place, we enjoyed our stay here. we definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from UK

comfy beds

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was very comfortable, breakfast was fantastic with lovely friendly staff. Had meals in both the Bistro and in the Hotel restaurant and they were all very good. The hotel is in a great location for both Cologne and Bonn and the surrounding towns were all very lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from New Zealand

Old world charm with real history

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Location: Lohmar is a small but well placed town. Just 20 minutes from both Bonn and Koln. The hotel is in the middle of a valley of fields and forests.
Very friendly staff and a real experience for those looking for some German history with a modern twist. Golf coarse at the front door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with lots of characters

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is converted from an old building, full of antiques and old stuff. The room is nice and comfortable. Food in the restaurant is nice and service is fantastic. It would be an ideal place to stay for leisure. But it's in the middle of nowhere and we struggle to find alternative places to eat in the evening.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Olde Worlde hotel in a quiet location

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels
Schloss Auel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city (of Cologne) but is worth visiting for good food and a comfortable night's sleep. The Schloss retains a lot of history and charm inside with many wooden beams,old wooden doors and floors. Everything is clean and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The only negative was the lack of a desk in the bedroom for business use. Everything else was great. The evening meal is served in a dining room with great character and the menu offers a good variety. The quality of the food is excellent. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia Dormer from Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Do you want to sleep where Napolean slept ?

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: Relaxing, exquisite food
Cons: None
Location: Lovel
What a wonderful hotel! My family and I visited this small German hotel on the way back home from the French alps. It was a last minute decision, so we weren't sure what to expect. It was lovely, beautiful location and a great sunny aspect. We had booked a family room ( suite with beds for the kids) which was perfect for us, kids in a separate room, huge bed, lovely bathroom ( although low doors meant my husband banged his head repeatedly). We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening which was exquisite cuisine but some would struggle with children. We had a most wonderful dinner sat in the sunshine. Breakfast was adequate and perhaps expensive but it was lovely to spend extra minutes in this lovely venue. The staff took the time to show us the bed Napolean had slept in - which was a wonderful addition for our 9 year old. All in all a great stop off point, would highly recommend this hotel, particularly if you fancy a round of golf ! But it is querky for families and if your kids aren't into a fancy dinner, the golf club next door is perhaps more appropriate. Would highly recommend this hotel, although the website is only in German, the staff spoke English.