Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Traditional Seaside hotel,

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: Well located.
Location: Well located for shopping (designer shops adjacent were closed off season) and about a 10 minute walk to La Baule's main avenue.
The hotel has undergone a makeover since we were last there and since we stayed in low season it was less than 50% full. We were given a disabled room, not requested or needed) and told it was the only room they had available which was itself rather strange. The downside of this was that the bathroom was constantly flooded when we took a shower (no bath) and certainly the bed was on the small side. The staff seemed at best disinterested and the cost of breakfast, parking etc was on par with a top city hotel. None of which may be out of order in La Baule in July but March??
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by welcome, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to share your perception on this site on your stay at the Le Royal La Baule Hotel and have trusted us for your stay. I regret the shortcomings that you point and please accept my sincere apologies for the frustrations suffered. I hope that you agree to visit us again and I can assure you that all arrangements will be made for every moment spent with us is perfect.. See you very soon at the Royal La Baule Hotel, Yours faithfully Franck MARIE General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by TEEKAY from JERSEY

AVOID! NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL! V.DATED, DIRTY & QUIET!

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: NOTHING; THE STAFF WERE OK.
Cons: EVERYTHING! IT NEEDS TO BE CLEANED, MODERNISED, FURNITURE/FIXINGS FIXED ETC.
Location: THE LOCATION IS RUBBISH AS IT WAS LIKE A GHOST TOWN EVERYWHERE & ITS ONLY THE 1ST WEEK OF SEPTEMBER; ONLY FEW PEOPLE AROUND WERE OAPS; NO ATMOSPHERE!
WE PAID 5 STAR PRICES FOR THIS HOTEL OF WHICH ONLY DESERVES A 3 STAR RATING.THE RED ENTRANCE CARPET IS FILTHY INFACT ITS NOW ORANGE DUE TO THE ABUNDANCE OF BUILT UP DIRT.THE ENTRANCE WOODEN REVOLVING DOOR IS BARELY WORKING; ITS WAY TOOO OLD; NEEDS SORTING.THE HOTEL IS VERY OLD FASHIONED, DATED & IT'S JUST VERY TIRED LOOKING.THE ROOMS ARE VERY POKY & SOMEWHAT CLUTTERED WITH LOTS OF OLD VICTORIAN FURNITURE.WE TRIED OUT 2 ROOMS & BOTH ROOMS HAD LIGHT FITTINGS/SCREWS HANGING OUT OF THE WALL & THE BATH TAPS MIXER WERE ALSO HANGING OFF AWAY FROM THE WALL/BATH TUB.THE AIR CONDITIONING UNITS GRILLES HAVE NOT BE CLEANED IN YEARS AS THEY ARE COVERED IN THICK DUST/DIRT/COBWEBS.THE FLOORS THROUGHOUT ARE WOODEN & ARE CREAKING TOGETHER WITH THE WALLS OF WHICH ARE ALSO NOT SOUND PROOFED SO ITS VERY NOISY ROOM TO ROOM & IN THE CORRIDORS.THE ROOM DOORS ARE WOODEN & BANG LOUDLY WHEN CLOSING/LOCKING. THE BATHROOM TOWEL RAILS/SCREWS ARE HANGING AWAY FROM THE WALLS.THE BATHROOM TOWEL WARMERS ARE COLD & DO NOT EVEN WORK.THE BATHROOM SHOWER HEAD/RAIL IS A CHEAP BUDJET ONE FROM B&Q OF WHICH IS CORRODED.THE TOILET IS A TINY POKY LITTLE TOILET OF WHICH IS BLAND WITH JUST MAGNOLIA PAINT ON THE WALLS.THE SPA AREAS ARE NOT VERY WELL KEPT & ARE SOMEWHAT UNCLEAN.THE 2 SMALL POOLS ARE VERY BLAND & ARE WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT IN A 2 STAR HOTEL.THE SPA/HAMMAN ARE SAME SEX ONLY - SO NO ENJOYING THE EXPERIENCE TOGETHER.BASIC BREAKFAST IS 50 EUROS.ONLY FEW OTHER GUESTS WERE OAPS.TOTALLY RUBBISH!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2011
Will definately look up this chain of hotels when visiting other locations! Staff were very polite and extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Certainly would go back to this hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2007
A very good hotel and spa for a relaxing weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

very impressed

Posted Jul 3, 2006
This hotel is in a fantastic location. The staff were very helpful and provided a very high level of service. I would recommend this hotel and would definately stay with the Barriere group again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brest

Cosy

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Bonne insonorisation de la chambre Charme de l'ancien et du moderne A côté du centre ville Ballades en vélo sympa Bar et restaurant agreables
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Tres bel hotel bien situé près de la mer . Le service etait exceptionnel.Nous y reviendrons avec plaisir
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Cher Anonymous, Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager avec les internautes vos impressions suite à votre séjour au Royal La Baule. C'est toujours un plaisir pour l'ensemble des équipes et moi-même de lire les retours d'expérience positifs de nos clients et votre témoignage nous encourage à persévérer dans l'excellence de service. Je ne peux que vous convier à renouveler très vite une escapade sur La Baule pour d'autres heureux moments parmi nous. Dans cette attente, Cordialement. Franck MARIE Directeur Général
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Cher Anonymous, Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis avec les internautes suite à votre séjour au Royal La Baule. Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour ce soit bien passé et espérons vous accueillir à nouveau à l'Hôtel Le Royal La Baule, Dans cette attente, Sincèrement. Franck MARIE Directeur Général
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

accueil et service à la hauteur du lieu

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
résa faite en promo sur hôtels.com donc très rapport rapport-qualité prix bonne qualité de service, à hauteur de l'hôtel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Cher Madame, Cher Monsieur, C'est avec plaisir que j'ai pris connaissance de votre perception très positive suite à votre séjour à l’Hôtel Le Royal La Baule et je vous remercie de la partager avec les internautes de ce site. Mes équipes et moi-même sommes ravis que vous ayez pleinement apprécié les moments passés parmi nous et nous sommes très sensibles à vos compliments. Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir prochainement lors d'un prochain séjour au Royal La Baule et, Dans cette attente, Sincèrement. Franck MARIE Directeur Général