Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This was an Easter Getaway.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed a beach-side Bungalow, Oceanfront (Tropical). Dining was beside the beach with fantastic views and white tablecloths.
Location: I certainly enjoyed the trip to Bird Island in a small boat with an experienced skipper.
Toberua is a small island to the east of Suva. The resort was intimate, with happy staff and great food. It was ideal as an Easter getaway from Suva with enough activities to enjoy or simply relax. Snorkeling on the reef and a lunch trip to Picnic Island are as active or laid back as you desire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Real gem - small, intimate and well managed

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cons: Only if pressed to be negative: the bed quality could be better. Plus, it's pretty expensive.
Location: Located on a small island 40 min drive from Suva plus 30 min boat ride.
Located on a small island, it is not for someone looking for nightlife, crazy adventures or big parties. It's family friendly and very personal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A lovely Fijian Island for a holiday

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff who made us feel very comfortable
Cons: During very heavy rain the noise on the tin roof was a problem.
Location: A beautiful Fijian pacific island. 30 minutes by taxi plus fast boat from Suva, all organised very smoothly by the hotel staff.
We spent a week on Toberua and enjoyed ourselves very much. The staff were very friendly, the island food, fish plus a special treat of mud crab superb. We spent our time snorkelling , scuba diving and of course swimming in the warm clear water. The visit to the local village showed us how difficult life can be and the support of the Toberua education fund will help the children get a good education
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Paradise

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Gorgeous tiny island with friendly efficient staff, fantastic activities, great food and well maintained rooms. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by SM, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed Toberua.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a small island in 2 acre land. There is no AC

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Our experience at this island was terrible. Over all the servers were not bad. There are lot of hidden charges which they don't tell you at the time of check in. We took a spa package the lady told me the package was $215 for both for me and husband but at the time of check out they charged us $290 each . We both could say anything but felt cheated. We were charged $592 besides the hotel stay for the boat which brings you back and forth to the island. There were mosquitoes , and lizards crawling iand ants in the room. Over all I have one word to say that they are cheaters
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Something Special

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome place , food was brilliant ... just be aware additional transport charges apply.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The island is beautiful, the burns are great, food is delicious, and the staff are absolutely wonderful!
Cons: I have absolutely no complaints. Everything is great and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

PARADISE

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff. It had everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Best tropical island we have been to. Great snorkelling, lots of activities. Visiting the nearby village was a wonderful experience.
A beautiful island, very tranquil and calming. Fantastic staff, Incredible food. Lots of activities or great to just unwind. The Toberua serenaders were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Imagine paradise... this place is it!

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Lastminute
A truly unforgettable experience! The photos do not do it justice and the experience from start to finish was amazing! The best staff we have ever had. We will be booking here again for sure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Small resort on a tiny island

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros:
We just came back from 8 days at Toberua Island Resort and had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. We would have preferred more info and more balanced reviews initially (hence making the effort with this review). We won't be back, as there are many better island holiday options, providing better value for money. Pros: 1. Small intimate resort (only 16 villas) on a tiny island - tranquil setting with good views 2. Friendly and helpful staff 3. Proximity to the main island, which makes for a quick transfer to the island. The resort provides shuttles 24X7 using their own boats 4. Pretty island, but not stunning 5. The visit to a local village on a neighbouring island was a highlight 6. They provide a range of activities: paddle boarding, kayaks, fishing and snorkeling trips, trip to a secluded island, etc (all trips at extra cost). Cons: 1. The food: well below standard for a resort and there are no alternatives on the island. Many guests complained about it. Rather pay by meal than per day - we skipped many meals 2. Half the villas are on the windy side, which has a strong wind virtually all the time (can't use your verandah). Book on the restaurant side, which is protected/quiet. Amazing difference. 3. The island does not really have a beach. That may be why they call their villas "oceanfront" not "beachfront". On an island holiday a good beach is a big priority for us 4. There is little privacy between villas 5. The showers alternate between scalding hot and freezing cold.