Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Outstanding staff and breakfast

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: everything - breakfast in particular
Cons: No, keep doing what you're doing.
Location: train station nearby. Easy access to the subway.
A lovely hotel with superb, helpful staff, a terrific happy hour and a wonderful breakfast buffet. It's close to the train station. Purchased subway ticket at the hotel desk. Will definitely return. Favorite hotel of Europe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clips to railway station

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Cons: Breakfast needs much improvement
Room good but restaurant staff and breakfast was terrible. Very poor service, ran out of food and not prepared for number of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Egypt

A surprisingly good hotel for a low price

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing in our experience with this hotel was negative . The staff was one of the nicest hotel staffs in our experience.
We took the Bernina express from Chur and ended up in Tirano, we wanted to stay the night to rest before the next-day train to Milano. We made a reservation in Hotel Bernina, and seeing the hotel rooms for 50 something Euros / day we feared they would not be good (we obviously were wrong) , so we reserved a double room in the new supplementary building for about 70 Euros ..with breakfast for 2 !!!!! On arrival, we found the main Hotel Bernina just across the street from the train station. We checked in, then a very cute staff member accompanied us to the supplemantary building about 100 meters away. This building is located in the main street of Tirano among the cafes and restaurants. The room was not luxurious by the standard of 5 stars hotels, but it was very very clean, spacious enough, air conditioned, and our balcony had a pleasant view of the main street. Also the bathroom was very clean and convenient. The breakfast next day was excellent and tasty, check out was a breeze. If you are visiting Tirano we strongly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location, right near train station and perfect for catching Bernina Express. No air conditioning, though there was a small fan in the room. Milk at breakfast was warm as had been sitting out and refused cold milk when asked even though I am 7 months pregnant and didn't want to risk having warm milk. Yoghurt also not kept cold correctly. Hotel had a lift which was great with luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location next to railway stations

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Room, breakfast buffet, restaurant
This hotel is at an ideal location, when using the Bernina railway from Switzerland to Italy. Just opposite the Swiss and Italian railway stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Excellent choice, Convenient for train station

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: location, staff, breakfast
Location: the train to Switzerland is the big attraction, but there are many local sights
Lovely room, but window overlooked the main street and was very noisy. The bathroom and shower was very large and modern. Everything looked new or recently refurbished. Parking available for 8Eu a day - a bargain in a congested area near the station. Breakfast buffet was in the original building near the train station. Excellent breakfast with wide range of choices. The hotel was spotless, the staff very helpful. I would stay again - really perfect except for street noise, so ask for a room off the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to train station

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Easy check in, friendly desk staff, adequate rooms (clean, comfortable). I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel close to the railway station.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Ideal place to stay having booked on the Bernina Express to travel to Tirano one day and return the next. A great one stop stay - dinner and breakfast were very good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to train station

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet was slow
Location: Beautiful monestary
This is a lovely small town on the express train route. The hotel was clean, comfortable and fifty yards from the train station. The breakfast was the standard continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay when taking Bernina Express

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Great restaurant and bar.
We came down from Switzerland on the train and spent the night here. They had sent an email that we were being upgraded, and when we arrived found we had been moved to another building into a very nice room (called the Kenya). We came back to the hotel that night for dinner and had an excellent meal. All in all this is a very well run and nice hotel.