Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

great find

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Stayed at hotel very clean very good food convenient to train station for Bernina Express That brings you to Switzerland Parking garage available very reasonable 8 euro outside 10 euro your own private garage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Outstanding staff and breakfast

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: everything - breakfast in particular
Cons: No, keep doing what you're doing.
Location: train station nearby. Easy access to the subway.
A lovely hotel with superb, helpful staff, a terrific happy hour and a wonderful breakfast buffet. It's close to the train station. Purchased subway ticket at the hotel desk. Will definitely return. Favorite hotel of Europe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place!

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful upgrade to a property that looked brand new. The room and bathroom were gorgeous, the town was beautiful, and they kindly let us leave our luggage in the lobby between checkout and the departure of the Bernina express.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clips to railway station

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Cons: Breakfast needs much improvement
Room good but restaurant staff and breakfast was terrible. Very poor service, ran out of food and not prepared for number of guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
We were not expecting a themed room and were surprised by the African decor. More importantly, this was the best shower of our 2 week trip and most comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Close to Railway Station in Tirano

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient to Railway Station.
Cons: Will need ensuite upgrade soon.
Location: Easy walk through treed avenue to Basilica.
We actually stayed at their other premises at Corona Hotel (a bit further from the Railway Station, but staff guided us there) as a result of over-booking. And older property with good bedroom space, but small ensuite. Nice meal in Restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Egypt

A surprisingly good hotel for a low price

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing in our experience with this hotel was negative . The staff was one of the nicest hotel staffs in our experience.
We took the Bernina express from Chur and ended up in Tirano, we wanted to stay the night to rest before the next-day train to Milano. We made a reservation in Hotel Bernina, and seeing the hotel rooms for 50 something Euros / day we feared they would not be good (we obviously were wrong) , so we reserved a double room in the new supplementary building for about 70 Euros ..with breakfast for 2 !!!!! On arrival, we found the main Hotel Bernina just across the street from the train station. We checked in, then a very cute staff member accompanied us to the supplemantary building about 100 meters away. This building is located in the main street of Tirano among the cafes and restaurants. The room was not luxurious by the standard of 5 stars hotels, but it was very very clean, spacious enough, air conditioned, and our balcony had a pleasant view of the main street. Also the bathroom was very clean and convenient. The breakfast next day was excellent and tasty, check out was a breeze. If you are visiting Tirano we strongly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location, right near train station and perfect for catching Bernina Express. No air conditioning, though there was a small fan in the room. Milk at breakfast was warm as had been sitting out and refused cold milk when asked even though I am 7 months pregnant and didn't want to risk having warm milk. Yoghurt also not kept cold correctly. Hotel had a lift which was great with luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location next to railway stations

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Room, breakfast buffet, restaurant
This hotel is at an ideal location, when using the Bernina railway from Switzerland to Italy. Just opposite the Swiss and Italian railway stations.
3 out of 5
by Ingrid

Hotel BERNINA

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a wonderful location for the end of the BERNINA Express. Also, restaurants are in walking distance as well as the town itself. However, the room was very small. The staff was very understanding that I was 15 minutes late for check out and also kept the breakfast open 15 minutes late because we had slept late. We really appreciated that!