Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Quiet, Peaceful hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location, nearby restaurants, quietness, loved the pool and the sunset
Cons: Cleanliness, my daughter hopped into a sandy bed on the first night which we got changed. There were not enough handtowels for all rooms of the hotel
Location: Right on the beach, on the sunset side of the island. Beautiful ocean, great pool. Good selection of restaurants close by. Quiet, quiet, quiet!
Was a great part of Gili T for us to stay. We didn't need the party town, and were after a quiet beachside holiday, which the Ombak Sunset suited perfectly. The hotel has lovely grounds, a great pool, friendly and very helpful staff. The room was a bit dated(wallpaper starting to come of the walls, and there were a couple of questionable cleanliness issues), but the island is much more laid back than the mainland of Bali, and as long as you're not too precious, and can accept a more laid back approach, this is a great place to stay. Wifi was good - very important, and the restaurants nearby were great. The main town was 120000-150000 Rupiah by Horse cart each direction, which is a bit extreme, but all part of the isolation of the west side of the island, which I was very glad to be at. In the mornings it is quiet, no cars, no honking, just birds in the gardens. Nothing is very far away. Glad we stayed here for our first trip to Gili T.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff couldn't cope with no of guests

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Suited more to families. For couples, there seemed much better hotels very close by. Staff always seemed over worked, which resulted in them coming across rude. Also, room was nearly always equipped/cleaned incorrectly. AND DONT TOUCH THE FOOD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ombak sunset

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Great position. lovely grounds.The cleaners and room service guys were great .
Cons: The pool deck is dangerous and the swim up bar service was not great.
Location: Great snorkling off the boats and lots of cute little beach bars.
. I loved the fact you could rent bikes at the hotel and ride them around the island. We had a lovely time on Gili Tranwangan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hatten uns mehr erhofft

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Wir hatten einen 5 tägigen Aufenthalt in diesem Hotel. Die Zimmer waren nicht besonders schön. An einem Tag hatten wir für ca. 1 Stunde kein Wasser und an einem anderen Tag wurde vergessen uns neue Handtücher da zulassen. Die Bettwäsche hatte immer Flecken. Der Strand war in Ordnung aber im Meer waren überall Algen und kleine kaputte Korallenreste/ Steine. Also ohne Schuhe nicht zu empfehlen. Frühstück war etwas enttäuschend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle nsw

Paradise Island

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Great rooms, large pool and beautiful friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Small remote island, great diving and snorkeling
Beautiful resort on the quiet side of the main town, no motorised vehicles what so ever, only horse drawn carts and bicycles, made for a quiet and relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet location with spectacular sunset views

Posted May 28, 2016
Hotel was at a standard I expected although location wise it is about 1/2 an hour away from the main hub which is accessible via push bike or horsecart only unless you plan to walk for an hour or so. Amenities are starting to show their wear and tear which would not be too much of a problem if staff paid attention to the finer details. There is an all you can eat breakfast buffet for a modest price of 125,000 rupiah (US $12.50) which served local Indonesian food, fresh fruits and pastries. Great place to just relax and unwind and watch the sunset if that is the kind of holiday you would prefer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from flensburg

Hübsche Anlage direkt am Strand

Posted May 20, 2016
Wir waren für eine Nacht auf den Gilis. Hätten wir vorher gewusst wie schön es dort ist und wie wunderschön dieses Hotel ist, wären wir auf jedenfall länger geblieben!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016
Wir hatten anfänglich ein Zimmer mit indoor-Bad und keinen Bungalow. Das war abgewirtschaftet und alt. Das Bad war groß,aber schmutzig und immer feucht-warm. Unsere Toilette war undicht,d.h. Sie stand immer in einer Riesen Pfütze. Im Zimmer waren die Möbel bestimmt schon 20 Jahre alt,dagegen hätte ich ja nichts,wenn man es ihnen nicht schon vom ersten Blick an ansehen würde. Die Tapeten lösten sich auch so allmählich von allein von der Wand. Als wir dann eine Kakerlake im Bad entdeckten und die ganze Nacht und am nachfolgenden Tag Ratten oder Mäuse in der Zwischendecke umherliefen, sind wir in einen der Bungalows umgezogen. Der war schön,stilvoller eingerichtet und nicht schon so abgewohnt. Das Bad war da eben draußen,d.h. dass dich dann dort fast jedesmal ein anderes Tier empfängt. Das Frühstücksbüffet war nicht besonders ansprechend, nicht ein wenig liebevoll angerichtet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with a Swing on the Beach

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The swings at the beach and the photographer who takes pictures for you. The open roof bathroom was a new concept to us too. Liked it.
Cons: The air conditioning in the room. As it got rather warm and was hard to sleep. Breakfast and food options at the hotel can be improved.
Location: The unique bit is the location which is away from the main area. The Caribbean Restaurant nearby is a must to go. Diving can be arranged by any center
The swings on the beach of Ombak Sunset hotel make it worth staying at this hotel over the other options on Gili Trawangan. Overall the staff is nice and friendly and the facilities like cycling and all are offered at the hotel itself. Only problem was the airconditioning system in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

+Romantic hotel on beach - great views of sunset

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet and romantic
Cons: Bikes could have lights for night time riding
Location: On west side/ sunset side of island. Sunset swings are very popular
Nice basic hotel on the beach. Quiet side of the island but on sunset side. Takes about 20-30 mins to ride on bikes to the "town"part of the island or catch a horse and cart however it is 100,000 rupiah per ride so better off to get bikes. Tip - bring a flash light for night bike riding