Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive luxury hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
It does a good job at distracting you with luxury and great service while on a facade of a "paradise island." The outdoor bathrooms are good in theory but executed poorly, as just over the wall you share with an adjacent rooms outdoor bathroom, resulting in a lack of privacy and strong smell of sewage, which overwhelmed our bedroom. The power also cut out sporadically. Not too often though. The staff were really friendly...almost in a cold robotic way as if only paid to do so. Few were were warm and real. Didn't enjoy one reception ladies assistance as it felt as if friendliness came after the paid room bill. Prices are 3 times as expensive as the rest of Bali because if you could afford the hotel, why not charge an exorbitant amount on everything else... Honestly I felt trapped on that island in a stepford hotel not far from glass and plastic littered beaches, inhumane use of branded horses which you are obligated to use if you don't want to pass out from heat exhaustion walking back to the "harbour", the other side of the island. You arrive on a boat that beaches itself on the sand expecting you to climb up or down an impossible ladder in the most ineffecient and unprofessional manner while soaking all your belongings and shoes. My girlfriend and I checked out a day earlier forfeiting my additional days paid room to save ourselves from going crazy. We consulted other guests and feelings were understood and mutual. However some are not affected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Very nice location with the nice view of beach.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The staff there and food is nice.
Cons: Air con and toilet need to improved,
Location: Cycling is good for that island. The beach there is nice and I like the way the set the relax chair and sofa at the beach.
Overall the hotel is good, just that the air con is not working well, not cold at all. The toilet lighting is too dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent service!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
the staff were wonderfully helpful and we felt safe and welcome :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Airlie Beach, Australia

Excellent!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Loved this resort, will definitely return. one little thing though, some of the bathrooms have an award smell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Aus

fantastic hotel on the beach, amazing stay

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Very romantic getaway for my partner and I, we stayed 9 nights in a sunset bungalow and it exceeded our expectations. large pool, large bed, open roof outdoor bathroom and shower, great staff and large variety of good food at restaurants and room service. there is complimentary afternoon tea by the pool every day and the happy hour is a must too. there are beautiful views on the beach and bean bag chairs to relax on. the location which is on the other side of the gili which suited us, we wanted to be away from the noise and crowds, and there were adequate restaurants walking distance from the hotel, but snorkelling and kayaking and other activities would require you to either horse and cart to the other side of the gili or rent a bike which you can do from the hotel. not super comfortable but it is fun riding around the island. the only issue i had was the beach is a bit rocky with broken bits of coral so you definitely need to wear shoes. the water is very reedy and full of little starfish and sea creatures (which was fascinating) but we had to wear shoes to wade in the water. other than that we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend to other couples and families alike. Thank you ombak sunset! can't wait to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, pool, cocktails
Cons: Aircon in room and food
Location: Far from town but that's ok if you don't mind travelling in by bike or horse, it's pieceful
Great hotel, friendly staff, great pool and cocktails, food is average, 10 min from busy centre Which is fine if you don't mind biking or grabbing a horse too far to walk. There is also plenty happening across the road on the beach. Overall pretty good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Good hotel! Great pool and staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Good sunset. Casa vintage restaurant
Hotel was excellent. Major plus points is the sunset which is excellent and only available from this side of the hotel. Pool at the hotel is amazing! Huge with plenty of beds etc Downside of the hotel is the location for the central area on gili T which is a 45 mins walk which at night is not very well lit! You can get the horse and cart for 150k or bike. Overall very good hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

off the beaten track!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very quaint island. Still unspoilt .. travel only by horse cart & bicycles. Very friendly people. However hotel was disappointing for a 4 star rating. The room air conditioning was very weak & can barely cool the room. The water pressure was very low & it takes a Long time to have a decent shower. The cabinets were dated & needs force to slide it open & close. The electricity will trip at least once a day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place!!!!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
It shows not to read too much into reviews. Night before read this site and the more damaging reviews almost made my girlfriend and I choose somewhere else. Thank god we didn't. We are a young couple (25yo) stayed in the Deluxe Terrace room. The room was nothing amazing, but more than comfortable. Indoor bathroom. Only complaint is lighting wasn't very good. However you do not come to Gilly T to spend time in your hotel room!! The outside swimming pool was amazing with a bar in the pool. Had a really good vibe about it. It is 1 minute away from the beach where you get an amazing sunset view and get drinks and food delivered to you. The standard of food in the restaurants was good and didn't;t cost a fortune. Breakfast was standard and again quite cheap. In terms of distance from Gilly T...its about 10 minutes by horse and cart...absolutely never was an issue. All the nice parts of Gilly T are on this side of the island. We went for a night out in Gilly and it was great but I wouldn't want a hotel there!!! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. People on Gilly aren't as polite as they are on Bali (Culture and religion is different here) and we fully expected to be writing a bad review for this hotel. Pleasantly surprised!! https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g664666-d2306581-r422818949-Hotel_Ombak_Sunset-Gili_Trawangan_Gili_Islands_Lombok_West_Nusa_Tenggara.html#
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Nice beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Too far from jetty, night life (in Central), not many options on food, transportation and activities