Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Room was old fashion and hot. AC took 1hour to cool from time we check in to the room. If you never leave the AC on for the whole day, good luck when you get back from your beach activity. You will love the sauna feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Stunning accomodation- definitely worth a stay!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Outstanding accomodation with quirky setting. A welcome drink and friendly service from the offset was a positive way to start the visit. Two great pools with bars- one more lively so the secret one was more up my street. The breakfast was incredible- traditional Balinese and international foods meant that someone like me was more than accommodated for and I even went for seconds! A ten ish minute walk from the port so not too far. However if like me you brought a large case I woukd recommend a horse and cart there. Excellent stay there and I was sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Enchanting

Posted Apr 8, 2017
I cannot complain in the slightest regarding my stay. Enchanting gardens and villas. Room very comfortable and very nice outlook. The bathroom was a little oversized. The pools were great to swim in, especially the back pool a lot quieter than pool at front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Great hotel along the main strip

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities, pools.
Cons: A gym would be a great addition.
Location: Majority of the restaurants + bars are VERY close, sunset bars were a short walk or bike ride away.
Although Vila Ombak was a pricier option for Gili T, we were pleased with our 5 night stay. You have similar amenities to an all-inclusive resort (breakfast buffet, lounge chairs around the pools, towel service, pool bars), and it is close enough to the hustle and bustle of the main strip, while also being far enough away that you can separate yourself if you feel the need to. The pool bar food and drinks were somewhat reasonably priced, and they offered happy hour from 4-7 where cocktails were buy one get one free. We stayed in a Lumbung hut and it was great. The only downfall I would say is the ladder/stair situation to the bathroom, as it gets a bit old after a while having to climb up/down every time you need to access the sink/toilet/shower/drying rack. The air conditioning worked well--we did have to reset it a few times but once we hit the reset button it was all good. The spa was overpriced compared to all of the other spas on Gili T, and the experience wasn't amazing, so I would recommend trying out a different spa if you feel so inclined. Also the pricing for snorkeling through the hotel company was outrageous as they wanted you to rent an entire boat for the day. The snorkeling tours in town were great and very cheap. The hotel was undergoing some renovations which didn't interfere with our stay. It would have been great to have a gym at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous place to stay!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Fantastic place to stay. Hotel staff were so helpful and efficient anytime we needed something. We stayed in a Lombok and it was a wonderful experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location & amazing staff

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Great location, amazing staff who can't do enough for you and an incredible newly renovated pool. Although renovations were still taking place with a new restaurant and meeting facilities (due to finish March 2017) , there were enough options to move away if it became a little noisy - to the quieter second hidden pool or the beach front lounge chairs listening to the lapping of gentle waves. Overall, felt I was in paradise and would definitely recommend this resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Vila Ombak 'not so nice' a hotel in Gili Trawangan

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Located just after the cluster of bar/restaurants it is located in on of the best locations on the island.
Cons: The facilities desperately needs to be updated/refreshed.
Location: Renting bikes to cycle around the island is a 'must do'. 60-90 minutes around the island at a very comfortable pace with several small bars to stop at
The Gili Islands are a great break from the pace of Bali so we thought we would take a fast boat across for a couple of laid back days. Unfortunately we had the misfortune of staying at the Vila Ombak. Check-in was fine with the standard cool cloth and juice drink but as soon as we arrived at the room things began to disappoint. The room itself was OK though very spartan and desperately in need of a refresh, the adjoining restroom was worse with paint peeling off the wall in one spot and oppressively hot. Within the first couple of hours we discovered the security safe was inoperable....bad sign, but called and a technician came to fix it. A couple of hours later the AC failed and they worked into the night to replace the entire AC unit forcing us out of the room. On day two it occurred to us we had booked (and paid for) a superior room with terrace and we were given a standard room. We went to the front desk and for 10 minutes were told terrace rooms do not come with terrace's that's 'just in the photos'. After another 10 minutes of debate they agreed to 'upgrade' us to the room we had paid for, we elected not to go to the bother of changing for the single remaining night, but no refund of the difference in room prices (or comp on a meal, spa, etc.) was offered, it was more just too bad you caught us downgrading your room. There appeared to be several other nicer hotels on Gili, next time it will be to a different/better hotel.
4 out of 5
by marta

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great resort great location but breakfast was terrible. Shortage of food, no glasses for drinks and terrible service. Staff v lay back and not very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Aine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice and close to beach.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
It was very pleasant and easy running. Close to everything and very nice facilities. Overall our stay was off its head.