Ratings based on 1,301 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coles Point, VA USA

Basic Hotel close to Underground far from Heathrow

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Very close to the Underground; easy 2 minute walk
Cons: Needs more light in the room; needs a second place to sit in the room.
Location: Very far from Heathrow Airport. There is nothing nearby except the Underground. The train goes to the tower of London without any transfers.
Very basic hotel 100 yards from the underground. Very far from Heathrow--about an hour drive in early morning traffic, but really close to London Airport. With the underground so close, all of London was easily available with an Oyster Visitor Card. The station is unattended so first use of the underground--how/where to tap the card--requires another traveler to point and explain the process. The station is on a small spur so it is impossible to get lost, and there is a clear lighted walkway to the hotel, 100 yards away. There is nothing in walking distance to go to, so plan on the underground for everything not actually in the hotel. The services in the hotel were very expensive, except for muffins in the morning. Coffee in the room was acceptable, and more was readily available from housekeeping. The room needed more lights--very dark even with all the lights on--and also needed a second chair or any other place to sit. The room was very quiet and had good temperature control. Internet was free and good. Wake up call service is not available--very important for an early flight-- although the TV does have a wake up call function with unclear instructions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Right next to the Excel centre

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Closeness to the Excel exhibition centre.
Expensive, but perfect for the Excel centre. Get the DLR to the Prince Regent station, up the stairs, turn right and the 2nd floor entrance to the hotel is just there, right next to the east entrance of the Excel. Food and drink rather expensive, but hey it's London. Some noise from planes taking off and landing at the London City airport but when we were there there were none overnight so it didn't bother us. Very good shower, big comfy bed, lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
unfriendly staff and management. They couldn't adjust check in and check out dates for one single room 7 days before arrival. I ended up booking 20 room reservation to near by hotel. My group travel to the same area every year. I will stick with the other hotel going forward. The management was not interested in accommodating my request and they ended up with 20 less rooms reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to the 02 arena and city airport

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Modern and clean close to city center , friendly staff nice bar and pool , the only minus was no breakfast . Rates moderate good quite location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Great hotel! Not super close to central London, but easy to access. Very new, clean and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Very pleased

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Myself and my friend booked here using Expedia for a few nights' away in London at the beginning of September. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by a friendly member of staff on reception who informed us that our room had been upgraded from a double/twin to a king and that - despite being two hours early for check-in - our room was ready, which made life easier as we could freshen up and go into London safe in the knowledge that we didn't have to retrieve our luggage from the luggage room/check-in when we got back later that evening. We were very pleased with our room on the eighth floor. The decoration was modern and tasteful and the bed comfortable with facilities that suited our needs. We had booked the hotel with breakfast included and we were both completely satisfied at the choice and quality of all the food we indulged in! A nice touch was having a few morning papers free for guests to read during the meal. If you're not fussed about the hotel being a few miles out of the centre of London (took about 35 minutes on the DLR/tube) I would happily recommend it to people. We will definitely consider staying here again upon our next trip as we know that we will get value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake District UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Lovely hotel great outlook
Cons: The food very limited. Should have been made aware the pool was not available during my stay, not when I checked in.
Location: The Emirates cable car across to the O2 and Greenwich. Lovely walk around the dock area. Very close to the City airport.
I stayed 5 nights at the ALOFT hotel, this was a great place to stay but is amazing how the little things make the biggest difference. Firstly the positive stuff, it is a good 30 minute commute into the city, but all the modern good looking hotels are in this area of Victoria Dock or Canary Wharf. I was happy to stay in this area as it had a lovely outlook. Some negative stuff, the hotel offered me the option of going 'green' to help the planet. What I thought this was, you did not have the towels and sheet changed, which I was happy with. In reality nobody come into the room to do anything. The bins were not emptied, tea, coffee, milk, sugar and water was not replaced either. I requested, via the front desk, for tea and milk to be sent to the room and even went down to collect it but after several requests over two days the supplies still did not arrive so I went out to the supermarket and bought my own. Not what I would have expected from a 4*+ hotel. The hotel restaurant menu was also very limited, I decided to play safe and had soup, this was supposed to come with crusty bread, well it did, but only after I had requested it after the soup had arrived. The soup was cold, so it went back. Unfortunately I would have expected to be replaced but it was just warmed up. Also during my stay the hotel pool was being refurbished, I was not made aware of this until check in. Has I been aware I would have chosen an alternative hotel as I was looking forward to using the pool?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel, close to DLR and easy links to city

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Overall great hotel, friendly staff and easily linked to London City. Restaurant and bar were also top class, although on the expensive side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great staff gorgeous rooms . Lovely breakfast. Late checkout :) only bad point pay for parking :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Nice hotel but...

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Location: Not a ideal hotel if you are doing activities in central London.
I arrived on Aug 27 to check in, and I was told their pool and sauna were closed. It was very disappointing because I had booked this hotel specifically for those reasons. I was told I can get a refund if I didn't want to stay. At that point I was stuck I had come a long way from the airport and wasn't going to now look for another hotel so I decided to stay. However, I was expecting them to discount the rate per night since their amenities were closed. This hotel is far from central London and there isn't much to do so the fact that the only things that would make this stay worthwhile weren't in order. I contacted Expedia and they contacted this hotel to at least discount the rate per night. They refused, even though they said we could get a refund if we wanted to, but the fact that I stayed they could have discounted the room rate. Extremely disappointing.