Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Shopping

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Everything was perfect except that the room service personnel were noisly by talking and laughing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Very good (4.4) hotel - minor exceptions

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Room comfort, breakfast, elevator, reception.
Cons: Some attention to housekeeping detail.
Location: Only a 10-15 walk to Wigmore Hall.
Excellent reception, room, breakfast, and the elevators are noteworthy for getting you to your floor and back very quickly. Room temperature control was excellent. Our third stay at this hotel, the second under Amba. Only minor problems: 1) one receptionist required that we pay in advance for our breakfast instead of just adding it to our bill; 2) we were initially charged for a breakfast that we didn't have or request (smoothly corrected by manager); 3) Initially there was no shampoo, although it appeared on Day 3; 4) one day our filled trash can (dust bin) was not emptied. We very much enjoy this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Very nice and excellent location. Good for family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hote

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Good location and clean hotel nice stuff it's recommended hotel exactly for shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay . i am pleased you enjoyed your visit and would recommend the hotel . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Best wishes Jane
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

excellent location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: close to restaurants and shopping
Cons: could do a bigger gym please
Location: selfridges
very helpful and friendly staffs make my stay so much more enjoyable :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear Serene Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay . I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. we appreciate your feedback and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back . Best wishes Jane
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marin County, CA

Adequate Hotel in Great Location.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location, WiFi, minibar.
Cons: Elevators, design of some rooms, the awkward escalator up, stairs down lobby access, staff training and motivation.
Location: All of Marylebone is right there, and you're a hundred yards from Oxford Street.
I had stayed at the Amba hotel in Charing Cross and really liked it. Both hotels do some things right - fast easy to access and free WiFi. Also a small, free minibar with sodas and a couple of beers. But over the course of four days I moved to three rooms. The first room had a shower so small I very nearly could not turn around in it. The second room had a much better lay-out, but from the hall came an electronic beep - every sixty seconds, a bit like a smoke alarm on low battery - and audible in my room. I repeatedly complained and each time it was as if it was the first they'd heard of it. Of course staff were moving back and forth in the hallway, hearing it, and apparently doing nothing. Finally they moved me to a third room. As I left on the final morning, the beep was still there. The elevators are too few, too small and too likely to be broken down to handle the size of the hotel. And room service produced a pizza that honest to God would have embarrassed a bus station cafe in Boise. The Nespresso machine was broken down. I travel a fair amount, stay in maybe 20 or 30 hotels a year, and I'm tolerant of small flubs. But there is just not a great vibe to the place, it just didn't work on too many levels, quite the opposite of their smaller, sister location in Charing Cross which I quite liked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Many thanks for your constructive review. I am sorry to read that we were unable to get your bedroom right first time and you had issues with the Nespresso, elevators and pizza. I'll take up the specific issues with the relevant teams to ensure they do not inconvenience other guests in the future. I am pleased to read that you like our brand along with our sister hotel with the fast free WiFi and complimentary mini bar as well as our great location. I can see you travel a lot and it would be great to welcome you back again in the future and enable you to experience the hotel as it should be - hassle free. Best wishes Adam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great Executive Lounge

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The Lounge
Cons: Provide a make-up mirror with lighting
We stayed for three nights in early March. While the hotel appeared to have many guests, the Amba Lounge was never too crowded either in the late afternoon or breakfast. While the lounge is comparatively small, with places for about 40 people, at 9am, we easily found a table for three. There is a wide selection of hot and cold items such fruit, eggs and meat and danish. Great coffee maker! The staff was excellent, especially Nertila in the morning and Blerta in the evening. After five pm, the lounge offers wine and small plates such as houmas and pita. Blerta was so welcoming each evening. As for the guest room, it was a bit crowded with the sofabed open (our adult daughter slept there) but it would be spacious if the sofa was closed. The King bed was very comfortable. However, the bathroom was too small for the size of the room. The lighting above the mirror was not good for applying makeup. The tub/shower was very hard to get in and out of because of the height of the tub. Plus it was slippery so we kept feeling we were about to fall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay . I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and especially liked the executive lounge and I will share your comments with Netilla and Blerta . We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming yo back on a future occasion . Best wishes jane
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iceland

The location of the hotel was the deciding factor.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Although the room was not very big, it was cleverly planned and covenient. Fast elevators and never to have to wait for them.
Cons: To have the elevators go all the way down tothe ground floor, not only to the reception on the first floor.
Location: The location suited exactly, since shopping was a big part of our trip.
We liked very much the atmosphere in the hotel and how the hotel staff did their utmost to please us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear Nick Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit . We appreciate your feedback and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Jane
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
good hotel good location service good rooms friendly staff big room nice view
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by JH, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. I was so pelased to read that you enjoyed your visit . We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes Jane
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
It was really anazing hotel, its very clean, one step to oxford street, i highly recommend to stay in amba hotel marble arch, also the staff was very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Jh, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay . I was so pleased to read that you felt the hotel was amazing. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion . Best wishes Jane