Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

speachless

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
It did state a single room but the size of this room gave a new meaning to a single room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Too many stairs
2 out of 5
by Mark from Bridgnorth

Poor, old and unfriendly. Avoid.

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Receptionist not at all welcoming. Hotel rooms are very small. Whole hotel needs badly updating with frayed carpets etc evident throughout. Very poor that breakfast isnt served until 0730. When I said I was looking for some breakfast at 0700 so as to be able to go to work - it was simply met with a shrug of the shoulders. Altogether very poor in my opinion and I wont be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Breakfast good and staff friendly.
Location: Location good-very close to tube.
Very small room and noisy- could hear underground.
3 out of 5
by andrew from Bristol

Recent stay in London

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very good and friendly welcome at reception and very good service overall the hotels position is excellent and good value for money.it does need some updating from the room point of view however the helpfulness of the staff more than balance this out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 night stay.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were cheerful and friendly.
Cons: A lift. The ensuite in our room, was better than non at all, but not really acceptable for the price of the room.
Lovely old building.We received a friendly welcome. Sadly no lift, 60 stairs to the 3rd floor! Our double room had a comfortable bed and the linen was nicely laundered, the furnishings and decoure however were tired and dated The public areas were much smarter. The ensuite was unlike any other that I have ever seen, tiny, moulded plastic like in caravan. Clean but disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

Convenient to Paddington with friendly staff

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and breakfasts
Cons: Difficult in an old building but some redecorating would be a help. Double rooms are small and I was told a single room would be very small.
Location: Couple of minutes from Paddington Station. Walking distance to Marble Arch and Regent Street. Lots of easy public transport. Lovely Lebanese food.
Asked for lower floor room as no lift. Only problem was that it was over a tube line. However, I was amazed how quickly I forgot about it and slept well. Room small and needed redecorating but very clean. Minute pod bathroom but adequate and again very clean. Steep stairs to breakfast room but worth going down for the delicious freshly cooked scrambled eggs and hot toast that I had both days. Helpful and friendly owners and staff. Would stay there again for convenience and the scrambled eggs.
4 out of 5
by Deborah from Sydney, Australia

Avon Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, Excellent service. Beds very uncomfortable only downside.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Noisy

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The English Breakfast.
Cons: Better building insulation.
Location: The location is ideal because there are a variety of restaurants and small stores nearby, and the hotel is a five minute walk from Paddington Station.
I occupied a room below ground level and constantly heard the rumble of arriving and departing Underground trains from nearby Paddington Station. Also, in the early morning there was an intermittent loud machine-like noise coming from outside. Typical of London hotels, the room was too small. The bathroom was cramped and barely fit a shower stall, commode, and wash basin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: It is in the very center of London next to Paddington rail station.
Location: walking distance to the Hyde Park
If you can climb steep stairs and live without clean sheets for 3-4 days, it is a good hotel to stay for people with low budget. Breakfast was good and was included.