Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Overall, average.Good location, acceptable accomm.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The hotel is in a good location close to a lot of restaurants, a few stores, and Paddington Station. The room that we stayed in was small. It was acceptable but not great. It had high ceilings and a nice bathroom. The pillows were hard and the room was hot until we turned on the air conditioning (even though it was 40 or 50 degrees F outside). It might be a typical or even above average place compared to other London hotels. I have nothing to compare it to since this was my first visit to London. It is listed as a bed and breakfast in some places. It does include breakfast, but so do a lot of hotels. It is a B and B in the sense that the staff is only there during regular business hours. But the sign on the outside says HOTEL. To me a hotel has staff available 24 hours a day. Maybe this is typical in England. The man that was usually at the entrance was very helpful and kind. However the woman at breakfast was quite rude and unfriendly. The breakfast was mediocre. We actually only had breakfast there one out of three mornings. If you are looking for a low cost hotel or bed-and-breakfast in a pretty good location I would recommend this. It is a place to sleep. It is not a place to hang out since the rooms are so small.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amy

GREAT place for budget conscious families

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
We were warmly greeted by the most helpful man in London! He made us feel welcome and appreciated, and gave us perfect advice for sightseeing and transportation. Breakfast in the morning was a traditional English breakfast cooked fast, hot, and gave us the perfect start to our long day. The Family Suite was well equipped for each of our 3 kids to have a bed, and a place to store their luggage, as well as a queen sized bed for my husband and I. The bathroom was TINY, but not uncommon for the area we stayed and the age of the building. Everything was clean and prepped for a restful stay. These are not the most modern rooms outfitted with a trendy style, but we loved it for its location to Paddington Station, restaurants, Hyde Park, bus routes, etc... and you can't beat the price for the location. The beds were comfortable, the hair dryer worked great, the water pressure was strong, so all-in-all we were all more than pleased with the Barry House!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

suitable for a couple of nights

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
the staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was basic but good. The room I was in was quite small but enough for a couple of nights. The higher rooms were up steep steps and there was no lift. Near to Hyde park and Oxford Street
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Run by a delightful family, Barry House was affordable and an excellent location both for restaurants and getting to the Underground Station. The room was very small, but well kept and sufficient for our needs. However it would have been nice to have a bathtub. The wifi was the only downside. It was not reliable and difficult to connect with. I highly recommend the Italian Pizza joint down the road. Incredible food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Still good 36 years later

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Stayed here 36 years ago on trip to London. Nice place hasn't changed too much. Bathrooms in the rooms now. Still lots of stairs but adds to the place. Close to everything we needed. Walk to Paddington to catch the express to Heathrow couldn't be easier.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and well priced

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 night stay for shopping. Very convenient location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for just the one night stay, especially as a full English breakfast was included. Room was clean, beds comfortable, good sheets and towels. Parking outside but only until 08:30.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Salvador

Perfect place to move around London

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: That s close to everywhere!! It is in the best place for a tourist.
Cons: Two of the youngest ones in charge of reception were completely distant and cold with clients.No interest,no smiles.
Good experiencie! The hotel is clean and close to everywhere. Localization is JUST PERFECT. Neighborhood EXCELLENT. The only "but": the size of rooms. Too small. Tall people will not be comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Neil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels