Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but there is some WEIRD stuff going on

Posted Sep 7, 2015
The hotel is situated very close to Paddington Station, so that's a plus. Also the price is affordable. The rooms are really small, but at the rate and location, that's not so bad. The staff was helpful and there is free Wifi, which worked alright in my room, but much better in the reception area. Comes with breakfast, and that was a plus. But there is odd stuff that I've never dealt with at a hotel before. 1) Whenever you go out, they ask you to leave the keys with them. They say it's in case there's a fire so they know if you're in the room or not. But nonetheless I found it strange. 2) At night time, they turn off the lights in reception and whomever is working that night is sleeping on the couch. You ring the bell to get let in, and he comes and lets you in. It's a little weird, and what hotel seriously makes their employees do that? 3) The room I was in (26A) had a door second door in front of my room door. Kind of like if someone wanted to leave room service or something like that. The issue I had with this particular configuration was if you accidentally left your room and let your door close behind you it locks upon closing, you would actually be trapped because the second door won't open enough to let a person out unless you fully open your room door. I realize I'm describing this poorly, but trust me, this is VERY DANGEROUS. If you book here, at least avoid my room number. I don't think all the rooms with like that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good value for the price.

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Location: Located right across from a little park and many pubs and shops just at the end of the street. Just a short walk from Paddington Station.
I was very pleased to find this hotel that would accomodate the five of us. Space was a little tight with the luggage but nothing unexpected. Yummy full English breakfast every morning, friendly staff, clean rooms, well located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient hotel near Paddington station.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: English breakfast, its easy location to Paddington station.
Location: Near many restaurants.
My room was very small, but clean and the bed was comfortable. Whilst there was a window which opened, being on basement level, there was not sufficient air current to ventilate/cool the room, so it was rather warm. Staff were friendly and the English breakfast was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucester

Close to Paddington Station

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: TV had no signal in lower ground room, also bathroom smelt musty .
Location: Great Location, easy walking distance to Hyde Park too.
Friendly Hotel only a few minutes walk from Paddington Station. Perfect for our overnight stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Cons: AC!
Location: Great! The only thing that was good was the location, near the train station.
This hotel has no AC and gets sweltering hot. Room 7 was so hot that we just sat there and were drenched with sweat! The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. We asked for a fan to help out a little and the guy at the front desk said they did not have any but yet he was sitting there with one for himself and one in the lobby as well. I then asked in the morning if we could have a refund for our final two nights and they said no only for the final night. DO NOT STAY HERE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Bright room

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The amount of light in the bedroom, the hot shower, the full English breakfast.
Location: The hotel is within a couple of blocks of Paddington Train and underground stations on a quiet street, It is easy to reach all London attractions.
Carrying my bags up 62 steps wasn't easy, but the light, pleasant room was worth it. The shower was tiny but had plenty of hot water. Breakfast was more than adequate, and the room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The best part is that the hotel is just a block from the train and underground station and from several good restaurants. The reception is open 24 hours a day with one extremely helpful man on morning duty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

room was very very small....a closit!!!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is great if you want to be close to the Paddington station (Heathrow express train)
Terrible. You can get the same experience for 1/2 the price at the hotel next door...this place was really a dump
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

For the price it works.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
I was happy to get a hotel in London for around $100 a night. I knew it would be no Hilton but it was perfectly fine for our stay. We were in the basement room 2. It was roomy although the full size bed was kind of small for us. Pillows were less than desirable. Just fold it over. Bedspreads need updating. More importantly though there was a nice flat screen tv with a good selection of channels (we haven't watched live TV in English in almost 2 years so we really enjoyed this). The bathroom was small but not cramped and newly redone. No soaps except small handsoap. Shower was good. Wifi worked really well and was easy to connect to. Breakfast was quick and satisfying. Yummy English breakfast. Option of cereal. The hotel was less than five minutes from the paddington tube station which was on a convenient tube line. Bus stop right outside. Nice pub on the corner. Restaurants and cafes around to eat at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Belvedere

Posted Jan 15, 2015
The customers services and staff are terrible, very rude and misarable as if they are doing one a favour! Location is good, but I will avoid just because of the misarable customers service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Conveniently located hotel.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Location, clean.
Cons: No £5 charge to leave your luggage past 2pm!
Location: Close to paddington train station - a few local shops, pubs cafes to eat
Decent small hotel located close to Paddington Station. Keys to be left at reception when leaving the hotel for whatever reason. £5 charge to leave your luggage after 2pm. Stayed in the basement of the hotel - small yet very clean and warm room. Although a little noisy from underground trains passing. Overall would come back for convenience only.