Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, Location

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Only about 100m from Paddington Station and the Heathrow express, the hotel is perfect for a later arrival or early departure from London Heathrow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very small bathroom Great location. Near subway

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Staff not too friendly Asked for clean towels made us go and get it Water took forever to get hot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great Hotel, Great Location

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: 3 min from Paddington Station, in the center of everything.Hotel is very nice, renovated, very friendly staff, room is small, but very pleasant.
Cons: I like everything, hopefully next time I will stay again in this hotel.
Location: Very central location, 2 min to tube station. Breakfast is so good, so many items, practically after such nice breakfast you do not eat for whole day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

No lift

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Though the room was clean, it was very small and bathroom really small. All single rooms are in the 4th floor and no lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, very close to Paddington station

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect.
Cons: Breakfast; better organized and have a few more eggs and other things.
Location: Hyde Park is amazing, the Princess Dianna play area is outstanding... we could have stayed there for hours.
Very good central London hotel; right next to Paddington station, just a few blocks from Hyde Park. Lots around the area, all bus stops and other tube stations are very close. If you are traveling with a decent amount of luggage you should be warned that there are no lifts and, obviously, some rooms aren't on the ground floor. This is pretty typical for the area, just was unfortunate because we had quite a few bags. We had a 2 double bed room and, while it was small, it wasn't the smallest room we've encountered. The shower was tiny but just big enough. The beds were nice because they were raised off the ground; you could put your bags UNDER the beds so it made the room bigger for that. Television was small but big enough. The area can be rather loud in the evenings. It is adjacent to a very small park but big enough for small kids to have a run around; maybe a picnic if it isn't raining. The breakfast was... odd. It wasn't bad, except that maybe the room needs to be reorganized and they constantly ran out of eggs because they only cooked a few at a time. I wanted two eggs and only took one because I didn't want to take the last two! Room was rather stuffy; they let us use a fan to help circulate the air; however, it was unusually hot so I'm not sure how it would be during normal times of the year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Old hotel, well refurbished

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Location: Location is excellent. It is a very short walk from Paddington Station. Plenty of local amenities and easy transport to all of London andHeathrow.
I've been using the Cardiff Hotel for many years. On my last visit I was surprised at the extensive refurbishment of the public areas, reception and breakfast room in particular. Much better use of the limited space available in a classic Georgian terrace townhouse hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016
Cons: Add a lift
In my opinion, there was a serious breach of fire regulations in this hotel, and having 6 storeys with no lift was tiring each time going up to the top.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, awful hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
This hotel is very run down. I had to climb 6 flights of stairs to get to my room, which was then located in the attic-- it was dirty, smelly, and unclean. I tried to ask for a refund, but unfortunately I had prepaid. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient for Paddington station

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Rooms and especially bathrooms are small, but great location for Paddington station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Perfect location. Basic but good value.

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, breakfast included.
Cons: Comfier beds
Location: Paddington station and the Heathrow Express, Hyde Park, Kensington Palace etc
A great location, right by Paddington Station. Rooms are extremely small, but very clean and have their own bathrooms which is nice. Not the most comfy beds though. Breakfast is good, and included in the room rate. The staff were polite at checkin and checkout but don't interact much other than that. Overall, The Cardiff is good value, and perfect place if you're not planning on spending too much time in your room.