Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Excellent Value

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The proprietor, Nelson Ricardo. The location. The price.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Excellent. Camden Town, shopping and the Underground
I researched various forums to locate the Castle Bar - as I didn't want to pay a fortune for a Bed and Breakfast that was in a good location. The Castle Bar far exceeded expectations. I knew the place was old and the room would be relatively Spartan and that I would need to share a bathroom. What I didn't expect was how large the room was and how nice the bathrooms (there are two that can be shared) would be. Additionally, the breakfast was pretty good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Cons: no air conditioning and depending on the weather it might get pretty warm. Shared bathroom. Potential noise problems with pub located on first floor. Pros: good location. Buses: They go all directions from the corner out front. One takes you directly to Camden Town and back and they run pretty late (N29). The other direction takes you directly to the Underground (Caledonian Road Station on the Piccadilly Line). Walking: It isn't a far walk to either Camden Town or the Underground. The Caledonian Road Station is about a 5-7 minute walk through a safe neighborhood. Parking: There are four or five off-street, small spots available - at no charge (the smaller the car the better). E-mail ahead to make sure one is open. Convenience stores: There are two or three across the street - very nice. Free Wi-Fi. The proprietor: Nelson Ricardo. He is fantastic and very helpful. I came in way before check-in, but he offered to keep luggage and allow me to park my car - super helpful!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Nice Place

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The staff.
The hosts were very nice and accommodating. Very helpful in in giving me tips on how to get around and the area. Breakfast was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Gutes Preisleistungsverhältnis & Verkehrsanbindung

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Frühstück, Nahverker, Service
Cons: Auch unter den Betten Staub wischen.
Location: Nördlich von Camden
Ein sehr gut an den öffentlichen Nahverkehr angebundenes Hotel mit gutem Preisleistungsverhältnis. Freundlicher und sehr hilfsbereiter Service. Frisch zubereitetes Frühstück und hervorragender Kaffee. Pub im EG und Terasse im 1. Stock, angegliedertes hervorragendes Fischlokal, beinahe günstig für London. Geräusche in der Nacht: Pub war nicht zu hören; Straßengeräusche, aber nicht sehr störend bzw. normal für diese Lage (an einer Straße) Gemeinschaftsbad: Wurde prinzipiell ausreichend gereinigt, jedoch wissen anscheinend nicht alle Hotelbewohner, dass man das Bad so verlässt, wie man es selbst gerne vorfinden würde und dass es eine Klospühlung gibt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Good for a weekend away!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
A good b&b if your visiting London for the weekend. At most a 10 minute walk from the nearest tube station, which will take you to the heart of London. A pub on the ground floor for relaxing in the evenings. Clean and comfy rooms. All for a good price. Would definitely recommend this b&b
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Please read before you decide based on my rating

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The couple running the place.
Cons: The place needs a lot of fixing up
Location: While I wasn't scared, it really isn't a great location for someone vacationing. Not much to do nearby.
There is a part of me that feels bad for giving a bad rating, however, I really feel if you are like me then you will not be happy to stay here. The couple running the hotel are VERY nice and VERY accommodating and they work like dogs. However, I'm a girl from Boca Raton, FL and while I'm down to earth I am a little spoiled. I was trying to do Europe on a budget and I picked this place. It wasn't an ideal location for someone who is vacationing.You need to know that the hotel doesn't look anything like the picture they show you. It is very old and needs A LOT of work. Again, if you don't require much and don't mind sharing a bathroom, then this could be a perfect place for you to stay. The bathroom was used by another person staying and they couldn't even clean up after themselves and neither myself or my 12 yr old boy would shower in there. The breakfast was delicious, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Völlig OK wenn man ein kleineres Budget hat

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Das Haus ist sicher nicht im Besten Zustand und so sehen auch die Gemeinschaftsbäder und die Zimmer aus! Wenn man damit leben kann machen die unglaublich netten Betreiber diese B&B und das gute Frühstück alles wett!! Die Lage mit Bushaltestelle vor der Tür und der U-Bahn in 5 Min Fußweg ist gut. Eine günstige Möglichkeit in London zu übernachten!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jennifer from worcestershire

second stay

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
This was my second stay at the castle bar and I enjoyed it as much as the first. The locals in the bar were friendly and the bed was sooooo comfortable. Perfect for a short getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Celine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Johan from Västerås, Sweden

A great stay

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to The Home of Football for watching Arsenal. Very friendly personnel and good breakfast.