Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the centre of London

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent location, less expensive than most comparable hotels.
Cons: The rooms should get a bit of a makeover. The staff should be upfront when the WIFI does not work.
Location: Lots of things: Covent Garden... super central!
I arrived late and checked in with a friend. I asked about the internet and they mentioned that it was on the form in my hotel room. When I arrived in my hotel room, the WIFI did not work. When I phoned to the reception they informed me that the WIFI had been broken all day. I could come downstairs in the lobby. The next morning the WIFI was still down. The reception staff was friendly, though. When I complained about the WIFI and asked for some kind of compensation they agreed to provide us free breakfast. The rooms are a bit older, no airconditionling (it was one of the hottest days of the year). Outside was noisy, but we enjoyed the ambiance. I won't come back, but it was OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Devon

Location great

Posted May 26, 2017
Asked for rubber bath mat which was eventually delivered on the second day. Room too small for real comfort Bed excellent. No loud traffic noise. Bathroom new. All very clean. Didn't eat in hotel. 24 hour breakfast close by. Easy access to central London as Underground station close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Patience

Nice hotel, convinient , central

Posted May 18, 2017
I got to the hotel 5 hours before check in time. Was tired from the long flight. The receptionist was considerate, accomodated me in an open double room. Managed to have a proper rest before my Board exam the following morning
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from .

Awful stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: n/a
Woken up in the early hours of the morning by a RAT in my room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Bed Bugs

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Since I have been back from staying at this hotel is have started noticing bite all over my legs which I have never had before.So I must be getting bit in my sleep after doing some research on bed bugs the most likely route for them together into your home is luggage or hotals. And I stayed at this hotel on the 1st till the 2ed of April and started noticing bits on my legs around Tuesday 4th. Am very suspicious it came from this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do Not Stay Here! Terrible

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible. It's a 1 star not 3 star in my mind. Rooms were awful. The bath had black all around the seal. The hallways and stairs were a terrible state of disrepair. Did not feel happy to stay here. Shocking decor, ripped wallpaper and filthy carpets Requested a refund after just 30 minutes of arranging my stay, and after moving to a 2nd room! My second room was refurbished but still not to standard. No clothes hanger, let alone a wardrobe! Tiny room with a single bed squeezed in with a double to be sold as a triple. No room to swing a cat and the window looked onto a brick wall (basement) so you could see no daylight and it felt like a dungeon. Funny smell all through.... Lift not working so a climb up stairs and the higher you went the worse the decor and state of it all. Even though I found out I dealt with the general manager I still had no joy when I asked if me and my friend could both get a refund as we did not feel comfortable staying. He said no and refused. It was so bad - we walked out anyway and let them keep their payment - I could not stay. I know when I feel comfortable- I travel all the time sleep in many hotels worldwide and this was without doubt my worst hotel experience. Shame on you for not refunding us just 30 minutes from booking. I would never ever recommend this hotel be stayed in and suggest hotels.com review the star rating - shocking and misleading. Even when hotels.com called the hotel they still did not agree a refund.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location was great, which was all we really needed. The whole hotel really needs a serious refurbishment though, it's worn and tired just about everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor state but friendly staff

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice friendly staff, hotel is in need of modernization.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The best thing about this hotel was the location. We were able to walk to many sights from there and the tube stop was a block away.
Cons: The bathroom in the first room was small, dirty, the shower too narrow, the shower head too low and no towel racks. Not all of the staff were helpful.
Location: British Museum is two blocks away. Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square are about fifteen minutes by foot. Lots of restaurants and bars.
The location was great. Very close to the tube stop, right beside the British Museum, good restaurant next door. We stayed for six nights. At first we were on the third floor in an old room with mould in the bathroom and lacking hooks to hang wet towels. I asked for a hair dryer (was supposed to be available in room) and was told they would find me one but they didn't. Also told them the tv didn't work and they did nothing about that. The evening staff were able to get me a hair dryer and finally had a look at the tv and confirmed it was broken but couldn't do anything about it that night. After three nights they moved us to a new room on the ground floor with an updated (clean) bathroom and with a tv that worked but still no hair dryer. We were happy with the second room even though it lacked a view, since it was clean. The rooms are tiny but if you are out all day like we were it was sufficient.
1 out of 5
by Tom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels