Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martigues

Très bon appart-hôtel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Tout
Cons: RAS
Location: Quartier attractif. A 10 minutes à pieds de Coven garden, de soho. Métro à deux pas.
Nous avons été très agréablement surpris. Très bon accueil. Nous avons eu un problème et le personnel de l'accueil a été très professionnel et très cordial. L'appartement très bien situé, la décoration très soignée, le confort au rendez-vous. Très appréciable après nos journées touristiques.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

家族向け、利便性の高いホテル

Posted Jul 27, 2016
便利な場所にあり、部屋で料理も出来るホテルです。家族旅行には十分。部屋は写真ほどには照明が明るくなくありません。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Comfortable and Quiet

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, room size, bed comfort, quiet.
Location: There are restaurants and cafes nearby. We walked to the major sites but it is a bit of a walk.
We are a family of 4 (kids age 6 and 9) and stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2016. Not knowing how the kids would do with the time difference (London is 8 hours ahead) we wanted a 1 bedroom. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the 1 bedroom, for London. The beds were comfortable, the staff friendly, the location convenient and the room was very quiet. The staff let us store our bags for the day in a secure room. There was free coffee in the lobby in the morning. One tip, if you are from North America, the pull-out sofa is actually a sofa that converts to a single bed and then underneath is another single bed that slides out. Overall I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Sehr schöner Aufenthalt

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Lage, Größe der Zimmer, eigenen Küche, großes sauberes Badezimmer
Location: Nähe U-bahn, gute Anbindung an Innenstadt
Das Hotel liegt 2 Minuten von der U-Bahn Station Holborn (Picadilly und Central Line) entfernt. Die Zimmer sind zweckmässig und funktional eingerichtet mit einer eigenen kleinen Küche. Badezimmer sehr groß (für englische Verhältnisse) und 24h Rezeption. Check in war schnell und problemlos. In der Nähe zwei Supermärkte - auch Sonntags geöffnet. Achtung - Zimmerservice gibt es nur einmal (bei der Ankunft) in vier Tagen, da Serviced Appartment nicht Hotel. Zimmer recht groß, ruhige Lage (Blick zum Innenhof gebucht).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from holborne Covent Garden

Bien placé, prêt de tout. Bon confort.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Aucun reproche sérieux. Séjour agréable. Nous y reviendrions avec plaisir.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fecamp

Tres bon emplacement

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Emplacement, propreté
Cons: Insonorisation, les portes coupe feu et des chambres qui claquent fort Personnel du petit déjeuner a "décoincer"
Location: British Muséum a 15 minutes à pied, station de Métro proche : la ligne est directe à la Gare St Pancras Supérettes, restos proches
A 3 stations de la Gare St Pancras, quand l'on arrive de l'Eurostar, c'est fort appréciable. Hôtel bien situé, hypermètre, a 4 minutes une station de métro ou l'on peut aller ou l'on veut. Petit bémol, l'insonorisation, et quelques équipements à entretenir (poignée chasse d'eau). J'ai eu la surprise aussi au petit déjeuner (12 GBP quand même!) de tomber sur une plaquette de beurre périmée depuis 8 jours... C'était la seule fort heureusement. Le personnel répond aux questions, mais ceux qui surveillent le petit déjeuner semblent un peu stressés par le fait qu'il faut débarrasser les tables rapidement et en oublient un peu à vous retourner votre "bonjour", sourire, ou votre "bonne journée". Un dernier point fort appréciable, c'est qu'ils peuvent vous garder votre valise après le Check out, ça évite de se balader avec toute la journée du depart.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Ionel Senior Receptionist, Hotel Management
Dear Stephane, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel location We apologise for the incident in the breakfast area, we have already spoken with the Housekeeping Manager who has already start to retrain her team Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sentralt, rent og pent, hyggelige betjening

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location: Veldig sentral beliggenhet med gangavstand til meste, både sightseeing og shopping. Hop-on-hop-off buss stopper ca 100 meter fra hotellet.
Hotellet ligger i gangavstand til det meste. Rene og pene leiligheter, gode senger. Betjeningen i resepsjonen var hyggelige og hjelpsomme. Kommer gjerne tilbake hit og kan anbefale dette hotellet for alle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Ionel Senior Receptionist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and especially found the location and beds to your satisfaction. We want to thank you for noticing our staff efforts and we look forward to seeing you again Best wishes,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Aus

Overpriced very average hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Free housekeeping. Better cleanliness.
Location: It's close to everything good in the west end of London.
Bathroom was terrible. There is an awful manky shower curtain which clings to you while you're trying to get clean. I could see the bathroom mirror had not been cleaned properly as when it steamed up, finger-drawn messages written by the previous guests in the fogged-up glass could be seen. They charge extra for housekeeping, which is just unbelievable in my opinion, given you're already paying through the nose. Beds were comfortable at least, but I have stayed in much nicer hotels in central London for the same price and had a much, much better experience. I only recommend this hotel as a last resort if you can't get anything cheaper in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Simone Gambino, Senior Receptionist, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Citadines Holborn Covent Garden hotel, I appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences on this site. I regret to learn that your stay was impeded by the issues you have highlighted in your feedback .Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we may have caused you. I have noted your observations regarding the cleaning service. At Citadines Apart’hotel guests can customise the services they wish to receive to suit their individual lifestyle and budget. Although many services are already included in the room rate guests can choose to enjoy additional service for an extra charge. Daily housekeeping is one of these extra services that we offer. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better. Yours sincerely
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Praktische locatie vlakbij metrostation Holborn

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: De ligging en de ruime kamer (voor Londense begrippen zelfs zeer ruim)
Cons: betere informatie vooraf
Location: Heel handig vlakbij een metrostation en allerlei bezienswaardigheden
Er was een verkeerde kamer geboekt, maar de staf had al geregeld dat volgende dag de juiste kamer gereed zou zijn en bood gratis ontbijt aan. Maar er is niet duidelijk gemeld dat in dit type hotel het verzorgen van de kamer niet automatisch gebeurt. Je moet om alles vragen (nieuwe handdoeken, thee/koffie aanvullen etcetera).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Ronan, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to see your stay was generally good. I do apologise for the issue you have faced with getting the wrong room and I am glad my team could fix it for you the next day. I have spoken to my team to ensure everyone is informed of our cleaning policy; however, this is clearly mentioned on the website whilst booking. I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future. Best wishes, Ronan Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfecto para conocer Londres y moverse fácilmente

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Tener en cuenta que es un apto por tanto no hacen limpieza a diario. Pero su ubicación es pegada a una estación de metro y en un muy buen sector. Es cómodo y lindo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Ronan, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear margarita, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay and found the property top be comfortable and well located. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future. Best wishes,