Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Quirky but convenient

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Well situated hotel, close to bow road tube station and dlr stop. Also lots of local amenities, restaurants etc. Victoria park and regents canal also less than a mile away. Hotel itself is basic and a little quirky but clean and cosy. Also the ultimate self service breakfast in the basement. Only downside is the foreboding entrance/reception area and the reception staff who seemed less than happy to see me. Overall well priced and good location, but don't expect a particularly warm welcome!
1 out of 5
by kamlesh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were helpful but not super cordial. They lack any kind of social interaction with their guests. Just saying hello or good bye was a stretch for them. Eye contact and conversation was awkward. Breakfast was very simple cereals and fruit in a very simple kitchen area. Not very good upkeep either on the facility. Mold in the shower along with a dangerous makeshift handle in the shower area. Rusty piece of a metal sticking out of the shower handle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with en-suite kitchen.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Everything I wanted in a hotel and more. I was delighted to find a kitchen complete with oven, pans, knives, chopping boards, microwave. The sofa was a nice touch also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Brilliant location but...

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Position, position, position and price.
Cons: You name it and it could be improved - other than position that is.
Location: Brilliant location, lots of access to public transport and all tourist conveniences (eg laundrette, bank, shops, etc) located nearby.
The hotel is brilliantly located in terms of access to tube, bus & DLR and the Queen Elisabeth II Park and stadium. There is a laundrette nearby, a few pubs, a few food outlets and a Tesco within easy walking. My room came with a window that opened and a fan. The welcome was not welcoming but over my 4 night stay, I did manage to get a smile and a nod of acknowledgement. The Guest Lounge and Kitchen are located down steep stairs to the basement. Not easily navigated by the infirm. The property is certainly not accessibility friendly! Luggage storage is in the hallway by reception. Staff were happy to keep luggage until check in time. There is a Barclays Bank next door with an ATM machine. The wifi at the property worked very well. Having to make your own breakfast and wash your own dishes in a rather small kitchenette was a bit of a surprise - must have missed reading about this feature in the property description!!! The Bow Church is nearby and on an island in the roadway, it is well worth a visit!
4 out of 5
by Kim

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff at this hotel were amazing. I am disabled and nothing was to much trouble. I would stay there again if it wasn't for the steps. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room but other than that it was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Citystay Hotel is more a B&B than a hotel. It looks like merged apartments. However, I liked it because you feel secure as long as the main door is closed all the time as a house and has to be opened by the staff or by the key that they give it to you. The breakfast is self service and is diversified (fruits, eggs, milk, cookies,...)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Stayed one night very dusty basic facilities. Pillows were dirty and duvet grey. Beds were ok. Close to Olympic stadium.
1 out of 5
by Nicholas

Rude

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very rude, didn't even greet us as we walked in, we were very nice and polite but received attitude back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Algeria

Nice B&B to stay in even for a long time

Posted May 3, 2017
I stayed in this hotel for two days and I found it very comfortable. The breakfast is self service and very good (eggs, cheese, fruits, cookies,...). The place is also nice and amounted by restaurants and shops.