Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect base for our weekend x

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We are just back from a weekend stay here at hotel Columbus and we're very impressed from start to finish. staff were warm and friendly especially towards my daughter for her birthday. Great little personal touch. Breakfast was great and rooms very clean and tidy and exactly what the 4 of us required. Perfect. We will definetly be returning. Another added bonus is that Paddington station is just minutes away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PEI Canada

Friendly staff. Rooms very clean but small.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Proximity to train, underground, and within walking distance of Oxford St., Piccadilly, etc.
Cons: Wifi connectivity
Rooms are very small but we didn't go to London to stay in the hotel room. It was very clean. Wifi is virtually non-existent (we were able to get online only once in our 2 night stay and that only lasted for a couple of minutes) - don't stay here if you need wifi. Breakfast is a small but totally adequate continental breakfast, much like what we would have at home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
We only slept in the room one night... it was a very rushed visit so hard to give more comments. It served our purpose was clean but bathroom was a little cramped. But good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
was locked out of my room from 12:15 to 1:00 am because of a faulty sensor on my door. need i say more ?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good and convenient

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very good stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Internet servce upgrade required.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Watch out for intermittent Internet service Don't be fooled by just being able to connect to the local router. Conection out to the Internet is the real issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The location is great, just 4 minutes' walk to Paddington Station with Heathrow Express and 8 minutes, walk to Hyde Park. The neighborhood is quiet. The price is fair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hope you don't get put in the basement

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
I was put down in a basement room and to be honest it was awful. Before even getting to the room there was a load of rolled up carpet - right near the fire exit which I'm sure is classed as a trip hazard under H&S laws. One window in the room didn't lock properly and although there were bars on the window it didn't feel safe. The lock on the inside of the door didn't work properly and the door next to the room I was staying in had a piece of paper over a missing window pane, so I spent all night worrying someone would get in the room. The room itself was sizeable but had clearly had a damp problem in the past as the dated wood paneling showed signs of water damage and there was a damp smell to the room. There was no hair dryer, no phone signal and no one gave me the wifi code so I couldn't make any necessary calls from my room, it also added to me feeling unsafe as if someone did get in there was no way for me to call anyone! The only good thing about the place was the shower which was good and the TV had good signal. The staff were friendly and helpful including the new trainee. I didn't bother staying for breakfast so can't comment on it. I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Small, bare-bones room but okay for a quick stay

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We needed to secure a quick, inexpensive hotel for a 1-night stay in London and Hotel Columbus worked out just fine. It is a small, bare-bones row-house style hotel. The bed was moderately comfortable, the shower/bathroom were very tiny. The hotel staff at check in/out were pleasant, and there were no problems. The location is close to Hyde Park, and there are plenty of places to eat near the hotel. it is also very close to the Underground system.