Ratings based on 1,393 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Not at all what was advertised

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Good location in the city
Cons: New carpets and all guest room renovations
Location: Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, Oxford Street and Notting Hill within walking distance
My daughter and I were excited about this hotel based on the good rating but were hugely disappointed. First impressions are important. The lobby was well maintained but as soon as we ventured to our room, every thing changed. The carpet was filthy in the hallways and in our room. The bathroom sink was all chipped and was backing up. The mattress was basically a wooden board. No outlet in the bathroom and only one outlet in the room. We complained and they switched our room but it was basically the same.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

spinning around the drain.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location next to Hyde park was great.
Cons: carpet needs to be replaced, they need more staff.
Location: Hyde park across the street, close to Paddington station, beautiful area - very safe and quiet.
This was an incredibly quiet hotel, and a relatively good location, but the facilities were a disappointment. They would benefit from a major renovation. Typical of an older London hotel, it feels like it was built when the entire population was 5'. They lacked the staff to sufficiently run the hotel. As a result, room service wasn't available (seriously!?). I question whether the maid even attempted to vacuum the floor the entire week we where there, although she did a great job keeping the rest of the room clean. The carpet was disintegrating and ending up everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great Location next to the park. Double room was more than adequate size for one, but would be a little cramped for two. Lobby and common space a bit out-dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hassocks

Nothing special

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: It needs a bit of TLC.
Location: Hyde Park.
For a London hotel we wasn't expecting luxury for £130, but even so – the room and hotel in general looks very tired and in much need of a good tidy and lick of paint. Threadbare carpet, the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows non-existent. We had an extra pillow sent up each but both still woke with neck-ache in the morning. Bathroom clean enough. Staff were pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bundled Deal Gone Horribly Wrong

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Arrived from states late Monday night. Room carpet stained. AC in room wasn't working and it was like a sauna. I wanted nothing more than to switch - and night manager said no one could help me, but try again tomorrow when it "wouldn't be his problem". Seriously. I couldn't sleep all night bc of the heat. After work the following day, real manager was more accommodating however. He let me use the desk phone to call Expedia US. After 90 minutes they were able to cancel reservation for Commodore and rebook. During that time, at least a handful of other customers were at front desk trying to get out of the hotel as well. Others for AC. Others for noise. No hot water etc. Bottom line - this hotel needs major overhaul. Also, not conveniently located. Tubes far away and little attractions except Park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D,NL

pretty area

Posted May 15, 2017
Pretty area , quiet and I felt safe . Hotel was adequate for what we needed no problems , found rooms very warm . No way to adjust the heat 27 too warm for sleeping. Had to have the windows open . pillows were hard could be updated . Staff were polite . Never ate breakfast so I can't comment . It was very nice to explore the park right across the street .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB Canada

Dissapointed

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. Beautiful architecture.
Walls were so thin you could hear everything going on outside your room. Floors creeked so much you would wake up if someone above you moved around. Beds were so small and pillows were as hard as rocks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oyster Bay, NY

OK hotel for a budget

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Carpeting could be replaced and new paint would help in places.
Location: A block in from Kensington Park on the edge of Bayswater/Nottinghill. Near Landcaster Gate tube station (which is closed for construction until July).
At first my husband and I and the couple we were traveling with were given teeny tiny rooms on the sixth floor with worn carpeting and a horrible view. I called the front desk and noted that I am afraid of heights. They agreed to change the rooms to a lower floor the next day as they were filled up that first night. They did accommodate my fear, and the second set of rooms were on the second floor and larger. The staff said they were considered executive rooms, but we were not charged for the upgrade. The hotel is worn in places (carpeting and paint), but the location was good and the staff were nice. We didn't eat at the hotel (breakfast wasn't included with our rooms). If you spend a great deal of time in the room, spend a bit more and select a better hotel. But the Commodore was in a good location for me (near my daughter), and on a quiet block. Price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value for price.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The manager went out of his way to help solve a problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Toilets not working, Internet so slow, bathtub water sometimes too hot and sometimes too cold