Ratings based on 1,373 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D,NL

pretty area

Posted May 15, 2017
Pretty area , quiet and I felt safe . Hotel was adequate for what we needed no problems , found rooms very warm . No way to adjust the heat 27 too warm for sleeping. Had to have the windows open . pillows were hard could be updated . Staff were polite . Never ate breakfast so I can't comment . It was very nice to explore the park right across the street .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB Canada

Dissapointed

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. Beautiful architecture.
Walls were so thin you could hear everything going on outside your room. Floors creeked so much you would wake up if someone above you moved around. Beds were so small and pillows were as hard as rocks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oyster Bay, NY

OK hotel for a budget

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Carpeting could be replaced and new paint would help in places.
Location: A block in from Kensington Park on the edge of Bayswater/Nottinghill. Near Landcaster Gate tube station (which is closed for construction until July).
At first my husband and I and the couple we were traveling with were given teeny tiny rooms on the sixth floor with worn carpeting and a horrible view. I called the front desk and noted that I am afraid of heights. They agreed to change the rooms to a lower floor the next day as they were filled up that first night. They did accommodate my fear, and the second set of rooms were on the second floor and larger. The staff said they were considered executive rooms, but we were not charged for the upgrade. The hotel is worn in places (carpeting and paint), but the location was good and the staff were nice. We didn't eat at the hotel (breakfast wasn't included with our rooms). If you spend a great deal of time in the room, spend a bit more and select a better hotel. But the Commodore was in a good location for me (near my daughter), and on a quiet block. Price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value for price.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The manager went out of his way to help solve a problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Toilets not working, Internet so slow, bathtub water sometimes too hot and sometimes too cold
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Had to check out early due to family emergency

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The food was good! The hotel was a bit janky but I guess you get what you pay for. The carpets were worn, the couch was ripped and it smelled a bit like sewage in the room. Luckily the window opens! Hotel also refused to honor refund policy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We had roaches in the middle of the night

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness, room quality
There were roaches in the tub in the middle of the night, carpet was torn up, room barely fit the bed, guess you get what you pay for. They offered a discount but never followed up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good value for the money

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Unusually rigid about not letting us check in early
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice and convenient but stuffy

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Hotel could do with an upgrade. Aircon wasn't working. Pillows were terrible. On the upside hotel is clean'ish and conveniently located
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

nice

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The location of the hotel was spot on, right near Hyde park, really beautiful scenery. The hotel itself was quite outdated, very old decor, the bed however was great, nice and spacious. We only stayed one night I think I was enough for me, the bathroom was pretty small too. Overall could do with a bit of an update but nevertheless a decent stay.