Ratings based on 1,190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire.

Well located with rooms a little tired

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Great location on edge of Kensington Palace Gardens with tube nearby.
Cons: Carpets on stairs and in rooms need replacing and walls repainted.
Location: Good location on edge of park, close to V&A museum, Natural History museum and Oxford Street shopping.
Helpful staff. Room was OK but perhaps needed the carpet replacing. Beds and bathroom were clean.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Nice hotel next to Kensington Gardens

Posted Nov 17, 2015
My family and I only stayed one night, as our trip to England was mainly focused on visiting more rural areas. We chose this hotel for its proximity to Paddington Station (15 min walk), which offers an express train back to Heathrow. However, for our one night's stay, the hotel was very comfortable, situated off the main street in a quiet setting, the staff were exceptionally helpful, and Kensington Gardens as well as Hyde Park were a very short walk away. Lovely.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Easy access to tube
Pleasant enough staff but everything else was awful. 5 flights of stairs to a tiny room with barely enough space to move around the bed. Skylight taking up almost half of the ceiling with no blind, so woken up at first light. Broken blind, broken toilet roll holder and towel rail. Shower very dated and grout dirty. Very tired and shabby to all areas. Maid trying to make up the room at 9am. No offer to carry cases up stairs. Expensive mistake. Would not recommend it at all and will never stay there again. Ruined our weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Might as well have stayed in a hostel

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything could be improved
Location: Right across from Hyde Park and close to two Underground entrances on the Central Line.
This hotel doesn't seem to have been updated or maintained in years. When we first arrived the room smelled so much of bleach that it made me ill. The bed was extremely stiff and uncomfortable (you could feel the springs in your back), there was mold in the shower and the walls must have been paper thin as we could hear everything our neighbors did and said.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derry, Ireland

Small & Has Seen Better Days

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Whole place needs freshened up.
Location: Very convenient to Hyde Park.
The hotel was very convenient to where I had business to do in London and the staff were courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, for a supposedly 4* hotel, the place had a worn out feel to it. The carpets throughout were bare and looked dirty. My room was tiny and had no facility to press clothes. Apart from a small reading room directly off the reception, the hotel did not appear to have any other customer facilities. Perhaps I had unrealistic expectations for a £190 a night room in London but had this been anywhere else on these islands, I would have complained to the manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Sehr altes Hotel mit schlechten WLAN Empfang. Aber schnellem Zugang zur U-Bahn Lancaster Gate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: It's location
Cons: Service!
We have stayed at the Commodore every year for the past 5 years whilst in London for business. Each year we have found the experience less enjoyable. This time, we booked a room for the night previous to our early morning arrival as we knew we would be extremely tired after traveling for 32 + hours from the other side of the world. On arrival at the hotel at 7.30am we were greeted with "check-in isn't until 2pm" by the hotel receptionist. We explained that we had an early check-in as we had paid for the previous night. After about 5 minutes the receptionist finally found our booking and then told us that the room wasn't ready as there had been a leak in the room the previous day but that the room would be ready in 15 minutes. We asked if we could have half our money refunded as they had clearly booked the room out to someone else. This was refused and we were offered a free breakfast as compensation (which we declined). After half an hour our room was finally ready. Really disappointed that this booking was made 5 months earlier and the hotel still could not ensure that our room was ready for our arrival. Also disappointed that the staff member involved really did not seem to care.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zürich

Angemessenes Hotel in Stadtnähe

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Im Vergleich mit den schweizer Hotels sieht dieses für mich aus wie ein 2 Sterne Hotel.
2 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
In terms of having somewhere to sleep at the end of the night it was great and that's all I wanted it for. However for those who want a little more from a hotel this place is not for you. Our double room(s) was small and dated (we had to be moved because of a broken fridge and air conditioning), even though everything was clean it had a worn out and tired feel to the hotel. The service I have mixed reviews, the short haired lady at the reception desk was very rude and blunt and it took my partner 4 attempts to try sort our broken fridge. However when we needed to room cleaning during the day that was achieved without and stolen items (: yayyyyy. Non of the staff I met were from England and even though they could speak English it was quite poor. Overall I rated this hotel a 2, probably being a bit harsh as I never sampled any food and only stayed there for 2 nights but I would not recommend this to others for a long stay but I suppose I would if you are like me and just staying a couple of nights (: Thank you
4 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels