Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Started with high hopes

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Quirky, good location, nice rooms.
Cons: Catering, staff training on customer service.
Location: Right in the heart of shopping and very close to most theatres.
This hotel was booked as a treat for my wife's birthday. It started well - we were upgraded to a bigger room and the receptionist was lovely. The room was nice though the kettle had a dodgy connection and the TV remote only worked intermittently. The bar is quirky, with it's old cells, complete with toilet. Sadly the whole experience was ruined in the morning. We queued for 20 minutes for breakfast, had to find our own table because no staff acknowledged us (or other guests) and we had to ask repeatedly for everything (more than one coffee cup, more than one juice glass, some cutlery - it all came in dribs and drabs). The staff were short-handed and we could feel their stress as they ran around achieving nothing and apparently without a team leader. Not good on a "relaxing" Sunday morning! The food ran out and was not replaced (the bacon was clearly undercooked). There were age-old cobwebs hanging on the wall above and behind the hot plates. When this was all pointed out to a concierge he said: "There's nothing I can do." Eventually we gave up on breakfast, as did others, found a manager to complain to and checked out without breakfast. What should have been a lovely weekend was soured by an appalling hotel with untrained and unsupervised staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Central to everything

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The hotel rooms were very quiet. It was very close to everything,
Cons: The opening times of the swimming pool
Location: easy access to the tube, Carnaby street, Oxford street, were right on your door step and so was the Palladium,
This was a perfect location for the things we had planned in London, short walk from the tube station, I did feel the swimming pool was not open at the correct times, it did not open until 10 in the morning, and closed at 7, when we have stayed in other Hotels the times were a lot better, as ideally you wanted to use the pool before going out in the morning and perhaps having a quick dip when you come back, so this was definitely a down side as we then only got to use the pool once, If I had known this would probably have chosen another hotel. There was not a lot of atmosphere in the hotel and we were booked to have a meal on the roof terrace, but as soon as we walked out onto the terrace we decided not to stay, I seemed quite nice for a drink but definitely not a meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel location for the theatre

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: very good location for the theatre
Cons: shower curtain in bathroom well stocked mini bar
Location: Shopping and theatre
hotel was good we were upgraded to better rooms which were good and spacious. The bathroom required a bigger shower screen or shower screen as the water went everywhere. The mini bar was only stocked with soft drinks and it would have been nice to have a drink in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this one if you can

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This hotel canceled my reservation without informing me. After a long flight from US, I was told no room was available for me. The staff were rude.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent center all London location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Had to change rooms 3 times throughout a 2 week stay due to A/C issues. The overal look and amenities is not at a 4 or 5 star level. The facility has a spa, but it's not enough to feel like you are in a 5 star hotel. I selected this hotel based on star rating( it was 4.5), location, and has A/C. I was disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

soho central

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: central location. not on a very busy street.
Cons: the lobby and bar decor needs an overhaul. the gym is disappointing.
Location: central in soho.
It's a fine hotel, but touristy. I probably would not pay that much for this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buxton

Centre of Theatre Land

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The hotel could not be better located if you are going to take in the theatres in London. A quick and courteous staff are at hand and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The ground floor of the hotel especially tells the story of how it has been converted from the old Courthouse and gives it its special charm. However I think these features are getting a little tired and need a makeover to bring the hotel back in line with a tip top establishment in a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but view was blocked no daylight

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great location right near Oxford Circus, will definitely stay again. Will ask for a room with a view though or just daylight would do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The hotel is located between Oxford Street and Regent Street, next to the stage entrance to the London Palladium theatre. It's also right opposite Carnaby Street. Oxford circus is a very short walk, so there is easy access to the tube station. The location is excellent. The hotel staff were great, very friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel itself is very good. Our Queen room was pretty spacious. We didn't use the pool, restaurants or bars but the prices seemed reasonable. I think on Expedia it rated the hotel as 5 stars but I'd say it isn't 5 star, but a good 3.5 to 4 star. I think the hotel was very good with all the basics you need in the room. Bed was very comfy. Air conditioning in the room was very welcome. Full Sky TV service including all the film and sports channels was a pleasant surprise. You are paying a premium for the location. We paid £279 a week night in July, which seemed about right for similar hotels in the area. we would probably stay there again, but there is a fair amount of choice in London in this price range. The location was the deciding factor for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel. Great Location!!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Really nice rooms and nice hotel in a great location. Walking distance to Oxford street and great shopping.