Ratings based on 997 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TORONTO ONTARIO CANADA

Only thing missing are fleas!!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The location was very good.
Cons: For the money pick ANY other hotel but this one.
Location: Location was right in Soho. Walk to Buckingham Palace. Good night life.
I booked 2 King Superior rooms through Expedia (non fundable) for myself, my friend and our two daughters.  We were both given classic rooms with two twins pushed together to look like a King superior room.  Ours was room 612 and our daughters stayed in 303. Because we paid upfront, the hotel decided they did not have to give us what we paid for.  A classic bait and switch. We asked for a room change, as we wanted what we paid for, and were told you were fully booked but could see what could be done. Later that day, my friend and I were moved to 211 which was the same classic room with two twins pushed together.  The only difference was that this room was slightly larger than the first. These rooms are not 5 star by any stretch of the imagination.  The following is a list of the rooms appalling state. Bed sagged so much you could feel and see the coils. Pillows were flat and fairly non existent. Duvet was filthy. Towels were threadbare, thin and grey. Shower head repeatedly fell off When asked for an iron (none is in the room) it didn't work and had to wait a full day to find one that did. Carpet is filthy. Door to the TV stand was broken and taken off. Side lights did not work and on the last day the room fuse blew so we did not have any electricity.  We mentioned this to staff but nothing was done. View from both rooms were of an office next door so we were unable to have our curtains open. The noise from the terrace was very loud. Room temp was cont. 25 degrees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Massive room - very friendly and helpful staff - definitely worth a return trip
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great location, breakfast was very poor and not up to a standard I would have expected from a hotel of that level. Plug sockets did not work however the staff were very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Perfect location. Great staff!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location-location-location
Location: Shopping, dining, theater
My husband and our 7 yr old daughter loved it. Location was perfect. Rooms were clean, staff really nice. Great on the roof terrasse. Would go back there anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Enjoyable stay, breakfast was good but the hot food was a little too cold (room service). Same issue was not had with previous nights dinner. Overall very nice hotel in a great location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Awful

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The room is no where looks like the photos that shown on their website. It is more like a 3stars hotel rather than 5 stars. Horrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Courthouse hotel London city

Posted May 15, 2017
I read the reviews after I booked this and was a little concerned. I really don't understand where some people are coming from. 5 start its not but its a great 4 . Pleasant staff , comfortable room and clean. what more do you want. You need to remember its not home and everything is not as it is there. Providing the costs remain competitive I will be back. Location is 6 star. If its the Ritz your looking for its not, but if you want to pay £600 plus a night that's your call and at that price everything needs to be 100%.Struggle to fault this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel beds VERY Uncomfortable

Posted May 12, 2017
I assumed that since this hotel was considered 4 stars that it would be lovely. I was wrong. The only thing this hotel has going for them is their proximity to Oxford Cirus and all the shops. Otherwise, the rooms were very dated. I over looked that but my main issue was the beds and mattress. The mattress was so hard and their was no topper on it, just a white sheet. It was already midnight so I tried to just go to bed but literally my back started hurting and parts of my body were falling asleep because it was so hard. Also any time you move there was a sound of squeaky springs which was also annoying. I called the reception around 1am to ask for a topper but they didn't have any and could only offer me an extra dueve cover to fold up and use as padding. That didn't help much so at 7:30am when the manager got in, I alerted him of my problem and he offered to move me to another room. I looked at 4 different rooms and all of them have the same mattress. I thought maybe it was just my room but after seeing 4 different rooms, they were all the same. I did change rooms to a bed that was less squeaky. Overall, if you value your sleep I would recommend staying elsewhere but if you would rather spend the money just for location then this place is good for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very uncomfortable bed and pillows.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: I really like the character of the hotel and the cleanliness. My room had a very nice restroom and a tub that was terrific for a nice, long bath.
Cons: The rooms need updating - new carpet, new beds.
Location: Soho is a fabulous part of London. Excellent food in the area. Hotel is convenient to train stations.
The hotel is set in a nice area and has many enjoyable features. However, I travel mainly for work purposes and being able to get a good night's sleep is very important. Unfortunately, I had a room with two double beds, neither of which had a nice mattress or pillows. The beds felt very old and rickety and the pillows are very flat. I was aware of the springs and my neck was strained. I won't stay at the hotel again. My colleague stayed in another room and has the same opinion.
5 out of 5
by Judy

Best Shopping & Restaurants

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for shopping and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful historic building, interior was a little weary, but still nice.