Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york NY

Overpriced for this facility

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Ok hotel, ok location, not a bargain rate even though listed as a special deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to a great train station

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was definitely cozy. I don't like hotels that feel like hotels, so this was truly a perfect place for me. The staff were all super nice too!
Cons: Just an elevator would be nice and maybe if breakfast could be served just a bit later, even if it was just leftovers.
Location: A 3 minute walk to Paddington Station meant a 20 minute train ride for 24 pounds to Heathrow Airport! Plenty of restaurants around the area.
I loved staying here. I loved the location too. While I didn't do anything in the area, I loved going to sightsee and then coming back to this area at the end of the day. The room was a bit small, but I really didn't mind it at all. The staff was super! When I arrived, my reservation had not gone through apparently. I was afraid I wasn't going to have a place to stay, but the front staff handled it efficiently and gracefully. I also don't think it was their fault, but a problem with Orbitz instead. The only problem with this hotel was that there weren't any elevators. So if you have packed light, this is a great hotel for you! I had just come from a 3 week stay from Florida to France to London, so dragging a suitcase and a heavy backpack up 3 flights of stairs warranted a shower shortly after. There's also plenty of Pokemon to catch around the area and Poke Stops!
3 out of 5
by Martin

Friendly staff, basic 3 star hotel.

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is good. It's a basic 3 star hotel and really needs a makeover. The furnishings are very tired and the building needs a renovation. However, the room was clean and for the price, no complaints.
3 out of 5
by Jonathan from Chesterfield

Good for just a bed

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
A really average hotel but for the price not many would be better
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Location

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Location is its major asset.
Location: Easy to find and what more can be said re Paddington...so easy to get most things in London
Like most hotels in area older style and being on top floor the stairs kept me fit, Great value and worth while including breakfast in booking as this set me up for a good day out in the city. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by GV, Hotel Management
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly that you kept fit, as this is always important :) On a more serious note, we offer a portering service if you have difficulties with your luggage and we urge all guests to use it. Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location, let down by facilities, lack of.

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Great location. Bed hard, curtains need cleaning, breakfast out of of A box or tinned fruit. Only boiled egg, some meat and cheese. Old slow toaster operated by staff. Crowded breakfast room, wait for seating. N
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by GV, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were not left satisfied with your stay at our hotel. I can only apolgise and hope that you send us your room number to georgem@dolphinhotel.co.uk so that we can look to investigate your points. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NewYork

Excellent location, quaint individual rooms

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Clean bedding and blankets
Location: A 20 minute walk to Kensington Palace and Hyde Park. A good pub on the corner.
Fantastic location 5 minutes from Paddington Station. Our reservations were messed up, and my family of 4 was split into 3 rooms. That was fine, except I found a dead bug in my bed, and my daughter found a live one in her room. I did use a Lysol wipe in our bathrooms and on the floors, and I will say they were clean. Our bedding was changed the next day. The stairways are narrow so a climb up to the 4th floor can be challenging with a larger suitcase, but once up in the rooms on the 4 th floor, you can't hear the street noise. My daughter did hear lots of people passing on the sidewalk from her second floor room. The lobby allows 15 minutes of free internet access. Overall, a good, budget friendly hotel.
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth Rose from San Francisco, CA

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
This is definitely a budget hotel. I found it rather depressing. The walls are thin and I could hear the family in the room next to mine yelling at each other in the evening and morning. You have to pay to rent the TV remote, hair dryer, or iron. The people at the front desk were helpful enough and the room was clean. I feel sort of guilty giving this place a bad review, but I picked this place because it had three stars and I thought it would be an economical, but not depressing, place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
I asked not to have a room in the basement and arrived late, perhaps that is why I got a room in the attic, 4th floor and no lift. I have bad knees and it is hard for me to carry the suitcase up 4 floor. The next day they gave me a room in the sister hotel, Shakespeare, on the ground floor. I cannot fault the service, but I will book a better hotel next time. Both are very basic and worn, I just stayed in Denmark for the same price and in comparision the Danish hotel was 5 star, even though it is only rated as 3. How these two hotels obtain their 3 star I don't know, or perhaps I am nut used to London standard.