Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Avoid this hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Checking out and going home.
Cons: Everything, but start with not mis-leading customers by booking them into a different hotel than the one you advertise.
Location: If you are lucky to be able to have a shower, there is plenty of night life about.
The stay was a disaster from the start. When I went to book in, I was told my room was nearby. Apparently they have a "sister" hotel - the Dolphin Inn and I was put there. The room was smaller than my rabbit hutch, but I thought for 2 nights, I could cope as the rate was not too bad. I then noticed the bed's fittings were so loose it wobbled if I turned over. The single pillow was the size of a napkin and about as thick - I had to roll the bathroom towel up and use that. The only chair had a broken leg, so I avoided sitting down, thinking I was lucky I looked about and spotted it early. For coffee and tea making, they did supply 1 sachet of coffee and 1 tea bag, presumably 1 for each night. Oh, and the bathroom tap was loose. For night 2, there was NO WATER AT ALL between 6pm to 9pm, not even to be able to flush the toilet. Ruined my stay, I wanted to have a shower and then go out for the evening. Didn't bother as I could not clean up, not even washing my hands.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Australia

Character hotel near Paddington station.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Paddington Station, the room's facilities, the price.
Cons: My fitness, after 3 floors of stairs several times a day! :)
Location: There are a lot of eateries and souvenir shops along the surrounding busy roads.
This hotel is part of a group along Norfolk Square, situated just around the corner from Paddington Station - which is great when you are wheeling luggage . There are no lifts, but staff helped me with my case up to my 3rd floor room. The trains could be heard from my room, but it didn't bother me. Mine was a small single room, but it had TV, tea and coffee facilities and a refrigerator for my medications, and the ensuite shower room, though small, was adequate and there was plenty of hot water. I didn't need the supplied heater during my stay, and the windows opened for fresh air.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

cheap overnight hotel. The bed linen was good

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: cheap
Cons: listening to customers requests - and then apologising
Location: good range of places to eat - went to the pub at the end of the road and had a delicious meal.
The hotel is a lovely old building but needs money sent n it - however it would not then be cheap. Checking in was quick and efficient with lovely helpful staff = who remembered my room. I asked for no stairs as I have mobility problems, this had all been sorted out. Breakfast, which is included in the price was a dismal affair - tinned fruit (I am diabetic so no good for me) a choice of cereal. Processed meat and cheese - no good for anyone. White toast - supplies were frugal. staff stood around in silence - margarine for the toast (processed) not butter (Natural) there was also cake and biscuits. make your own tea/coffee. No Jam for toast. I went to check out and asked that a taxi be booked to take me to my 8.30 meeting. the receptionist said it would be 20 minutes - I waited. after 25 mins I asked how long it would be - she had forgotten to call the taxi company. I was late for my meeting and not well pleased, it spoiled what had been an ok stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york NY

Overpriced for this facility

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Ok hotel, ok location, not a bargain rate even though listed as a special deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to a great train station

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was definitely cozy. I don't like hotels that feel like hotels, so this was truly a perfect place for me. The staff were all super nice too!
Cons: Just an elevator would be nice and maybe if breakfast could be served just a bit later, even if it was just leftovers.
Location: A 3 minute walk to Paddington Station meant a 20 minute train ride for 24 pounds to Heathrow Airport! Plenty of restaurants around the area.
I loved staying here. I loved the location too. While I didn't do anything in the area, I loved going to sightsee and then coming back to this area at the end of the day. The room was a bit small, but I really didn't mind it at all. The staff was super! When I arrived, my reservation had not gone through apparently. I was afraid I wasn't going to have a place to stay, but the front staff handled it efficiently and gracefully. I also don't think it was their fault, but a problem with Orbitz instead. The only problem with this hotel was that there weren't any elevators. So if you have packed light, this is a great hotel for you! I had just come from a 3 week stay from Florida to France to London, so dragging a suitcase and a heavy backpack up 3 flights of stairs warranted a shower shortly after. There's also plenty of Pokemon to catch around the area and Poke Stops!
3 out of 5
by Martin

Friendly staff, basic 3 star hotel.

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is good. It's a basic 3 star hotel and really needs a makeover. The furnishings are very tired and the building needs a renovation. However, the room was clean and for the price, no complaints.
3 out of 5
by Jonathan from Chesterfield

Good for just a bed

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
A really average hotel but for the price not many would be better
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Location

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Location is its major asset.
Location: Easy to find and what more can be said re Paddington...so easy to get most things in London
Like most hotels in area older style and being on top floor the stairs kept me fit, Great value and worth while including breakfast in booking as this set me up for a good day out in the city. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by GV, Hotel Management
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly that you kept fit, as this is always important :) On a more serious note, we offer a portering service if you have difficulties with your luggage and we urge all guests to use it. Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location, let down by facilities, lack of.

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Great location. Bed hard, curtains need cleaning, breakfast out of of A box or tinned fruit. Only boiled egg, some meat and cheese. Old slow toaster operated by staff. Crowded breakfast room, wait for seating. N
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by GV, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were not left satisfied with your stay at our hotel. I can only apolgise and hope that you send us your room number to georgem@dolphinhotel.co.uk so that we can look to investigate your points. Thanks