Ratings based on 2,508 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Nice hotel in a great locatin

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Some of the rooms are small but the beds are very comfortable. Room size did not bother us because we were not there to spend much time in the hotel.
Location: Excellent location with several museums and Kensington Palace just a short walk away. Easy access via the Tube to everything you want to see nearby.
The hotel is well situated in South Kensington, just a short walk from the South Kensington Tube stop on the Underground. Charming neighborhood with nice restaurant options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Cosy hotel with friendly staff

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Even though I had prepaid my hotel room with Expedia, the hotel still put a hold on funds with the bank to the equivalent of the 3 days.
Location: Victoria & Albert Museum, Harrods, Kensington High Street, Direct bus to Westfield Shopping Centre in Shepherd's Bush. See above for more.
The staff were extremely friendly on check in/out, in restaurant and the room staff. Hotel room was fully renovated so spotlessly clean. Small but perfectly okay for visitors spending all day out sightseeing. Supplied all basics free of charge, coffee/tea making facilities, WIFI and safe in room. Location was excellent, close to Gloucester Road Underground station. We walked to Kensington Palace to visit the Princess Di Fashion exhibit. U station is on Piccadilly line, convenient to/from Heathrow airport and the theatre district downtown. I will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Subpar service and facilities

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Room not ready at check in time. Kept waiting without updates for half an hour while other guests were being checked in. Upon getting to the room, the extra bed and towels were not there. Also, no fridge in the rooms. Only some amenities were replenished for the additional stay (e.g. We got 7 shampoos but 1 conditioner and 2 bath gels for a 3 night stay of 3 people.) Mattress sags in the middle. Towels were scratchy. Hallway so narrow it's hard to pass people with bags. Staff's service varies from person to person. Fire alarm went off twice during our stay - both apparently unannounced tests. Overall not happy with the experience. Would never stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We have always enjoyed staying at the Double Tree Kensington, however this time we found the room service staff unhelpful. They refused to send up breakfast to the room, we only wanted toast and coffee, and were generally unpleasant. This is quite different from previous visits.
5 out of 5
by Pia

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was good, service was good and the price for breakfast is fair. I would recommend and likely to revisit. However, it would be very helpful if their pillows were a bit more supportive or choices could be provided. For the breakfast, they need more people working in the breakfast team. It's a shame that the food was a bit cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very small room.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The location is great, 5 minutes walk to two tube stations and walking distance to a lot of sites; if you like to walk. Overall the hotel is good. The staff is absolutely amazing, loved them all. My bedroom was very small and my bed was very uncomfortable, I dragged to get in bed. For the price I didn't mind the small bedroom but I was for sure expecting a better bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Doubletree Hotel, Queens Gate, London

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The staff.....best I have ever met (and I travel a lot!!)
Cons: Ended up in a room on the ground floor near to an air conditioning unit. Noisy
Location: Business trip
Fantastic, fantastic staff. Looked you in the eye, spoke sincerely, and very very polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely presented hotel in convenient location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: staff were warm and welcoming nothing too much touble
Cons: attention to detail in room - bathroom was clean but few marks / smudges near sick and hair dryer did not work
Location: good central location for purpose of my stay
Professional staff gave warm welcome. Efficient check in and nothing too much trouble, Room was clean but a few marks on vanity unit in bathroom and hairdryer did not work. Ample towels and toiletries. Breakfast was plentiful and hot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The mattress too soft

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Roos is little bit tiny. The shower doesn't work properly. Overall is acceptable.