Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Wish they had in room coffee especially for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere, and of course, the Dukes Bar martinis.
Cons: Room got quite hot in the evening.
Location: Dukes Bar of course, the Wolsey is a short walk for a fantastic dinner.
My friends & I have been to the Dukes Bar before for their fantastic martinis and decided a fun get together for the holidays would be to have a 'staycation' spending the night at Dukes with an evening of dinner out and ending at the Dukes Bar for martinis. The hotel itself is lovely and has a great classy vintage feel. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom. Only complaint on the room was that with our room being on the top floor it got quite warm in the room overnight such that we had to turn the A/C on, which was incredibly nosy. Other than that, everything about our stay was lovely and all the staff we encountered were fantastic and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Dec 25, 2016
I have stayed at many hotels in the Mayfair and St. James area and I can say that Dukes probably the lowest ranking. I had several dissatisfactions during my stay and the hotel did not do anything to fix it to make me feel pleased. Definitely not worth the price. Check other hotels in the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

charming well-located boutique hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: I think some of the rooms could be freshened up and a manager should be more present in busy times.
Location: It is an easy walk to Trafalgar Square or into St James Park, its a block from Picadilly to reach shopping and The Royal Academy of Art
We have stayed at The Dukes many times and always had a terrific stay. The hotel is charming and intimate, the Bar is so cozy, the breakfast service is fabulous and our suite is roomy and lovely. It is in a super location and the staff is friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The Dukes at Christmas

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Small thing really, just a little bottle of body lotion. I forgot mine at home.
Location: Lovely hidden spot. What's to do,? Everything!
Lovely and festive. Wonderful charm. Much better than the large impersonal hotel, where you are just one of thousands. Staff are friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overrated

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Hotel is beautiful but completely overrated. Staff is fantastic and did their best but internet barely worked, things were overly formal in silly ways, the restaurant was slow (though the staff did everything to sort it)...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: the hotel exterior
Cons: discard the aloofness
Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Room felt like one from the 70s or 80s. Few in room amenities, no way to make tea/coffee. Was wearing a (smart) t-shirt and when I went down to the hotel bar they refused to serve me until I went to my room to put on a shirt. Some people might like that sort of thing I guess, but not me. Way over rated. I had booked to additional stays in the coming weeks, but cancelled them and reserved another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

Fabulous short break

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Fabulous hotel. Very comfortable and well appointed. Great location within easy reach of everything. Staff very professional and attentative. Would recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shockingly bad. Worse than a 2* airport hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Cons: The service. The staff is poorly trained.
Lots of silly problems, but everything that went wrong was very poorly managed by the hotel which made the experience unpleasant. The first issue should actually have been a funny story to tell. We booked a room with a king size bed and it had two double beds pushed together. The beds were on wheels and were not hooked together with connectors. As a result, when I rolled over the beds slid apart and I landed on the floor. It was not fun, but it was kind of funny. We tried pushing them back together but the beds kept rolling apart. We figured we would inform the hotel and they would fix it. After TWO nights of this, the hotel's solution was to DOWN GRADE us to a smaller room with a queen size bed. Not the solution we would have expected. Already the first room was very outdated and bare (no flowers, no fruit, no tea/coffee tray, nothing beyond very basic amenities). The new room was all of that in a teeny tiny space. But it was the poor service that stands out above all. When we requested a coffee service for the room, our dirty coffee cups were not replaced with clean cups for 3 days and it was never restocked. The mini bar was not restocked at all in 6 days. They made a mistake on our dry cleaning and responded by charging us an extra 50%. Half way through our stay, we couldn't get our key because they accidently put someone else's name on our room. Etc. Etc. The overall physical quality of the hotel and the rooms was low and the service was appalling. Stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Very well located, excellent staff!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel is located in a privileged location and it's attended by very friendly and professional staffs. It is also very famous for its Martini Bar and for having the best Martinis in London prepared by the best expert I've met in my life.