Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Well located hotel: basics good, details weak

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Its quiet, cleanliness, location close to a wealth of good restaurants, top shopping (Bond St. Jermyn St.) and excellent transportation connections.
Cons: Please see above. And modernize the elevator.
Location: Rich restaurant choices in nearby Mayfair, Soho, Chinatown; art galleries in Mayfair and Piccadilly; West End theaters mostly within 15 minutes walk.
Dukes is a pleasantly furnished, very clean and quiet hotel, well situated--a 5-minute walk from the Green Park Underground station, a cluster of bus routes and plentiful taxis. The staff, mostly European, are polite and welcoming. We'd stayed a couple times before and liked it enough to return. But on this visit, the cozy traditional look--the wood-paneled elevator with its cushioned seat, but with two heavy metal gates to pull aside, the scant drawer space that imposed a living-out-of-suitcase vibe--had lost some of its charm. And as a pile of small errors piled up, we began to wonder if the hotel had lost its focus: the inability to find our reservation at first; the failure to swap out feather bedding as requested when booking, and again in a telephone call hours before arrival, despite assurances at check in that it had been done; the lack of milk for coffee in the mini-bar two days running, contrary to a printed card promising same; the nightly weather forecast (a nice touch) twice printed with a January date--in February...and a few more. A pity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Wish they had in room coffee especially for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere, and of course, the Dukes Bar martinis.
Cons: Room got quite hot in the evening.
Location: Dukes Bar of course, the Wolsey is a short walk for a fantastic dinner.
My friends & I have been to the Dukes Bar before for their fantastic martinis and decided a fun get together for the holidays would be to have a 'staycation' spending the night at Dukes with an evening of dinner out and ending at the Dukes Bar for martinis. The hotel itself is lovely and has a great classy vintage feel. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom. Only complaint on the room was that with our room being on the top floor it got quite warm in the room overnight such that we had to turn the A/C on, which was incredibly nosy. Other than that, everything about our stay was lovely and all the staff we encountered were fantastic and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Dec 25, 2016
I have stayed at many hotels in the Mayfair and St. James area and I can say that Dukes probably the lowest ranking. I had several dissatisfactions during my stay and the hotel did not do anything to fix it to make me feel pleased. Definitely not worth the price. Check other hotels in the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

charming well-located boutique hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: I think some of the rooms could be freshened up and a manager should be more present in busy times.
Location: It is an easy walk to Trafalgar Square or into St James Park, its a block from Picadilly to reach shopping and The Royal Academy of Art
We have stayed at The Dukes many times and always had a terrific stay. The hotel is charming and intimate, the Bar is so cozy, the breakfast service is fabulous and our suite is roomy and lovely. It is in a super location and the staff is friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The Dukes at Christmas

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Small thing really, just a little bottle of body lotion. I forgot mine at home.
Location: Lovely hidden spot. What's to do,? Everything!
Lovely and festive. Wonderful charm. Much better than the large impersonal hotel, where you are just one of thousands. Staff are friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient location in the heart of Westminster at a reasonable price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overrated

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Hotel is beautiful but completely overrated. Staff is fantastic and did their best but internet barely worked, things were overly formal in silly ways, the restaurant was slow (though the staff did everything to sort it)...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great hotel in an excellen location

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: The hotel is in the midle of the scene. Picadily st. is 200 meters away to take you by foot all the way to Picadily Circus, Brent street, Bond st...
My wife & I spent 5 nights at the Dukes hotel. It's strongest advantages to offer should be its location, right in the middle of main scenes. The staff was very helpful. Mr. Malijan from the concierge drpartment should be mentioned for his excellent service. We only tried breakfast which was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
All outstanding, especially in-house restaurant and bar.