Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Brilliant for the price

Posted Dec 21, 2017
It's basic and not all singing and dancing but it's one of the cheapest hotels around. Clean, nice bathroom and comfy bed, what else do you want?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkhamsted UK

Great value hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Value, cleanliness, staff
Good location close to Northern line underground and looking on to Clapham Common. Exceptionally clean and well decorated. Our room was windowless, with a very small bathroom, but very good value and comfortable beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Clapham common

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Nov 26, 2017
I would not call this a hotel, it is more of a hovel . Room was cold and uninviting, very shabby worn carpet. Bathroom had broken and loose floor tiles, with a build up of dirt in missing grout. Don't waste your money, book somewhere else
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clapham

Nice location next to the common but!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Good location near Brixton near enough to Brixton for me.
Cons: Not sure how but room was so small don't know how they would get a bigger bed in, could have gained a few inches by putting a narrower head board on.
Stayed over night while at a concert in Brixton, so needed a nice bed to sleep in, as long as it was clean and comfy. The only trouble was the room was so small the bed was not big enough for me and could not stretch out as my legs were hitting the wall at bottom of bed. Plus had noise from I think from water pipes or heating at quite a noticeable volume. So did not get the best nights sleep. I am just under 6 foot by the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice budget hotel by Clapham Common.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
We stayed for 2 nights in a triple room. The room was quite crowded with the single bed. If it only had a double bed in it, it would have been a perfect size room. Comfortable beds, nice no frills hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convienent

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Stayed one night but all I needed was a bed and shower The room was clean bed really comfy and shower water hot perfect for a short stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Worse than I thought.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Its location to our event
Cons: Carpet down in all bedrooms. Deep cleaning of showers, followed by regular cleaning to prevent such a build up of mold.
Location: Very close to Clapham Common tube station, the common itself, a Breakfast Club and to Brixton; a short bus away from the Ritzy.
I was not staying here under the expectation of luxury. It was a cheap one-night stop on Halloween weekend. We had a basement room which has veeeery interesting decor and colour schemes. The man on the desk was friendly and efficient. The floor was bare - no carpet in the room, which I would not normally mind except I was concerned then that ALL the rooms were like that. They were. We could hear every weird, ridiculous movement our neighbours above us were making at 3 and 4am. It sounded as though they were moving furniture about and there was a lot of walking and talking. There appeared to have been an incident that night as there was a sign on the door the next morning, but it might have been less obvious if there had been carpet to absorb the sound. The shower was gross - there was clear black mold along all the grouting and door fixtures. One should not feel dirty after showering. Despite being unpolished hardwood floor, it was clear that the floor was not well-swept. The bedding and toilet and sink were clean, however. We got what we paid for. I can not fault the hotel for the drunken return of other guests - that was their poor ettiquette and young inexperience and lack of consideration for others. I can however suggest the hotel put carpet down in the rooms, so as to limit noises being carried through the building. That is just common sense!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from America

Great location, quiet neighborhood

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Great location, easy access to underground. Staff was friendly until we made an error in booking. Then they were not so easy to deal with. Other than the error, great stay. Grocery store is close, with pastry and sandwiches. Underground close, made easy access to anywhere we wanted to go. Room was exceptionally small, no closet. Storage was none, not even a place to put a suitcase.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean family room overlooking Clapham Common.

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Wotif
We were happy with our family room. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and bathroom modern located upstairs at the front overlooking the common. Some traffic noise during peak hour. Northern line tube 5 mins walk away at Clapham South. Choice of restaurants and shops. Leafy Clapham Common has a cafe, duck ponds and walking tracks. Pay extra for wifi and bag storage. Would stay here again. Hotel only 15 minutes to central London by tube.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 6, 2017
pretty on the outsise awful in the inside! terrible rooms, awful staff and you can hear every room