Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Apr 20, 2017
unclean pillow cases.. Everything else was extremely clean and in great condition. Shops are close by and their is good parking. Should they improve on the cleanliness list this would be a perfect stat for a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IT

4 nights stay- visiting our friends

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Me and my wife stayed for 4 nights at this hotel while visiting some friends here in london and visiting the city for the first time. The location is good (close to Clapham South tube station zone 2, and in front of the beautiful Clapham park) but the size of the room is very small. The first night they gave us a very small room where we couldn't even walk properly even though we clearly required a spacious room. So in the morning we went to complain at the reception and thankfully the receptionist understood the situation and gave us another room slightly bigger and with a table (in the other there wasn't even a table). Is not not the best hotel ever, but we were there mostly to visit and stayed with our friends so was ok. Very basic stuff in the rooms, no wardrobes. A weird and not very nice thing was when we were checking in and the receptionist answered to the phone exactly when he was supposed to tell us what to write and where.. sorry, but you should never answer to the phone in front of a customer!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
My advice to any one plan to go there This is not hotel this is YMCA. We when there with my wife and two children first we get there staff don't have any Respect to the customer. The room don't have windows we couldn't get any fresh air. We try to sleep then 2am we have to wake up with alarms people smoking and making noise we leave the early morning. all night.
4 out of 5
by Kerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: the size of the room
Location: great
conviniently located opposite the Common just a couple of minutes from the underground station and lots of shops,pubs and restaurants. the hotel has been renovated recently and is nice and clean but the room was tiny even though it´s supposed to be a double room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and value for money
Cons: Limited space
Location: Clapham common and tube stops
Room small but clean and in good quite location. Excellent value for money and staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
by david

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The first room that I had was a disgrace,as we had booked and asked for a room with a view,which I had to pay extra for. The first room I had on Monday Night was a box room where you couldn't swing a cat and it stunk of Paint. Room L8. The Second Room I had on Tuesday Night which was Room Number 332 overlooked Clapham Common Park and was absolutely brilliant, the room was twice the size of Monday Nights. I was not to impressed at all with the accommodation on Monday. Please let me know what if anything will happen as I will be staying in the location on the 28th of December,look forward to hearing your comments. Thanks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choose another Hotel!

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff very unhelpful and not at all customer focussed Preferences expressed when booking dismissed by reception staff had the room been cleaned?? couldn't tell. Sweets on floor and empty barocca tube in kettle! mould in bathroom paint spills on curtains and bedding large holes in towels signs of refurbishment work underway (but no sign of workmen) - hence no bar or breakfast facilities (not mentioned on website) carpets throughout tatty - tiles in reception area no longer fitting no mattress covers on beds Two rooms booked for this stay - My son and his partner were disturbed by a member of the hotel staff walking in, without warning. Witnessed a traveller being charged £3 per bag - to be stored for a few hours following check-out. Outrageous! Altogether a memorable but less than satisfactory stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is close to central London. That is the only good thing about this hotel. Hotel building is worn out The bed was too firm and hard to sleep on The hotel charges for wi-fi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: The noise of the traffic outside. It was like the windows were open all night. Difficult to sleep due to the traffic
Location: Clapham Common has nice pubs and restaurants. It also has a few shops
Nice room, very convenient hotel, close to the underground, nice restaurants in the area, very clean bathroom but very noisy room due to the traffic outside.