Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Do not stay

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Unfortunately, this was a really awful experience- I had a double room booked and there was a very small room with not much floor space to move around. It was really noisy all night and the bed was incredibly uncomfortable which wasn't helpful as I had an exam the following day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, terrible accommodation

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The location is perfect, the building is in need of updating. The room was very small and the double bed was terribly compact and the mattress had seen its best days many years ago. You get what you pay for in the centre of London, but I will not return to stay in this accommodation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east sussex

Hotel review

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location o.k. couldn't easily find eateries.
Tatty carpets,no mattress covers,sink too small,certainly couldn't fill the kettle that was provided.Would not go again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Close to Oxford St.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Looks okay from outside but inside very old and shabby. Worn , dirty carpets especially on stairs (dangerous). The staff were very nice and helpful but the hotel needs serious attention, it had an old fusty , dirty smell. Breakfast was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for the price.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Toilet and shower facilities ought to be accessible on each floor.
Even though the hotel is a bit tatty it is very cheap with friendly staff, ease of access and very clean. The 2nd floor single room was perfectly adequate with TV, hot drink making facilities and sink but the nearest shared loo & shower is in the basement so might be too far away for some. After a good nights sleep, I checked out before breakfast so am unable to leave a comment on the food. The location was perfect for my needs and really very central, being a short walk from Tottenham Court Road. I would stay at The Fitzroy again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: at least the sheets were clean for my 5 hour stay
Cons: a total renovation
Location: location is good
shouldn't even be listed as an option. I cancel my stay the first morning. Very very dirty. also a fire trap. That alone would have sent us away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything including the on-line description of the layout
I was told that the bathroom was shared but it didn't say that the bathroom was in the basement and I was on the top floor - 6 flights of stairs. There was no towel and no soap and when I did use the bathroom prior to leaving for another hotel, I found that the water in the wash hand basin in the bathroom didn't run. And, there was only one towel in there. Were we all supposed to share the one towel?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

A mixed bag.

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Positives: cheap and clean. Scrambled eggs cooked well. Negatives: stair carpets not fixed well, shower was a mere trickle, extractor fans in shower and toilet didn't work. Breakfast was poor (no muesli, no fruit, no yoghurt, only white bread, only instant coffee): this could have been much better with a little imagination and effort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Typical cheap shoddy London hotel.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: WiFi worked well and good location
Cons: Bit of painting and new bathroom fittings. And staff who were not overworked and probably grossly underpaid.
Location: Good pub a few doors away.
Typical of the cheap hotels found in London with barely room for the bed, small TV and bar of soap. However, the price of the Fitzroy was higher than many similarly poor hotels; by paying a bit more, I thought it would be better. Bed comfy and clean and good location and WiFi worked well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away - shabby tired. Poor in every respect

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Shower no pressure. Carpets held together on the stairs with duck tape. One bar of soap and a towel. Now way is this worth the money. Breakfast poor one type of cereal. Pay a lttle more and go elsewhere.