Ratings based on 3,270 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great for large groups and families

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Great location - close to shops, restaurants and key bus/underground station options
Cons: Would have been nice to know we were in courtyard rooms that required going up narrow stairs - a bit challenging with luggage and older folk.
I was travelling with an aunt, my mom, 3 kids, and an uncle so having several beds was key without breaking the bank by booking multiple rooms. This hotel was great for providing many different options for us. We had a 1 bedroom suite that had 2 single beds as well as 2 queen sofa beds in the living room. For my aunt and uncle who requested separate beds, they upgraded us to a single bed, queen bed + queen sofa bed studio. The rooms as a results were quite cramped with the sofa beds open but we didn't mind given the convenience of being able to all stay in the same room. We loved stopping for snacks and breakfast items at the local Marks & Spencer at the Whiteley mall a couple of blocks down as well as being able to get to the underground within 3-4 minutes of walking. On our last day, we walked over to Kensington Palace and enjoyed a nice stroll through the park. It was only a 10 minute walk away. It was a pity that the older people in my party weren't comfortable riding bikes as there were 2 street bicycle rental stations nearby. The bus lines to get to the marble arch, picadilly circus, oxford circus and the theatre district was also just outside of the Kensington/Hyde park area so we were able to get around so easily. The kitchenette was handy for heating up pastries and storing some drinks we kept on hand. I would gladly return to this location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Unique Southeast Asian value

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: It's not for everyone, if one wants the "British" hotel experience and/or one is cautious about overseas cultures.
Cons: My only suggestion is that the free wifi service can be inconsistent. But I see that as a technical issue which I am sure management can address.
Location: The hotel matches the cultural diversity of the nearby Queensway neighborhood which is getting rare given the gentrification surrounding Hyde Park.
I used to stay here when it was owned by a Singapore based group, now owned by a Malaysian institution. Wonderful value and if you like Malaysian cuisine, it's unique. The cafe offers Malaysian comfort food which is absolutely fantastic and, like the hotel, excellent value. The staff were always friendly from before and continue to care for their guests well. At check-in, Alessandro recognized me from previous stays and chose a very nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ampang Jaya, Malaysia

Great location. Close to Queensway.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great rooms complete with facilities. Staff were helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buenos aires, argentina

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Good location, nice hotel, the breakfast is basic for £9,90. Maybe I suggest to buy all food in the Mark & Spencer and you will get a better breakfast for the same cost. The room with kichenette is an advantage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England, UK

Good location, poor sleeping arrangement

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Good location - easy to get to.
Cons: "Sofa beds" - very hard, like sleeping on the floor.
Didn't have the room ready for check in time of 2:30 pm. Had to wait until 3. Our first room smelt of smoke even though we had a non-smoking room, to which we were changed to a different room. The plaza had small lifts and the apartments near restaurant only had stairs (not good for heavy luggage). Both of our "sofa beds" didn't have any mattresses, we may as well have slept on the floor. Glad we only stayed here for one night.
2 out of 5
by Stephen

Terrible

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Decided too stay in London as my son had an interview at Westminster Uni. Pictures on the website looked good and we needed an apartment type hotel as the kids are older now and wanted their own space. Room was small and very tired. Room was described as having a lounge and kitchen but the two lounge sofas had been made into beds on arrival???? Why??? Location was ok near Kensington park but that was the high light of the stay. Was tols we could park outside whilst checking in but got a parking ticket!!!!! Would not recommend this place ever.
1 out of 5
by Shagufta

Would absolutely not recommend

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at grand plaza hotel for one night, When I booked the hotel online, I was told that the complimentary breakfast in AM is included in the package, The next morning, I was told that the breakfast is only for special guests and that my package doesn't include it. At the time of checking in, I was charged an extra $246 for the possible stolen items from the hotel room, At first I was told that the money will be refunded at the time of check out, then at check out, I was told that the money will be refunded within 7 days, It's been 10 days and the amount is still showing on my credit card bill. I have travelled a lot and this is the first time, I have seen that extra money is charged for the possible stolen items from the hotel, I find this offensive and really insulting, I would not recommend grand plaza hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Disappointing rooms but close to all public transport, which is the only reason I would recommend it
5 out of 5
by Zaidi

Convenient and Excellent Apartment in Bayswater

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent. Sizeable room and good location as it is near to shopping areas and public transports.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located but overall room quality was.. so so.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The serviced apartments is very well located and convenient to go around London city. However, the overall hotel quality is quite average, not very pleasant nor comfortable as such. Everything is there...no more, no less.. basic delivery, basic services, basic room set-up. If you are looking for something slightly sophisticate and glamourous... run away. If you are looking for a simple and convenient place to sleep in London.. it may be the right fit.