Ratings based on 1,105 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait-and-switch to a cheaper hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The hotel was over-booked and I was moved to a sister hotel that typically charges less per room. I wasn't the only one. There were other people in the same situation. I'm not sure if it was a "one off" situation, or something that happens more frequently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Great hotel very close to two Underground stations

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Great hotel and great location very close to two Underground stations one for the Circle line and the other for District line. Also lots of places to eat and shop just around the corner. Rooms are a little small but outside of that we had an awesome stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weymouth

Location Location Location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Excellent location - Great staff - Nice bar - Good Food - Great price
Location: Queensway Tube (Central Line) 2 mins walk - which means the whole of London is easily accessible
This is hotel is in a great location for visitors to London in a very nice neighbourhood - it is well staffed with good people and we really enjoyed our stay. Close to the Tube for convenient transport links - it is a Victorian building so you need to understand that but for us that added to the attraction - the building is Victorian but the facilities are moderrn including a very helpful free "Handy" in the room which gives you free local calls and tons of information on things to see, restaurants etc Interestingly a foolish guest also helped to confirm to me how well trained and prepared the staff were - smoking in his room he set off the fire alarm in the middle of the night - plenty of well trained staff were on duty to deal with the whole situation which reassured me that this is a safe place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

grand royale Hyde Park London

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nice little hotel in the heart of a neighborhood with small stores and good restaurants. Perfect for our short business trip
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under renovation

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The Shaftesbury is a very new small hotel. The complimentary breakfast compensated for the small room.
Cons: The small room would serve two very small people with one small piece of luggage. Need to offer larger room which they did when we asked for it.
Location: Great location off of Hyde Park. Many restaurants and pubs. Some boutique shopping. Walking distance to many high points such as Harrod's and tours.
When we arrived at our hotel it was under renovation and there was a plumbing problem in our rooms. The manager indicated he had tried calling me that day but I didn't receive a message. He informed me there was no room for us in the Grand Royale but they arranged for us to stay in another Hyde Park Internationational affiliate hotel down the street, The Shaftesbury Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haifa, Israel

Beautiful hotel next to a wonderful park

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Location, Ambiance
Location: Hyde Park, Queensway tube station, several restaurants of every cuisine, pharmacy nearby.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood next to the beautiful Hyde Park. The staff is very nice and were always willing to help us in any way they could. Also, the breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great breakfast.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Well We were not inform about no breadfast until the second day. Since we sat down then told us £15 per person. Well no choice but told them charges to my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review for this Hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016
If you want a hotel at a good price and a decent location. This is it. It is very close to two tube stops and walking distance to Potobello Road, Kensington and the Queensway commercial area. We were quite shocked at just how small our room was. We are fine with small rooms, but this one was too small. It is really not good for two people. It could be better if they rethought the design and included more coat/cloths hooks and there is room for shelves in the bathroom that are both needed as storage is just not enough. The bathroom soaker tub was the highlight of the place. Room is probably okay for one person on a short stay. But two people for five nights and this room is just too small. I guess it is the tradeoff for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Deal, Nice Staff, Clean, Classic Older Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleased. The staff is very accommodating. They are doing some renovation so it a bit unsightly in the front. If you have a heavy bag. it a bit awkward going up the steps to get in. Not sure if there is an easier way to get in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingdom of Fife

Brilliant location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: See above
Location: see above
Hotel with real character in great location. Cross the road for a walk in Kensington Gardens. Two minutes from either Queensway or Bayswater Tube stations (so we reached the ROH within half an hour). Within easy walking distance of some good restaurants (eg Kensington Place). Excellent breakfasts and truly first class service. Friendly and welcoming. What's not to like?