Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

No review availble - switched to a different hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Nice looking lobby and bar, haven't a clue about the rest of the place as I didn't get the chance to see it.
So I would like to review this hotel but I can't, because when I arrived I was informed that there was an issue with my room (no hot water) and that they were switching me to a different, nearby sister hotel. After a long flight, little sleep, and an awkward ride into central London from Gatwick, I was exhausted, and didn't really have much energy to enquire about alternatives. They said they would not offer me an upgrade at this hotel, but they would throw in breakfast at the other hotel. They also said that if I didn't like the sister hotel, I could return to the original hotel the following morning - but who wants to spend all their time in london transferring between hotels? Frankly, I find the whole thing rather odd, and off-putting, and am really not confident that anyone should trust that their booking will be honoured should they choose this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cannes

Bon rapport/qualité prix / emplacement

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Son emplacement
Cons: Sèche cheveux dans la chambre
Location: Le quartier est vraiment le top, soit pour sortir à pied ou en transport public (2 min) plusieurs lignes de tubes,
Bon rapport/qualité prix, point fort son emplacement, chambre petite mais très propre et calme, personnel agreable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fint hotell i klassiskt gammal engelsk stil

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Härligt hotell med bra läge men som sagt för små rum. Personalen var fantastiska o bra frukost.
Location: Ligger intill Kensington Park o Hyde Park. Bra lugnt läge. Tunnelbana utanför hotellet.
Bra hotell som ligger bra till geografiskt. Rummen är på tok för små. Vi fick en säng på 120cm vilket jag tycker är för litet för två personer. Frukosten bra för att vara i London.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tiny but spotless room, GREAT location!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Awesomely convenient location adjacent to tube & park. Lobby old world and a little "Adams family" but rooms are modern, bright and spotless. Our room was tiny, but we were only there to sleep and shower. The bed was comfortable.The area around bayswater tube has terrific Turkish and other ethnic restaurants. For the price I will Definately stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked, transferred to another hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Get some staff that has any level of customer service experience.
We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and when we arrived after a harrowing trip, we waited in a very long line and then we're told that we couldn't stay there for 'health and safety' reasons - despite others staying at the hotel. I suspect they overbooked. They then transferred us to another hotel that was generically modern. Very disappointed. And, they were completely unapologetic. Would not book with them again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tempe, az

Great location in Bayswater/Hyde Park neighborhood

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Charming character, good location
Location: Good restaurants nearby, right next to a real neighborhood where people live and work, so part of a thriving London experience
Typical British hotel (read tiny room, but we were only sleeping and showering there, so who needs a ton of space; besides it was very clean and nice visually). Great location, easy to walk everywhere (we are great walkers) or take the underground or catch a bus if you prefer. Close to Hyde Park, lovely scenery and a good shortcut to various sites. Staff took care of us very well, I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok - waren aber in einem Ersatzhotel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Leider waren alle Zimmer im Grand Royal ausgebucht, deshalb wurden wir mit dem Taxi in ein Ersatzhotel gebracht (ca. 5 Minuten entfernt) - Hotel Grand Paddington. Dieses Hotel war ca. 5 Gehminuten von der U-Bahn Station Lancaster Gate entfernt (Hyde Park). Kleines, aber sehr modernes Zimmer, tolles Frühstück (zwar wie meistens im Keller aber tolles Angebot). Freundliches Service. Obwohl wir nicht das gebuchte Hotel bekamen, waren wir mit dem Ersatzhotel sehr zufrieden - können wir jederzeit weiterempfehlen!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming exterior - cramped interior!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
When you first pull up to the hotel, it's beautiful & has a lot of old world charm but then you have to carry your heavy bags up those stairs & the charm starts to wear off. Once in, your room isn't ready...but they compensate by offering you a free refreshment and you can grab some fruit from the basket at the front desk. Daytime staff were super helpful, nighttime staff not so much. All in all, proximity to Hyde Park, Notting Hill, tube and bus stops made it all worthwhile!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second stay in London

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: All liked is mentioned above. The hotel was clean, and the hotel staff was very cheery and helpful in all that they offered.
Cons: Aside from the actual room we stayed in that was a bit small, there is not much that can be improved. But newer carpeting in the hallways would be nic
Location: Hyde park is right across the street. Nice restaurants close by. Transportation close. You can walk to Buckingham Palace, if you don't mind walking.
We arrived back in London for a brief stop before flying back to the United States. Did not really think this hotel was going to be as good as it was, because it is an older hotel. But the Grand Royale proved us wrong. Aside from the room being a bit tight, in size. The overall room, hotel accommodations, restaurant, and conditions were exemplary. We really wish we would have been able to spend more days at the Grand Royale.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Misrepresented and over rated.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Total modernizing and renovation of rooms is needed. It is a very old building and needs lots of work.
This was not a 4 Star as advertised and maybe 2 Star at best. The pictures of hotel and rooms on web are not accurate as the pictures do not show the wear and tear. I could not believe that they were prepared to put us in the basement as a better option. We ended up leaving after checking in and found a true 4 Star hotel. Full responsibility of this misrepresentation falls on the Star rating agency that rated it as a 4 Star property.