Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel in great location.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Our second time here. First stay was at Buckingham next door, years ago. Ideal location near Holborn and Russell Square stations. Good room. Breakfast OK. Very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Excellent choice in Bloomsbury

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great location on quiet street near two tube stops. Lots of restaurants nearby. Walking distance to theatre district and Covent Gardens. A bit pricey, but good value for the location and very comfortable. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint row home hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Close to parks and restaurants and of course the British Museum is one block over.
Cons: Bigger rooms.
Location: The British museum and much of London is just south of the hotel.
These buildings used to be townhomes for the wealthy and are now subdivided into rooms. Our room was quite small, I had to hold on to the wall trim to traverse the space between it and the foot of the bed. Otherwise an excellent hotel, just remember to bring your own wash cloths for the shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Romantic Getaway in London

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed as a couple. The rooms are small and so are the hallways. No air conditioning though, so know that if you're going in the summer, you'll bake. Although we just came in early September and they have a fan to use. Literally behind the British Museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
The room was hot. No air conditioning. found ant crawling on my pillow. Had to open a window to get air, except that there was construction going on in the building across the street - so was very loud and noisy. Would not return or recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Generous upgrade to executive room

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Wotif
Upon arrival we were surprised at the size of our room given and found out we'd been given a free upgrade! Large comfy bed, quiet spacious room, hassle free check in/check out, and 11am check out. Brilliant.
2 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Neville

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Eric from Brooklyn

Not a 4 star, not the room we were placed in

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Is it really a 4 star hotel? My wife and I were placed in the basement. There is no central AC, and it was middle July, so we have to keep windows open at night, but other guest come out to smoke at night, and they always talk, overnight, we have trouble falling asleep due to smokers voice and their 2nd hand smoke. Room is very small, TV stand blocked half of bath room door way. However, their bath room is big, more than half the size of the bedroom. Clarendon may have better rooms, but for probably not gonna be available to those that booked through hotel booking services. For the same amount that we spent, maybe we could have had better room and service from other 3 star in the area or even airbnb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Very conveniently placed for Covent Gaden etc

Posted Jun 3, 2016
A good type b&b although breakfast way over priced.