Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best stay ever

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Highly efficient staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Peter from Derby

Not impressed

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
No air conditioning and no toilet in room! Room was to hot to sleep well in. In morning woken by workmen on the scaffolding outside window. Was not forewarned. Would not return
5 out of 5
by Brian from NYC

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
The customer service in the front desk plus the room size are amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for tourists

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
I hadn't spotted that I was sharing a toilet (shower and basin in the room), so do look out for that for some rooms. No air con and it was a warm night but didn't want to have window open fully as it is a busy road the room looked out onto. As it is a period town house, it is lovely to look at but I won't stay again. I was in effect the servants quarters, top of the hotel, hence also why it was very warm (heat rises). Lots of fire doors which were very heavy and if other guests don't close them, the latch means they slam loudly which can be annoying when trying to fall asleep. Staff were great and location is great - one for tourists and sadly not a repeat stay for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Layout of room unsafe

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Rooms in basement staircase unsafe narrow; Wanted a room on a different floor but asked to pay extra for a safer location.
4 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
The hotel is conveniently located, close to Senate House where I was attending a conference, and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Excellent Value

Posted May 26, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel is very nice and located close to the subway. It is within walking distance of many great attractions. The housekeeping staff is quite incredible. They have a computer for use in the lobby. The only downside is that the shower is actually located within the room, and since I shared with a friend of mine, we spent some time playing the game of, "Okay, I'm getting in! Close your eyes now!" The toilets are shared and located in the hallway. Just remember that this is Europe, after all, and you likely aren't spending much time there either. It was a small price to pay to support such a lovely group of people.
4 out of 5
by David from Glasgow

A pleasant night

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was comfortable and met my needs for the night. There was a shower and the room, and the toilets were not far away. It was in easy reach of the School of Oriental and African studies where I was attending a lecture and having dinner. The particular part of London around the university is a very quiet and pleasant place to stay. The British Museum is in easy walking distance, as are the shops in Tottenham Court Road, not to mention the bookshops etc in Great Russell Street