Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eine Übernachtung

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Wir waren für eine Nacht in London in diesem Hotel. Check in war ab 15 Uhr. Da wir jedoch schon morgens um 5 Uhr ankamen und uns erst einmal duschen wollten fragten wir an der Rezeption nach ob nicht schon ein anderes Zimmer fertig wäre. Der Mitarbeiter war etwas missmutig und wirkte leicht genervt und unfreundlich. Nach etwas zögern versprach er dass wir ab halb 8 ein Zimmer beziehen könnten. Unser Gepäck ließen wir gleich im Hotel. Der Rezeptionist beschriftete dieses mit der vorhergesehenen Zimmernummer. Um 8 Uhr kamen wir zurück. Nun war eine Dame an der Rezeption. Ich fragte nach unserem Zimmer. Auch sie wurde sofort etwas unfreundlich. Bot uns dann im Untergeschoss ein Zimmer an. Fälschlicherweise gingen wir davon aus, dass dies das für uns hergerichtete Zimmer war. Da wir nach 12 Stunden Fahrt nur Duschen und etwas schlafen wollten, willigten wir ein. Unten angekommen fanden wir ein sauberes Zimmer vor das etwas abgewohnt war und ein minimales Fenster. Der Ausblick war im Prinzip keiner, was uns nicht störte. Jedoch war die Lautstärke sehr hoch, da im Untergeschoss auch die Zimmermädchen ihre Station haben. Allgemein sind die Wände sehr hellhörig. Für eine Nacht war das Hotel ok. Die Lage ist super. Sollten wir jedoch für einen längeren Trip nach London reisen würden wir uns ein anderes Hotel suchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice Clean Hotel, friendly warm welcome

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Warm welcome, clean well positioned in London
Cons: Special Offers for Breakfast and early bird/ happy hour to encourage more use of the Hotel facilities, we thought the breakfast was highly over priced
Location: Hotel in great location for Museum and walking to Covent Garden, with all its theatres, restaurants and bars
Staff genuinely welcoming on arrival, informative thorough booking in system - all highly technical with touch screen system. Hotel in great location for Museum and walking to Covent Garden, with all its theatres, restaurants and bars. We went to Holborn too and enjoyed the pubs atmosphere with plenty of Ales for the husband to enjoy. Clean and comfy room with a fan provided which was much appreciated on this hot summer's night. ** Wish I had brought our swim wear as you can buy a day pass to a Leisure complex at their sister Hotel close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC

Back to Bloomsbury

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location stands out. Everything worked. Friendly staff, and quiet at night, well away from traffic noise .
Cons: As aforesaid, their treatment of bags lodged for safekeeping.
Location: Next door ti the Brit Mus Easy walking to tube, a bus passes the door, good choice of eating in Southampton Rocw. And QUIET, QUIET !
My 2nd visit, chosen cos the 1st was fine. Everything was fine. London prices (what did you expect?) Only negative comment concerns 2 suitcases we put in their luggage room, as too heavy and bulky to have in the room, and not needed for our stay. The cases were received and tickets isuued, but we saw them once being hauled thru the dining room , and later found them just standing in the hall. Safe, secure keeping ? Humph ! Otherwise, everything was fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Great location!

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Safe location; 5 min walk from tube station; very close to British Museum & quick transit via tube or bus to other sights; beautifully designed quaint hotel; professional & friendly staff; lovely garden; clean rooms;only con was no air-cond but fans are provided; will definitely recommend to others & stay again.😀👍🏻
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

nice hotel but

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Better furniture with surface space and some drawers
Location: Perfect to central London, a block to lovely park, Russell Square, and three blocks to tube station of same name, Russell Square station.
Our room and bathroom had few surfaces were we could put our things. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning and London was unseasonably hot in mid July. Our room had a table fan and we requested and received a second fan. Some of the staff spoke very little English. There is a lovely garden with tables and chairs, the location is excellent. There is car service to the airports at a very reasonable cost. Overall, good value and would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great Location!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Beautiful location near Russell Square, where there were food vans, magic shows and people lying around on the grass in the sunshine. Right next to the hotel is the British Museum and a 5-10 minute walk to King's Cross and St Pancras station. The room decor was lovely, the only negative was that most of the staff didn't speak English well which was a bit challenging at times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Charm, elegance, location.
Cons: Working extractor fan. Aircon. Bed on the very small size for two.
Location: British museum next door! Brilliant location in Bloomsbury. Couldn't be better.
For location and price, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Quiet for central London location. Rooms on the small side. Four poster bed a nice touch, but not for the size of the room. Makes it feel just a touch claustrophobic. Bathroom okay, but the extractor fan wasn't working, so very hot and sticky at this time of year. Sash windows very pretty in Georgian buildings, but not practical when they open from ground level for air in the absence of aircon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly, central
Great location, pretty hotel, lovely room, professional and friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Mirjam from Schweiz

Top Hotel, grosses Zimmer an Top Lage!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Wunderschönes Zimmer!! Gross, alles vorhanden, top Lage sehr nahe an Tube Station "Russels Square". Frühstück nicht genutzt da mit 17 Pfund pro Person sehr teuer! Ansonsten alles Top! Gerne wieder ;)
4 out of 5
by Heather from Buffalo, NY

great room for great price

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Close to many underground stations, convenient area. Rooms are small, but nice and clean. Many helpful people in the area. If you get off at Russell Square Station (Piccadilly line--if come from LHR) when you come out of station, turn left, walk up a couple streets until you get to the park in front of you called Russell Square Park. Walk diagonal thru the park. you will be on the street of the hotel. It will be about a 2 min walk down on the right. Cheers!