Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge,Suffolk

The real London experience

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Hazel the owner.
Location: It is close to Forest Gate railway station which is now very well served by trains into London Stratford and Liverpool Street but access is currently
Hazel who runs this B&B is a lovely character who makes you feel at home immediately. She has an artistic nature and her property reflects that with sculptures crafted by her and local children in the front garden, and nick-nacks all around the house with for example a large china Dalmatian in the entrance hall with a sparking pink top hat. It is without a doubt characterful! If you want minimalism this is not the place for you. If you want to feel at home as if staying with a friend this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming and comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Service was excellent. Very friendly owner who made me feel at home. Breakfast was cooked to order and hotel even sent a menu the night before to choose from. Very tasty. breakfast. Quiet room with a very comfortable bed. Will hopefully return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home from home

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this guest house. It won't be for everyone, due to the informal and bohemian nature of the building and hospitality, but I found it a real home from home. The owner was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for me. The breakfast was superb and it was a nice change to have the company of the landlady at the breakfast table. It was more like staying over at a friends house and definitely a better ambience than staying in some of the more sterile chain hotels I usually frequent. There is a great pub across from the train station that serves good and reasonably priced food, as well as proper ales on draught. There are plenty of takeaways and mini supermarkets around too if you need them. I would definitely recommend this place and will be returning when I am next in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Victorian guest house

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely Victorian house full of nik naks and full of character. Very quite and safe at night with good pub and places to eat very close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique East End stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Akin to visiting Grandma's place the intelligent, warm and genial host made this two night visit a unique and memorable experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming and homely guest house

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
A friendly and welcoming guest house with good facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 nights stay in September 2016

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hazel is extremely welcoming and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. I stayed in the front bedroom with ensuite which looks out over Earlham Grove. Room size is good, bed was comfy and not very much noise from the road so slept well. Breakfast was extensive and tasty. Wifi was in room but rather slow while I was there. A short walk from Forest Gate station or 25 minutes to Stratford with multiple connection possibilities. Overall a very pleasant experience that I would gladly repeat. Perhaps not for those who like everything modern but you'd need to go a long way to find a friendlier host!