Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Manager is a bully

Posted Jan 5, 2017
I have stayed at britann ia hampstead before and I notice that the general manager is a bully and can be rude and abrupt. Especially towards those of a different sex and race to him. Not very comfortable when you are paying for your stay. If he does have an issue with certain people it should not be made so obvious as he is working in a customer service environment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Intimidating manager bad aura!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
This is not the first time I have stayed here and I notice the manager seems to have a bad unfriendly attitude towards women of a different race. Can be intimidating for a young woman on her own. Especially when he knocks at your door by himself. Not very friendly at all!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and nasty.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing, it's a place to sleep that's it.
Cons: Everything.
Location: It's a great part of London to live but to visit it's a little isolated. A brisk 20-minute walk takes you into the heart of bustling Camden Town.
The hotel staff are disheveled rude and dismissive. The in room WiFi charges are ridiculous. The room service is appalling & the food is tasteless & over priced. The beds and pillows are uncomfortable. The interior is old and rundown. I spent eight days in the hotel and on my last day I checked out at 1pm and they charged me an extra £20. If that's their idea of customer service I give up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great night stay.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean
Cons: The room partition and the shower
Location: Location is fine
The room was overall clean but the shower was in kind of hidden in a door and very tiny, our room has some sort of connection to the other room like a partition held by a lock so we could hear every little thing that was going on the next room. The people staying beside us made so much noise and because we of this partition we could hear everything we didn't sleep the whole night. Very poor room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Women BEWARE

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Staff bad attitude and speaking their language infront of customers. Very rude!
Location: Camden market within walking distance, so are buses and local tube station, coffee shop, and restaurants
A strange man with tattoos, a hoody and baseball cap let himself into my room when I was alone and naked in my room. Had to push door to block him and when I called reception to alert them I did not receive any apology except that he was the handy man. Was told he would come back when I was not there. Still waiting for management to communicate about this issue. Manager aware but was only interested in my payment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Absolutely rude staff!!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Location is great. Not far from Regents Park and walking distance from Camden Market and 3 tube stations.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, the rooms are exactly that...they fit the stars, cleanliness has a lot to be desired, Staff are absolutely RUDE and disrespectful and management does nothing about it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bath

Unfriendly staff dirty entrance bad room dirty

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Zero there was nothing to like as I said in 40 yrs of hotel stays it my hotel ever all wish was not paid in advance a got my money back
Cons: Worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life if I could I would demand my money back
Location: Good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Spidernet in the ceeling and tapestry falling off.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Basic stuff, like fresh towels every night. And the bed was made, even though the sheet had a smudge of black smelt rubber or plastic on i.
Cons: Implement a real ventilation system. Put up new tapestries, replace thin doors, change the ceeling lamp from a blinding florecent light to a soft one.
Location: Busses arent very frequent but you can walk to the chalk farm to catch the metro (zone 2). Camden market is like a food festival, with souveneirs.
Well, I made a booking on a room without a veiw, which I assumed was, okay, I'll probably get a window towards a brick wall or something, and ended up in a basement. with no window at all. And the elevator was broken so you had to go down the stairs past the mens urinal. The air circulation in the room was suffocating, there were no flow of air, even though the door was thin enough that you could hear when someone was talking in a low voice in the corridor. One night there was drunk people fighting and it wasn't resolved until 5:30 am. Also there was a warning in the bathroom that if you'd didn't close the door during and after a shower you would set off the hotel fire alarm, which made getting ready in the morning a torture hence the horrible ventilation. Even though it said when I booked the room that I had free internet wifi. It was limited to the lobby and you had to log in every 30 min, which allways was a hassle. And if you wanted a decent connection you had to buy access to another internet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

outdated hotel, disappointed guests

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: its a short walk to Primrose hill and there are some lovely cafés about a 10 minute walk away.
Cons: needs completely updating. I've stayed at Britannia hotels before and this is the worst of them.
Location: London Zoo, Primrose Hill Park
We had requested a double room with a window (yes you had to pay to have a window). We arrived very late and tired and were given a very small triple room (1 X small double bed and 1 X single bed) this was not the room as described on the website when I booked. It was extremely outdated. Whatsmore, the sink in the bathroom did not work, it was blocked. I was going to bring this up with reception at check out however the two girls working at check out did not acknowledge me and snatched the keys off me before continuing their private conversation. They were very rude. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid!

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness!
Location: Only good thing was the location.
Extremely dirty. Blood stains on the bedsheets, dirty pillows. Checked out after an hour and went somewhere else!!! Sink in the bathroom wasn't clean.