Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shoreham-by-Sea

Comfortable stay

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and views.
Cons: Not enough staff on at reception.
Location: Readers will enjoy the range of bookshops Kensington has to offer! Central London's attractions are just a short tube ride away.
Lovely, comfortable hotel in an excellent location. My room was cosy with plenty of storage space for bags and coats. The bathroom had been cleaned to a high standard. The front-facing view was a nice bonus. My only criticism is that there could have been more staff on at reception. I had to wait a long time for the desk clerk to finish his phone conversation so that I could check in. Other than that, a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

6 minute walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location, it was close to where we wanted to be.
Cons: Closer attention to the window situation.
Location: Great spot if you are attending a convention at the nearby Olympia. Also close to Kennsington high street and Holland Park.
The window was painted open which was okay because we were on the second floor and it was summer, not so good in the winter I suspect. The room was clean but there was paint on the curtains. the front reception was very pleasent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Would not recommend.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. I'm surprised it's allowed to operate as a hotel.
Location: Didn't feel safe in the neighborhood or in the "hotel". Tube was not convenient and nothing notable to do nearby.
I left and went to another hotel after I saw the room and facility. There was no refund but getting out of this dump was worth it. Was surprised Expedia would offer a place as unacceptable as this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was more like a house full of drunks, very dirt

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Unfortunately nothing
Cons: General cleaning and friendly reception.
Location: Near Olympia and shops, Royal Albert Hall
We arrived late afternoon and was send to basement to our surprise narrow passage and a tiny room with "single beds"more like cots mattresses, very dirty linen bathroom so dirty. I think this people never clean we had to sleep on top of the covers. We didn't bothered breakfast(scare of food poisoning) I don't understand how this kind of accommodation is allowed in central London for £95 it's so expensive. I felt so disappointed with Expedia all we wanted was a decent hotel near Royal Albert Hall to attend my concert.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly
Cons: Cleanlyness. More comforetable beds.
My 4 night stay was ok. Handy for Olympia. Staff q friendly. Breakfast ok. Rooms ok but could of been cleaner, mine had ants in it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Lothian

Tiny rooms

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: proximity to Olympia
Cons: room sizes are way too small
Location: as above close to Olympia
We visited the hotel because of its proximity to the Olympia but I am afraid this was all it had in its favour. The room whilst clean was tiny and the ensuite was of proportions I had never witnessed. The same for the breakfast room it was small with several tables crammed in. The bed was really uncomfortable and to the credit of staff when I asked to move room there was no issue with granting my request. Would like to say the other room was better but alas...... Anyway the question would I return or recommend the I am afraid I have to say no to both.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Odd and disappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2016
We were very disappointed with the hotel. The whole place had a strange and unpleasant smell. Room was unclean...shower was covered in dirt and hair (so was went unwashed), spread at the bottom of the bed had not been washed with splots of goodness know what on them, curtains grimey. Decor dated and bodged diy everywhere. Hallways unclean and cluttered with stuff. Didn't want to risk the breakfast included in price due to general lack of cleanliness. Room in basement quite odd. Staff were polite but distant. I know London is not cheap but for £90/night I expect a high level of cleanliness at the least!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mansfield notts

small hotel close to underground

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Female receptionist was very polite and helpful gave us a map orientated us to where we were in London told us how and where to get the underground
Cons: Our room had recently been redecorated and the bathroom was newly fitted out so that was all good however breakfast needs improving
Location: Good location
Was nervous about staying at this hotel as read bad reports after I had booked however very pleasant receptionist who was very helpful room small but adequate and clean breakfast was not good poor choice and food left exposed . While we were out they replaced the fridges in all the rooms and took all the contents we had placed in the fridge drinks food with the fridge . Hadn't bothered to look inside the fridge .night porter was rude and unhelpful we had to checkout at 0715 and.the breakfast lady didn't start until 0700 so we had to go without breakfast before a long haul flight We had asked day before if we could have early breakfast which we thought had been agreed however night porter would not allow us in breakfast room until domestic had come at 0700 at which time he then proceeded to leave the hotel to buy milk.. quite a good location short walk to underground into St. Paul's about an hour to Heathrow The hotel is not much more than a hostel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Clean and small

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: not expensive
Cons: More plug ins in some of the rooms.
Location: The hotel is located near The Victoria and Albert Museum, Kensington Palace and some gardens. There are coffee shops and other shopping nearby.
The Holland Court Hotel is in Kensington, London and is not the nicest part of Kensington. It is in a row of fading town houses, but the street and area seemed very safe. The hotel has been created from a former row home, so it is chopped up and the rooms, lobby, hallways, etc. are small. The room had barely enough space for the bed. Bathrooms were small too. Anyone larger than I would have had a hard time in one shower I had. I am 5'2" and not overweight by much. Since nighttime was the only time I spent at the hotel the smallness of the rooms did not bother me. The linens and bathrooms were clean. The continental breakfast was adequate and had choices. If you are looking for luxury accommodations, this is not the hotel for you. It is reasonable priced for the area and convenient to public transportation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Not as avertised

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Convenient to transportation.
Location: Location was O.K., but I would choose something closer to London center next time.
This remodeled row home was divided up into very small rooms. Barely enough for a double bed. It was just on the edge of nicer places in Kensington. I used two different rooms as my trip was broken up for a trip to Cambridge. The first room had a shower so tiny as to be almost unusable. A large man could not shower in it. The second room had a better bathroom set up. The bed still took up most of the room. This was not an issue for me as I did not use the rooms except to sleep. The hallways only lit up when on stepped out of lift. The linens and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was adequate. If you are only looking for a clean room, then this hotel is fine. If you are wanting more luxurious accommodations, then this hotel is not for you. Transportation is nearby. The Crown and Septre across the street serves most delicious fish and chips. The hotel clerks were helpful in suggesting modes of travel to various places in and close to London.