Ratings based on 2,774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 大阪

現在大規模な改装中である。2016/07

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: 古い外観。歴史を感じるお城みたいな建物です。
Cons: 古い建物によくあることですが、このホテルも例にもれず、水回りに問題があります。 水圧が弱いので洗面所や近くの他の客室で水を使っていると、 シャワーの水側が急に弱くなり熱湯シャワーになります。 お湯はシステムが新しいのでそこそこ充分な湯量が出てきます。 ただし熱いです。やけどします。
Location: 英国の歴史を感じる伝統的ホテルです。 すぐ近くに大英博物館があり、博物館好きにはおすすめです。
現在ホテルの外観および客室のリニューアル工事中でした。 そのため工事の音がしたりエレベーターから客室が遠かったりします。 工事が終わるまで少し待った方がよいかと思われます。 工事で改善されるかどうか分かりませんが、水圧が低いです。 お湯(熱湯レベル)は十分でます。 しかし水が何かの都合ですぐでなくなります。 要注意です。 シャワーを浴びていると急に熱湯になりました。 現在工事中のため建物全体がネットで覆われているので、歴史好きには少し残念かもしれません。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Wonderful Location for Great Old Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: The location close to the British Museum with a tube station at hand going directly to Heathrow. The staff, with 1 exception, were very helpful
Cons: Shower door closure not water-tight. Quicker fix on the AC.
Location: British Museum. Starbucks 2 blocks away. Easy access to tube. Short walk to New Oxford and High Holborn Streets.
We have stayed several times at this lovely older hotel. Currently it is having a massive refurbishing of the 1880's exterior, which means some of the rooms are closed off. We were here for 4 week-nights. Our room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The AC was not working, but the staff provided a satisfactory fan. Maid service was excellent. The shower door leaked the first morning; we were careful to turn the shower head to the side thereafter. Space for clothing was adequate. Desk staff were always cheerful and helpful. The Concierge on our first couple of days (an older man whom we recognized from previous stays) was also available and helpful. We had some difficulty with arranging to get someone to print out our boarding passes the last day, as we were going to be out of the hotel until after 11 p.m. We have never had a problem with this procedure in previous years, The Concierge on duty that day appeared unable to understand what it was that we wanted him to do. He seemed to want us to get the passes at a remote location and email them to him for printing. The desk staff were similarly unable to help. However, Guest Relations Representative Supna came to the rescue. She agreed to attempt the boarding pass/seat selection process and to leave the results in our room. We were delighted to find our boarding passes safely in our room when we returned late that evening. Many thanks to Supna for grasping the problem and dealing with it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location and welcoming staff

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: We loved the welcoming and helpful staff.
Cons: The hotel offers breakfast as an extra, but it's rather an expensive addition to your bill here. There are lots of good places to eat nearby.
We stayed at Hotel Russell for a few days before flying home after five weeks travelling in Europe. The hotel was under renovation and perhaps wasn't looking its usual grand best. The staff were very welcoming and helpful though and the location is hard to beat. You can choose to relax in the park across the road, join the crowds at the British Museum or walk just around the corner to the Underground.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Hotel maravilloso, joya arquitectónica

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Precioso, personal muy amable, estupenda ubicación y cuartos con buen tamaño y baño amplio. Muy recomendable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gloucestershire

central hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Great location, smart looking hotel on an attractive square with a park café.
Cons: Lovely panelled bar area downstairs for drinks and snacks, but the music was too loud.
Location: Near British Museum and short walk to Kings Cross rail station.
I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but needs an upgrade

Posted Jun 23, 2016
The location is the best thing this hotel has to offer. Cordial staff, but the building is showing its years. Small bathrooms, tiny things that need fixing in the room...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Cons: Would be nice to have a workout room, although the hotel has an agreement with a local fitness center for admission at a discount price.
Hotel has a great location, very close to the Russell Square tube station (Picadilly line, direct to Heathrow) and is very easy to get all around London. Near the University College of London, so lots of conveniences close by as well as the British Museum. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. Hotel is currently under renovation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

good hotel for British Museum

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient for the British Museum ; excellent breakfast ; obliging staff.
Cons: Double glazing ; 5' bed ; more lifts.
Location: On Russell Square - near the underground. Walking distance to the British Museum. Pleasant park across the road.
Lovely characterful hotel, however, our room wasn't ready for us when we arrived -we waited an hour. The room was clean and comfortable, except that the double bed wasn't a double bed -it was a bit narrow which meant poor nights'sleep. The window was not double glazed which meant the noise from the people in the pub behind us kept us awake. The walk from the lift was hard for my husband, but that was our fault as it was the only room with a bath apparently. Breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again, but we would make sure of being near the lift, and perhaps would upgrade to a superior double -which would hopefully have a bigger bed !!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

立地が最高

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: 立地、英国風の概観
Cons: 排水
Location: 大英博物館まで徒歩5分、スーパーは目の前、中心街まで徒歩10分~15分、近くに広い公園があり日中は治安も良い場所だと思います。
基本的には大満足です。 駅降りてすぐ、中心街や大英博物館に徒歩圏内、近くにスーパーあり、で立地が最高に良いです。 建物は古いですが、歴史感漂う雰囲気は良いです。部屋はとても清潔でした。 ホテルのスタッフも親切でした。 唯一の欠点は、風呂の排水が悪く、シャワー利用時に不便でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Spent 2 nights there. The staff were friendly and accommodating. It was perfect for getting around Central London too.