Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dearborn, Michigan

fantastic location, amazing price

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: location and the cost
Cons: They might want to consider putting split unit airconditioners in the rooms at some stage and maybe charging a bit more
Location: fantastic location, every manner of cuisine within 100 paces
Entirely adequate accommodations. One must remember when reviewing something what that product cost. The hotels opposite us were up to 4 times the cost of this one. You really cannot ask for a more convenient location in London for access to buses and the Underground. The staff did absolutely whatever you asked them to do. They service the room every four days, which is okay, however you could ask them for new bed sheets and towels on a daily basis if you wanted to. We were very comfortable and well pleased with all aspects during our stay. Entirely to be recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
Completely different from ad. Worst in all my European travels. Every time I enteted the lobby, other guests were complaining.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Good location, room disappointing

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: See above plus a checklist of how to get servicing, extra towels etc. also there should be a checklist for the preparation of the apartment.
Location: Hyde park and Kensington gardens. The ease of catching the tube to anywhere in London.
We stayed 6 days in this apartment. There was no room servicing in that time. We had to ask at reception for clean towels and toilet paper and were unable to clean as no clothes or cleaning equipment was supplied. The carpets in the hallway were dirty and every time we entered our hallway on our floor it smelled of fresh cigarette smoke which penetrated under the doors of room. The windows were filthy and on opening to get fresh air, there were old cigarette buts and bird poo everywhere. It looked like they had not been cleaned in years. There should be a checklist for the preparer / cleaner to ensure that there are two iof every item and there are at a minimum tea towels, dish cloths, dustpan and brush and garbage bags.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

False Advertising, spend money on name brand hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Mostly everything. Update the rooms and beds, that would be the most important start.
The only 3 good points I can give this hotel: The Front desk clerk - the day I checked in was friendly and accommodating and allowed me to check in early. The location - this hotel is in central London so it is easy to get around. Lastly I felt safe, despite the appearance of hotel. This hotel is not in good shape. It is not "modern" as advertised. It is very small and run down, with confusing cramped hallways. The beds are terrible - thin spring mattresses on plyboard wood. No central air, and only standing fans for any custom temperature needs. The showers are tiny! No shelving for your toiletries and you definitely cant not put it on the floor and bend over and retrieve them, it is truly a "standing room" only type of shower. Sheets are rough and rooms are not refreshed during your stay. I only had half a roll of toilet tissue in the bathroom when I checked in and needed to go downstairs to request additional toilet roll. The cost of the room does not add up. Spend some extra money and stay at a higher rated hotel or name brand like Hilton and guarantee your comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

basic studio facilities

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Basic studio for a short stay. Could be more comfortable. Great location - super close to tube (infact runs under the hotel in the basement rooms you can hear it) Bring your own hairdryer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little cramped and worn down but good value

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Steps away from two tube stations, restaurants, cafes, etc. The little kitchenette allowed us to have breakfasts and a simple dinner in the room.
Cons: Furniture needs updating, it's pretty beaten up.
Location: Very close to tube stations, restaurants, cafes, small grocery stores, etc.
The rooms are very small (normal for this price range in central London). We stayed there about 5 days and I would say we were reasonably happy and comfortable. The room furniture is as pictured, except much older and beaten up. Earplugs are a must-- the walls are paper thin and we could hear people in the hall, doors banging closed, people next door, etc. We had a basement room which was fairly depressing. Kitchenette has a pot, small pan, plates, cups, cutlery (no bowls), and a couple glasses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good area, run down hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly pleasant staff, run down hotel, but in a great area. Rooms very not openly dirty, but there were staining on walls/floors and the hotel was very run down. I've stayed in several hotels in the Queensway/Bayswater area, and I've had better for less money. Will not book again. The "deluxe superior" denomination is ridiculous (but that I laughed about even before the stay).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location isn't everything when you sleep with ants

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and polite on the arrival, however while the room was well located and cheap, the quality and cleanliness was a disgrace. 1. The bed was on wheels (plastic office chair wheels) every time I moved the bed moved with me. 2. The walls in the room were either cracked or stained with dirty fingerprints. 3. A smell of cigarette leftovers (possibly because it was a basement, located right next to a door where cleaners smoked out of). 4. The underground being quite close meant you will be able to hear a tube passing underneath every two minutes in early morning if you stay on the ground floor apartment. 5. The walls were so thin I heard a man snoring like he was in the room. 6.. There were ants! Not too many, but I counted 7 at the bathroom, however it may be just because it was a ground floor flat and they found their way in from outside, however the bathroom itself was newly renovated and at a quite high standard which made me feel better about the place. Overall stayed for one night and was happy to pack my things in the morning and leave. I'm sure there are quite decent rooms in the property, however even cheap rooms should be looked after with as much care as the more expensive ones.
4 out of 5
by Mollie

Lovely staff and beautiful area

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay here and staff were very accommodating even though we arrived quite late, the later check out time was much appreciated too. We found the local area to be beautiful and we felt safe walking to the local shops just down the road and then also took a walk to a cafe for breakfast in Hyde park, just a couples of minutes away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nasty, nasty, nasty....."club suite" experience

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
I have reserved club suite, which was supposed to get me a queen bed and a twin and was supposed to be right size for 2 adults and 1 child. I arrived, and a guy that barely spoke English first sent me to a basement room with no working outlets, or lights , smeared walls that looked like somebody was spreading their snots on the walls and one bed, queen. It looked like a crack house, and it was funny to see soap and shampoo bottles in the miniature bathroom.... Club suite it was NOT! I went back to the reception, said to the non-English speaking guy "this is unacceptable, filth on the walls, lamps/outlets not working only one bed..he just looked at e and said, "I only have one room with 2 beds " and sent me to a room that had 2 twin beds, no space with literally 3 feet of space to walk from one bed to another to bathroom. Lights AGAIN not working , outlets did. I tried to find another hotel, places we wanted to move to were full... NOT surprising they make you pay when you arrive ... Guy said "YOU pay now"... Disgusting...and except for the fridge I could not use anything else... not to mention there was no table, no cups,1 fork 1 knife, 2 glasses though....DO NOT GO THERE EVER!!!!!!