Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Character charm! Wonderful lunch in the restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury Old World Elegance and Charm

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We had spent a lot of enjoyable time at this Inn back in the late 90’s (met a lot of interesting people there - Mr. Elbows (Gordie Howe & no we weren’t elbowed – he was very nice) and so last week we revisited it to see how it had been kept up. My first comment – “sorry we had taken so long to come back.” Hard to believe but it was better . . . much better. The month previous we had returned from Switzerland and as we entered were greeted by one of the most charming and gracious hosts we ever met (I know her name began with “A” . . . sorry Annka?) and with her slight German accent she had our heads spinning about which continent we were actually on at the moment. However, all the staff from the Inn to its restaurant were welcoming and extremely friendly. You can have the best features of anything in a hotel, but one staff member can spoil it – not here. As to the Inn itself – it’s unique and the best historic Inn - London has to offer. It is situated in a residential neighborhood close to the downtown. It is hard to describe the elegance you find in every room – not just the ones you stay in – but the common spaces, restaurant (which knows how to server and prepare food), etc. They have truly brought together an atmosphere of a bygone era of sophisticated design with modern European amenities. You can’t have people tell you about it – you just have to go and see for yourself. We will be back sooner than later - this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely inn close to downtown

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We stayed here for one night only. The room was nice with a Keurig and free bottled water. No bath in the bathroom if that's a thing for you (it wasn't for us). The price was slightly better than the Delta downtown and, after comparing notes with friends who stayed at the Delta, the rooms and facilities are superior at Idlewyld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The character and charm, the hotel is well maintained.
Cons: Restaurant breakfast service.
Location: Located fairly central London with free parking there are any number of things you could choose to experience. Theatre, music, parks, dancing, sports
The hotel was abundant with charm and character! Beautifully decorated with some recent looking upgrades. We had a wonderful one night stay. A minor issue was the heat register sounded like a compressor which never stopped. (Slightly louder than you would like grey noise). The breakfast bar was lovely and the coffee was exceptional although serves was slow. We were seated at an uncleared table, two clean place settings two used, as we finished eating our dishes remained uncleared. It was obvious we had arrived closer to the end of serving breakfast (about 35 mins) and the staff was concentrating on other duties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little staycation

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Physical plant .. lovely.. spa experience great .. food was a hugh disappointment.. OMG.. steaks x3 orders ...all over cooked !! Halibut.. X11 . Cold and like leather .. 1 bite and I was done .. too bad ..cuz we were so expecting more from this acclaimed place .. we will note dine there again!!.. Good thing we were with good friends.. who were with us for our celebration.. and could also laugh at such bad food .. on a good note .. but sad to say ,,, breakfast for the guests TOTALLY urserpted the overly expensive bad dinner..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarnia, ON

Charming old inn with character and amenities

Posted Jan 24, 2017
The inn is an old building that's been redone to include some modern amenities. The decor is a blend of old and new too. The spa at the inn is lovely. This place has both character and comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kincardine

Staff exceptional. Rooms very nice.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Pleasant atmosphere.
Cons: Price.
Second time here. Easy free parking, close drive to town or hospitals. Very nice breakfast with hot scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, cold cereal, yogourt, cheese, various buns, fruit, and cold salmon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nicest place to stay in London

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Location: Wortley Village downtown
Beautifully restored Victorian Inn in Historical area of London. Close to downtown and wonderful Wortley Village (amazing restaurants and shops) Perfect for a little romantic getaway. Staff are amazing, food at restaurant on site is superb. Backyard courtyard is perfect in the summer for dinning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location to downtown.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Inn is breathtaking with the atmosphere, decor and the neighborhood. Within walking distance to old town to check out all the old homes and vintage decor. Parks are within biking distance. The only negative is the parking during mealtimes, but not a really big negative. Looking forward to return. The price is very reasonable. My husband really liked the fluffy robe and next time check out the spa. The staff is eager to offer any assistance, just chat about the Idlewild and the town and suggest places to check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kincardine, ON

Lovely old mansion on a quiet street close to town

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff (evening and 5AM) who went out of their way to help.
We were on the third floor in a large room with a king bed. Everything was clean and sparkling. Although the building is about 150 years old, all the facilities are new and in excellent shape. We had to leave before breakfast was served, so they boxed a bagel, cheese and fruit for us.