Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon tyne

great location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bed was lumpy
1 night stopover very friendly staff after late check in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Overnight stay

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Good quiet location, charming facade on a crescent. Friendly receptionist. Comfortable bed. Chosen for its modest price.
Cons: Needs remodelling to make fewer, bigger rooms.
Location: Chosen because of its convenient distance from Euston and St Pancras stations. Very close to the British Library which is a gem to visit.
Quiet room overlooking the square. However the smallest room we gave ever stayed in, not enough space for two moderate sized suitcases without blocking the door. No bedside table or shelf on one side if the bed because it was only a foot away from the wall. Had to access bed on that side sideways! Difficult steep and narrow staircase. Tired looking decor with frayed stair carpet. Breakfast just about OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Overpriced for the value

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Nice neighborhood close to trains (kings cross & Euston)
Cons: its barely a two star hotel
Location: Central and close to west end
Nice neighborhood close to trains (kings cross & Euston) Room - tiny, hot & stuffy TV - tiny & hangs off the wall with wire Bathroom clean but basic & small Beds - awful , uncomfortable, we paid for a double and it was two twins pushed together Would not stay there again ... guaranteed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lower the price
Lovely area, lovely staff, the room was extremely small, and the stairs were hard work. The breakfast very good but the dining room was like cramped school canteen. Not worth £200 per night - £90 at the most would be fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Quiet neighborhood right in Central London.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Great neighborhood. Just outside of the busy West End of London. So, I could walk to Picadilly Square in 45 minutes, or ride the tube in less.
Cons: Safe in the rooms.
Location: Good variety of London restaurants for the average person. Right next to the University for price range. Grocery store, health clinic and Starbuck's
I have stayed in this neighborhood before, and really think it is a fantastic location. It is quiet, with a park across the way. Russell Square Tube and Kings Cross are less than ten minutes walk. Russell Square Picidillly line takes you directly to Heathrow Airport. I enjoy the full English breakfast as I can content all day without worrying to stop for another meal before late in the day. Staff works hard to address all needs. I started visiting London while in college. My expectations for housing were never grand or glorious. I get everything I need right here. Do not expect new and modern. The only real improvement that would be of use would to see an attached safe in the room. I was obligated to keep all of my valuables (passport, credit card, cash) with me during the day at all times.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Not worth the money you pay

Posted Mar 28, 2017
I was one of the smallest double bedroom hotel room I ever stayed, bedding in in terrible condition just springs and no clushion layer on it, bed moves while you sit on it as there are wheels underneath, there is no desk or chair in the room, u will be lucky if u get wifi signals in ur room.carpets in the corridor worn off. Lastly breakfast very basic and no hot food choice for vegetarians apart from burnt toast and beans. I paid 134£ for night stay in month of March and definitely this is the worst hotel I ever stayed for the price I paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia pa

great location, below average for money

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Quiet street. Very small beds. Shabby room. 5pounds a bag to hold. Paid $225 and got below average experience. Not bad but not great at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Quiet, well situated hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Its locality.
Cons: The hall and stair carpet need replacing. Beds and mattresses are old and uncomfortable. Is a sloping floor usual?
Location: The hotel is situated in a quiet crescent a short walk from Euston Station and Underground.
Booking in at reception was quick and easy and we were given our entry cards for our room on the 2nd floor overlooking the 4 tennis courts in the crescent. The stair carpet is very worn and threadbare in places. The room was very small, about 9ft square, at the end of a short (6ft), narrow (3ft 6in) corridor. The floor sloped from the sides of the room causing items placed on the bedside cabinets to slide off onto the floor. The sash windows had restraints so that they would open no more than 6 inches but they would not stay open and constantly slid closed. The air conditioning was not used except for heating, which was quite efficient. On one side of the corridor was the compact shower room with toilet, handbasin and narrow shower with folding door. The shower was not at all powerful but gave just sufficient water at a good temperature. On the opposite side of the corridor was a wall and small built in wardrobe at the end. A full length mirror was placed on the wall directly opposite the cupboard. There was no room for a seat or dressing table and the bed was light with an uncomfortable coiled spring mattress. My wife felt uneasy when stepping out of bed onto the sloping floor. Breakfast was self service except for coffee, tea and toast which was supplied by waitresses. There was a plentiful supply of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Few minutes to st pancreas and Euston stations. Quiet neighborhood. Amenities around the corner. Free breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two foot six beds

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Staff nice, Location, Clean.
Cons: BEDS I cannot believe that you could sell room as twin as beds so small. They had two large bedside cabinets and silly little beds.
Location: Great location for travelling around city. Easy access.
Staff were very helpful let us in room early. Room small but clean everything you needed. Breakfast good. Beds awful had very poor sleep just uncomfortable and to small.