Ratings based on 3,244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Brilliant place close to Paddington

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Stayed for just one night before flying back to Calgary. Hotel staff were excellent, we ate in the Island restaurant, great bottle of wine with awesome food, great place to eat. Clean and very comfortable, excellent views of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmarket

Romantic weekend

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Thank you to all the staff that made our weekend simply amazing! We will be back in April to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgend

Not what was expected.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were lovely and very obliging with any queries .
Cons: The rooms are very tired , the reception area is beautiful with lovely fresh flowers but this is not the true picture when you get to the accommodatio
Location: Location is good with Hyde Park across the road and the underground runs under the hotel.
Our room was on the 7th floor which smelt damp. The room was very basic and tired with the curtains torn , but ok we would put up with it . As we were staying for 4 nights we liked to keep in touch with the news but the TV didn't work and by the same measure the wifi was terrible . After 2 nights of this I spoke to reception and I must add they were so helpful and explained the server for the TVs had melted but we would be upgraded to another room. After spending the day out we returned to find our luggage had been moved to the 5th floor which turned out to be one of the Royal suits. Overall the hotel rooms are tired and really need money spending on them but the staff were really lovely and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: Ventilation. Full of steam after a shower
Location: Close to transportation
Adequate for the price. No Receptacles for hair dryer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel amazing location

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Welcoming staff. Lovely big room, comfortable bed. Location is amazing- right next to Hyde park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value

Posted Feb 1, 2016
the staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite. the position of the hotel is excellent. our room was fine - one sl unusual feature was that the cold tap over the basin ran warm - so you couldn't drink it, in the morning it was cold again..? a bit odd. bottled water would have been nice in the room. we bought a bottle of wine from the bar to take to our room and the barman who literally leaned down picked up the bottle and put it on the counter, and then presented us with a bill for the wine and £3.30 service charge! which we remarked upon and eventually he withdrew the charge. overall a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

A nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Good location, comfortable room, helpful staff and nice breakfast.
Cons: The bathroom was a bit snug and the car park was out of use so we had to have valet parking.
Location: Next to Hyde Park and the underground so everywhere easily accessible.
We stayed here for 1 night to attend a function at the hotel. We had a nice room on the 15th floor with a great view of the London Skyline in the distance. The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. All the staff were helpful and friendly and we liked the location right next to Hyde Park and the Underground. We would definitely stay here again as we thought it was good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel, pity about the room comfort

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Location right above a tube station.
Cons: Room comfort. When people ask for a double bed, why not ensure it's a double. And place the toilet where people can actually use it.
Location: Opposite Hyde Park (which is worth checking out), but best to travel by Tube into the Soho district. World (London) is your Oyster from there.
Mixed bag of an experience here. The hotel is right above the Lancaster Gate station, but unfortunately it's a bit difficult to get there from the airport. The location is extremely nice and near enough to all the West End theater fun. The hotel itself has a brilliant entrance foyer, but unfortunately the rooms don't live up to the 4 star experience. Our double bed was 2 single's locked (not very well) together. Needless to say when they came apart and created a gap, we weren't very impressed. The toilet location is not designed for normal people to use. In fact, it feels you need a degree in Jenga or Tetris to know how to place your feet and knees in order to sit down properly. Considering we paid a premium to *upgrade* to a higher level room, this was extremely disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston-super-Mare

City break

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: In a very nice area. The hotel was easy to find because of its height and right next to tube.
Cons: The tv could be updated.
Location: Hyde park is just across the road and Lancaster gate tube station is right underneath the hotel. The gateway to the city. Marble arch is a lovely walk
We spent three nights in this four star hotel. Wonderful hotel and lovely helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Hyde Park and Paddington
Cons: Room decor and smell
Location: On the Lancaster Gate tube station and across from Hyde Park. There are several good restaurants a short walk away.
Stayed here for 2 nights ..enforced since our flight back to the US was canceled due to the snow storm. This hotel is a short walk to Paddington station..where you can catch the Heathrow express. We were disappointed in the room..the corridor and the room outside smelled unpleasant.almost damp..we left the window open while we were out and the fan on while we were in the room to try and dissipate the bad smell.The housekeeping staff were obviously trying to mask the smells with air fresheners periodically. Carpets and furniture need to be replaced ..they are dirty and worn out..we were on the 5th floor.