Ratings based on 3,522 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy and dated

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Host at breakfast the first day was very responsive to us and comp'd our first breakfast for the troubles we were having.
Cons: Noisy doors, better facilities, better (any!) amenities, reduce crowding.
Location: Basically just Hyde park and Paddington station. Not really anything else nearby.
The biggest problem is that the room doors are just so incredibly loud when they slam closed. This is exacerbated by the fact that there were many families staying here with 4+ unruly children who stayed in multiple rooms going back and forth between the rooms constantly, all day, letting the door slam every time. Other annoyances included construction work being done on the 10th floor during the day, which we weren't told about in advance; tap water not drinkable but only one 750ml bottle of water provided per day; incredibly loud/grating A/C; extremely small rooms with fairly dingy interiors, especially the bathroom. We tried 3 different rooms in 3 days to try to alleviate these issues, but just could not find comfort at this hotel. After 3 days, we gave up and left. We were able to find a *much* better hotel, in a better area, with almost no noise, a much bigger room, and newer facilities, many included amenities... all for very nearly the same rate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Ma

Very nice hotel close to Paddington Station

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff.
Location: The hotel is close to Paddington Station
The hotel and room were very nice. The rooms were very clean. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Dejligt tæt på byen og parken

Posted Jul 22, 2016
-skøn ferie hvor der blev set en masse af London Fik besøgt nogle engelske pubber sejlet på Themsen og shoppet på Oxford circus
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel close to public transportation.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: Air conditioning unit.
Location: Walking distance from public transportation, restaurants, and Hyde Park.
Overall ggod experience. Enjoyed the service I received from the staff. Room was much better than I had expected. My son appreciated having access to the cable channels after a long day of sightseeing. Based on past reviews about the hotel, we were not expecting more than two channels let alone cable. The only negative was the noise volume in the early morning. Don't plan on sleeping past 9:00am, because it gets very noisy after that time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Definitely not Four Star

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Great location, directly opposite Kensington Gardens. Easy access to trains and buses. Copious amounts of hot water.
Cons: Retraining of the staff, including their exposure to how things operate in a true four star hotel. It is also past time for a general refurbishment.
Cannot understand some of the rave reviews for this hotel. Did these reviewers stay at the same place as me? Apart from the massive reception foyer, and an over abundance of staff, the Lancaster London would fit more appropriately into a budget class hotel. After enduring a totally messed up registration, involving being moved through a total of three rooms, we finally ended up in what is laughably termed a Superior Twin. The room was very small, tending toward shabby, and poorly equipped. The bath room was minuscule, with barely room to turn around. The air conditioning unit worked well but was very noisy. The staff, in general, were too much 'in your face' having no idea what constitutes the discrete service of a supposedly four star hotel. Their intrusiveness extended to a member of staff marching into guests rooms between 8 and 9 am to check on the mini-bar! This was most certainly not the luxury experience we had been led to expect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and well situated hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
I would recommend this hotel for the location, the staff, and the comfortable and quiet rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

地下鉄駅上で超便利!眺めも良い高層ホテル

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: 大きな窓、部屋の明るさ、開放感。
Cons: 部屋のドアが閉まる時の音が大きく、特に朝は団体客が出かける時間がバタンバタンと重なり合ってうるさいです。クッション材をつけるとか、もう少しスムーズに閉まるように蝶番やばねを調節するとか、改善して欲しいです。
Location: 立地は地下鉄セントラルラインの駅上でなので、沿線のマーブルアーチ、ボンドストリート、オックスフォードサーカス、トッテナムコートロードなどは一本で、それぞれの駅で乗り換えできるので、市内の移動は本当に便利です。目の前にはハイドパーク。入り口も目の前なのですぐ緑の中に入れます。
地下鉄セントラルラインの駅上でとにかく便利。目の前はハイドパークで、噴水近くの入り口にも近くお散歩に便利。朝食もハイドパークを眺めながら、タイ料理含むビュッフェで優雅にいただけます。ロンドンに珍しい高層ホテルで、階層が低くても大きな窓から陽光が差し込む明るい部屋がとても快適です。どなたにもおすすめです。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen scotland

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Liked the location, so close to the tube station, liked the tea and coffee selection, and very comfy beds.
Cons: Maybe could be decorated.
Location: Good location, right beside the tube station, a few restaurants and pubs nearby.
Nice hotel, staff were amazing, couldn't do enough to help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Very close to everything great spot !! Recommend to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Nice location, helpful and friendly staffs

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The room is clean and comfortable although it looks a little bit old. The bed is big and cozy, but the air con vent has some noisy sound during the night we have to turn it off.