Ratings based on 1,337 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location. We walked everywhere!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
A clean room. Hotel has lots of old British character which translates to a number of compromises but it had everything we needed. It was comfy and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good position

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Central for the sights,clean rooms and comfortable.but so in need of refurb very tired and worn out looks like 70s old people's home,and breakfast was so uninspired boiled eggs with bits of bread roll.not impressed with a £100 + room a night,expected more
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G.B

Location Handy For A Short Business Trip

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Location & restaurant food.
Cons: Make people aware of your steep service charge when ordering although maybe word is out already as we were the only people dining.
Location: Short business trip to a nearby venue so unaware of things to do locally.
Reception and Restaurant staff very helpful and friendly and a beautiful lobby. Unfortunate that bedroom very cold due to a boiler problem. Could happen anywhere but disappointed no heater available. Food in Restaurant (evening) was delicious with good service - however extremely annoyed to find a 12.5% service charge levied without my permission even on the drinks we had in the Bar which were on a separate bill - waiter had also made an assumption that I was paying for everything and had added it all in and on checking out Receptionist was going to pass on my request to Management to refund the service charge but have heard nothing back - I will not be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old but clean

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The staff was very helpful. Our room was very small but clean except the carpeting was old and needs replacing. The hotel is old and quaint.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel close to Hyde Park

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need renovations / upgrades
Location: Hyde Park, Shopping.
Hotel is at good location. The Lobby is very welcoming, the breakfast was ok. The rooms were quite small and the corridors were very tiny with a smoky smell. Cannot stay there for more than one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC, Canada

Not a happy camper.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: I booked it due to discount rates and mainly location.
Cons: Water pressure and hot water for bath. Room carpets and floor, hard to walk-in and not level. People skills at Reception, not cordial.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to nearby Hyde Park, bus stops infront of hotel, near Kensington gardens.
Pro: Location is perfect. Can walk to Kensington Garden, Hyde Park. Stayed 3 nights, 4th floor after I requested reception not to assign as to basement room. Bed linens and towels clean and all perfect white. Cons: No hot water, lavatory faucet knob not working, water leaking overnight. Cannot take a bath properly as there's no hot water. Water pressure disappointing. Two twin beds is not level, head part sloped downward. Room carpets/floor hard. Poor Wifi connection. Continental breakfast basic. All the same during our 3 days breakfast. Reception people cannot help much like where the direction to walk hotel to Kensington Palace. Always giving us wrong direction or will tell us not sure. They should have at least a basic knowledge about hotel neighboring areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton alberta canada

Good location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
This hotel was built in 1850 and does show its age, but that is the charm of it and when Lancaster gate is open again it will be the perfect location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ON

very rude staff and low quality washroom

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: only using smart phone to use areas
Cons: staff
Location: good for closing location
between too bad and bad of staff and Blackfast but good to use smartphone to tour of london
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

My 5th time in this hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Location, location and once more - location. Mice pub The Swan is in 50 meaters around the corner. Nice staff.
Location: Lancaster gate tube station is 30 meaters walk but closed till June, Paddington is in 7 minutes walk. Oxford street is in a few bus stops
Once again I chose this hotel for my 4 day trip to London. Unfortunatly Lancaster Gate tube staition closed untill middle of June. But Paddington is around 7 minutes walk and bus stops just in the corner of the hotel. As to me the hotel is rather good and pleasing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Disappointing hotel room and staff

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: nothing on this occasion.
Cons: see above and fix all the problems listed.
Location: Excellent location near Marble Arch, Bayswater Road etc. Shame the tube station is closed for upgrading.
Staff not interested at check in or check out. Lancaster Gate Tube station closed so a long walk from Queensway. Room had wood pillar beside bed so it was awkward for access. Walls very thin and door too short so the room was very noisy. The door was one inch too short at the bottom so the light came into the room all night from the landing. The taxi company they use rips people off (£17 for a £10 journey) so it appears that they have no interest at all in the welfare of the guests. Very disappointing stay. I will not be returning nor will I recommend it to friends.