Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Already mentioned
We arrived early prior to check in but our room was ready ! Nice friendly staff nice big room and bathroom. As we were going to the theatre the restaurant was closed when we got back and this lovely gentleman/night manager and barman made sandwiches for us! Good breakfast. Hotel located next to Kensington gardens so also able to get a nice walk. Within walking distance of Paddington station would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Convenient w/great Restaurant

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The restaurant here is underrated. I've stayed at the hotel a few times and have consistently been impressed with the quality of dinner.
Cons: Having spent a few years previously living in the UK, this hotel meets & more often exceeds, local standards. A lot nicer than many places in London.
Location: Walking distance from Paddington Station (which is a direct fast train to Heathrow), near a subway line and across the street from Hyde Park. Perfect.
Rooms are, in my experience, larger than a lot of standard London fare. Make time for the restaurant. Good for business travel (would be great with an iron and ironing board in every room), good location for getting around and in and out of the city. Room upgrades for Expedia members are some of the nicest I've seen and much appreciated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

No responsibility taken for a terrible stay

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: staff on service were nive and tried to help but their hands were tied.
Cons: taking responsibility for not delivering what i bought from them!
Location: good
I arrived for a less than 24 hour business stay hoping to be able to get some rest and fly to my next destination early morning. Upon arrival at the hotel it was clear that there is no heating or hot water in my room. When the technician came in the late afternoon it was already truly freezing in the room with no way to do anything about it. He looked down stating there was nothing to do as in this wing the cnetral heating is not working and brought me a fan heater which made huge noise and made the room stink of smoke (from the burnt dust in it). I asked to be transferred but there were no rooms available and with so little time till morning I had no real option but to try to sleep in an airless room (smoke) with a rumbling heater and no water for a shower in the morning before my business trip ahead. Unfortunatel, no sleep happened and i woke up with a heavy cold which stayed with me for the following days. When the staff on shift understood that nothing can be done to help me, they all said i will be refunded for this disgrace and they would personally make sure of it though this would of course not give me back my night it was a minimum expected. Only the management got back to me a few days later by mail saying they would only refund 20% of the close to 200GBP paid for this night. I argued this to no avail and am deeply dissapointed at being treated this way and hope the hotel has learnt some lessons on taking care of clients. This is certainly not the WAY in my books!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Enjoyable

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: It was comfortable for us.
Cons: Do not get the room on the ground floor (017). Can be noisy. Only guest room on hall but kitchen, boardroom... all there. Lots of foot traffic.
Location: Across from Hyde Park. Beside Lancaster Gate. Short walk to Paddington Station. Lots of diners and tourism shops.
A historical feel. It was what we were looking for. Was not expecting high end hotel bling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

A surprising bargain for central London

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: First and foremost, it has a lift - unlike some of it's nearby competitors in this class of hotel. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Location: Across the street from the Tube stop, across the street from the entrance to Kensington Gardens, one block to the Swan Pub (one of my favorites).
I was somewhat apprehensive while booking into an unknown hotel of this vintage. I was pleasantly surprised by both the quality, and the amenities. First thing worth noting is that the hotel is less than 50 meters from the Lancaster Gate Tube stop. It's also a short (less than 10 minute) walk to Paddington. The hotel is centuries old and has retained a lot of it's historic charm while adding more modern features; a lift (albeit small), excellent WiFi, a refrigerator, lots of mains outlets, and a safe. I suspect the room sizes and layouts vary wildly in this type of hotel but my room (223, I think) was quite large (for London), well furnished, had a nice decorative fireplace, and a quite large bathroom. The hotel includes a small restaurant and a small bar area; nice for that post-walkabout nightcap.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

won't go at this hotel in the future

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: They have to deal with the hot water and the strength of the steam at the bath.
Location: The location is good.. it is near 2 underground stations and 5 meters from Hyde Park.
When I got to the hotel, got a room key immediately and I have been room in the basement. The room was drab and without enough light and oxygen from the outside. After they told me no other place in the hotel, I insisted, and suddenly evacuated two rooms on the fourth floor. Except this was no hot water twice during the stay at the hotel, and there wasn't a strong current of water in the bathtub. Very disappointing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

BEWARE THE BASEMENT ROOMS!!!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Staff helped me move to a new hotel. One staff member in particular (Adrian) really took great care and understood my concerns.
Cons: I checked in and was told "I will show you downstairs to your room". It was underneath the street level. There were rat traps outside my window.
Location: Hyde Park
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing hotel, Terrible Staff

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: physically beautiful
Cons: Staff Manors
Location: Hyde park and transportation are near
Our room was beautiful but the staff were rude/ judgmental / racist. If your not white DO NOT stay here. I stayed in 11 different hotels over my vacation and this was the only bad experience I had. We Literally waited at an empty bar for ten minutes while the bar tender spoke to the lobby receptionist right outside the bar door...as we walked out leaving the bar for lack of service/acknowledgement they simply continued their casual convo never once acknowledging our existence, mind you the lobby was completely empty and it was around 10-pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suit was in "underground "

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location:Hide Park and Pudington rail station. Aircondition. Near bus station. Persian restron. Nothing more.
Cons: Sound from London Underground, without normal window
Location: Location good, near Lancaster Gate station
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very poor hotel in an excellent location

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The location is great, just a stone's throw from the underground and several great pubs. Sadly this is the only good thing I can say about this hotel.
Cons: The bed felt decades old, the room and corridors are in desperate need of cleaning, the facilities in the room needed replacing (none worked)
Location: The location is excellent; right next to Hyde Park
A dated, dirty hotel, the London Elizabeth's only redeeming feature is its central London location. The bedroom was extremely small, with no working TV or fridge. The shower was barely fit for purpose as it came off the wall as soon as it was turned on. Expect dirty laundry in the halls, crooked beds and staff who refuse compensation when your stay is inevitably a poor one. I fully recommend paying slightly more for an alternate hotel in the same fantastic location.