Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a family room.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Nice decoration and clean in common areas. I'm sure if you get a better room on a higher floor rather than a noisy, tiny, basement it would be good.
Cons: Appropriate rooms, staff trained to service rooms and deal with customer concerns. Realistic pictures of "family rooms".
Location: Great location for transport links and walking to good attractions.
I booked a twin with 3 beds for 3 adults and got a small double with a zed bed. Nothing like the pictures on the internet with an airy 3 twin sized beds in a row. We had twin beds with bedside tables. One bedside table prevented the operation of the wardrobes door as the room was too small, for the furniture. The glass top smashed when the wardrobe was opened, showering the room with glass shards. The room 703 was next to a staff exit and storage cupboard with a slamming fire door which was extremely loud. It was also street side so we were kept awake by people coming home and talking/shouting drunk and smoking outside their hotel. This kept us awake until 5.00am then were woken again by the slamming door at 7.00am ish. I complained about the room immediately and was told it was cosy and I shouldn't come to London to spend time in a hotel room. We were given a free breakfast for one day as they admitted the room wasn't like the internet picture and the extra beds are zed beds. The room was unfinished with no towel rails etc. There was no extra mugs, waters etc. Soap was taken and not replaced during room service. Generally this was very disappointing. We are three friends meeting as we now live far from each other, so the hotel room is important for us to sit around and catch up with each other.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Sonya Young , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your precious time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the bedroom, we will certainly investigate the appearance of the room on our all advertised materials however I can assure you all imagery used is genuine. We will investigate which room you were placed. Thank you for your honest feedback, I am delighted you found the hotel decor desirable. Your comments are extremely well received, thank you. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards Sonya Young Operations Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Less than 5 minutes walk from Paddington. Really friendly staff. Very good breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Operations Director , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your precious time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you found the location good and very close to the tube. We pride ourselves in our fantastic location, just steps away from Paddington Station. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Fantastic stay all in all

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this hotel. Room was small, but that was to be expected considering the location in Paddington. Everything in the room seemed new and well placed. Easy to get to and from a range of place due to the tube and bus network. The staff were particularly welcoming and helpful for any queries that we had. Would certainly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Sonya Young, Hotel Management
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel is an exclusively designed boutique hotel, discreetly hidden in Talbot Square. Moments away from Hyde Park, set in a tranquil & beautiful garden square, the hotel comprises of 4 London Victorian mansions originally built in the 1850s as Grand Residences for wealthy families of high social standing. This boutique hotel offers 72 newly furnished and contemporary bedrooms in one of the most elegant and central boroughs of London. The hotel is situated overlooking a peaceful garden square, and each room is an oasis of calm and luxury equipped with full modern amenities. It is a pleasure to hear you recommend our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Hotel Location, clean room & helpful staff, especially Counter Staff Lukcas, he is very friendly & helpful.
Location: Centrally located within 3 mins walking distance to Paddington Station. Walking distance to Hyde Park. Lots of restaurant & convenient store nearby.
Hotel is located within walking distance of about 3 mins to Paddington Station which have Circle Line, District Line, Bakerloo Line, Hammersmith & City Line, Heathrow Express & Heathrow Connect. For easy walk exit Praed Street from station. Hotel just revamp, room is a bit small but bed is comfortable. Easy walk to Hyde Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Sonya Young, Hotel Management
Perfectly located just a 2 minute walk from Paddington Station and on the cusp of London's iconic Hyde Park. Step into the most exclusive of quintessentially London Victorian mansions reimagined and reinvented as a luxury boutique hotel with English Charm. Your comments regarding the cleanliness, friendly staff and location are all extremely well received by the whole team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your rating is extremely well received, thank you. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient new hotel near Paddington

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had just opened. The staff at the lobby were very friendly but the lift was not yet operational so even for someone fit four flights of stairs was tiring. However, I put this down to the hotel just opening and would not expect it to be an issue going forward. The room was clean and had all what you would expect and more. It had a mobile phone which provided free wifi and free local and select national calls. Though I did not use this it would be great for tourists as the device could be taken out of the room. My only criticism of the hotel was the restaurant. The service was slow and unfriendly. This is definitely an area to improve. The restaurant staff could learn from their colleagues on reception who were first class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Designed with a modern and traditional British feel, the rooms feature complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, exclusive branded toiletries and laptop-sized safety deposit boxes to make your trip all the more enjoyable and relaxing. Guests searching for an added touch of comfort can opt for our more spacious Privilege rooms, where complimentary soft drinks, the use of a Nespresso coffee machine and luxurious toiletries and bathrobes await them. Thank you for your feedback on the London Street Brasserie, it is a pleasure to hear your honest feedback, thank you. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to station & brand new hotel, beautiful!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
This is a brand new hotel. Was close to Paddington tube station and off of a dead end U street which had a cute park in the middle. The staff was nice and helpful. Room was very modern, a bit tight but it's London so not a big deal. Hyde park was within walking distance and so were a lot of other attractions. But there were many tube stations around so if you didn't feel like walking that was always available. Room had mini fridge and small market around the corner. Lots of bars & places to eat close by. Bathroom floor had heated floors which was a bonus. And buffet was very good. Will return for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel is an exclusively designed boutique hotel, discreetly hidden in a peaceful garden square. Perfectly located just a 2 minute walk from Paddington Station and on the cusp of London's iconic Hyde Park. I am delighted to receive your excellent feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new London home. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your 5 star rating. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

combenient place for access to heathrow and city

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I would supplement facilities. I understand the hotel's efforts toward providing better services to customers. However, due to an early stage since opening in nov 2016, elevetaors were not available so it's very surprising.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Sonya Young , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, it is a pleasure to receive your comments. I sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused on the lack of elevator service available at this time. Unfortunately this is an aspect out of control, we do however endeavour to resolve this issue as soon as possible. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Helena

One to watch

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Modern, comfortable, nicely designed boutique hotel in great location.
Cons: Unfair to judge as most issues were normal teething problems for a newly opened hotel.
Location: Close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate tube. Nearby Victoria Pub a hidden gem.
The hotel had only been open for a week prior to my arrival, so as expected a few teething problems, but nothing that the staff did not try their very best to address, including having to hump all my bags up and down five flights of stairs. All good exercise! I am sure all teething problems will be solved quickly and then London will have a very nice addition to the Mercure family. Great location. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere. I wish them well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Sonya Young, Hotel Management
Designed with a modern and traditional British feel, the rooms feature complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, exclusive branded toiletries and laptop-sized safety deposit boxes to make your trip all the more enjoyable and relaxing. The Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel has excellent transport links that whisk you straight to the legendary London sights of Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace or the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. All London’s famed museums, art galleries and shops are accessible from our centrally located establishment. Hyde Park, Oxford Street, Marble Arch, Notting Hill Gate and Kensington are all just short walk away. I am delighted to announce the lift is now in operation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Sonya Young Operations Director