Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheaper alternatives available

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
I sometimes stay overnight in the Paddington area if there has been a major office evening event. I normally stay at the 3 star hotels in converted Houses but thought that I would upgrade for this occasion. On reflection it was simply not worth it if all you want to do is arrive at midnight and leave at 8am. Although the room is furnished to a high standard I could not get the air conditioning to work or turn on the light in the bathroom. Also I could have done without the faint rumble of what I assume was the underground train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Paddington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you have mentioned about the air condition not functioning in the room & lights not working in the bathroom, had you informed us our maintenance staff could have tried to fix it and if it wasn't fixable then we would have moved your room. I apologize for the rumbling of the underground train,but again had you informed our reception about the inconvenience, we could have given you an alternate for the room move. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Regards Mercure London Paddington Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service at the Mecure Paddington Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Our first room was so small, like a big closet and tiny tiny bathroom. It was so hot, like being in an oven because the air conditioning wasn't working. After 2 hours, Mihai, a very kind man, helped us move to another room and everything was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Paddington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We do have a plan in place and will soon carry out the work to cut down the furniture in the bedroom so there is more room for the guest. With regards to air con it was some technical issue and our maintenance team has fixed it. I'm pleased to know that you had a great stay and everything was fine in the end. I look forward to welcoming you again in near future. Regards Mercure London Paddington Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Room far too hot

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The staff were very polite and efficient. Checking in and out very good. The rooms are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Good breakfast.
Cons: Please see above
Location: Very close to Paddington station and lots of bus routes. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Good links to central London
The hotel has already responded to my earlier comments about the room. However, I feel they somewhat sidestepped the real issue, which was the uncomfortable temperature in the room and concentrated on us stating the room was small. Yes the room was small but we expected that, given the price we paid. But the important point was that it was far too hot. The thermostat said 19 degrees centigrade but it was far hotter than that in the room. We were given a fan and told to open the window, so what was the point of air conditioning then? In fact when we stepped out into the corridor in the morning, it was far cooler than in the room. If we had realised that we would have slept there! We were given the option of another room on the first day but at the time it was offered to us we had just been given the fan, thought it would solve the problem and had to go out straight away so could not test if that would make the room more comfortable. We did not return until 1.00 am and did not feel it was fair on the staff and other guests to ask to move rooms at such a late hour. We were booked in for two nights but decided to go home after one night as it was was one of the worst night's sleep we have ever had in a hotel. I have stayed overnight in the rain forest in Sri Lanka and felt more comfortable. I have to say that we have nothing bad to say about the staff. They were, without exception, charming and tried their best. The were polite and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Mercure London Paddington, Hotel Management
Dear RyzyP, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Paddington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you've mentioned that Aircon wasn't functioning properly our maintenance team has checked and fixed it. I presume during your stay with us if you would've given us a chance to make your stay more comfortable by moving you to another room then your stay wouldn't have been spoiled. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure London Paddington Team
1 out of 5
by Jan-Owe from Stockholm

Booked double room - got single room?

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very small room and very small "double bed". The bed was only 110 cm wide for 2 persons. In that bed no one can sleep on their back nor turn around. The room was clearly intended for only one person. You cannot change it into double room by adding extra towels only! Reception still claimed it was a "small double room". Small or not, I booked and paid for a standard double room and expect a bed where 2 persons fit comfortably. If you are 2 persons, avoid this hotel or check out room carefully before accepting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jan-Owe, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Paddington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I've investigated further and you had reserved a double room 151 square feet and not a standard double room. Our compact double rooms are smaller to standard double room. As for the size of the room,these are clearly marked on the website that you booked through so that you can make an informed decision on what is best for your requirements. We do have several different room types in the hotel, ranging from single rooms to executive king size rooms, these been the bigger ones that you would have seen on the corridor. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Regards Mercure London Paddington Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good and convenient

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and convenient. Good location. Near underground and eateries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future. Thanks & Regards Rupal Khanderia
4 out of 5
by Hyacinth from Wheelers Hill

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was only a 1 night stay but found the Concierage especially to be extremely helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hyacinth, Thank you for your feedback. Its really motivating for the hotel team members to receive such an appreciation and positive comments. Regards Rupal
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

主要駅最寄りの便利な立地

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Heathrow Expressが到着するPaddington駅の最寄りということで、とにかくロケーションが良い! Paddington駅をベースとして、railway, undergroundにてどこにでも行くことができます。 周辺にレストランも多く、快適に過ごすことができた。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to welcome you another time in the near future. Best regards, Mercure London Paddington Hotel Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location but disappointing experience.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The location was excellent, especially for St Mary's Hospital which is why we were there.
Location: It's a fairly short walk to Hyde Park and there are lots of good restaurants within easy reach. Oh, and of course it's next to Paddington station!
We were upgraded to a bigger room on arrival, which was great except the room was so small I wonder what the other one could have been like. However, the bathroom was big so we could keep our luggage in there. The key card to the room failed on two out of four occasions (which was annoying as we had to keep going back down to reception) and the milk in the room was off. They replaced it but even the new milk floated on the top so we ended up buying our own. And there was a cockroach in the room. It was dead and I don't know how it got there but even so...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Jalila, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We hope you had informed our front desk of the issues you mentioned in your review so that the hotel manager would have personally investigated the the points raised. Best regards, Mercure London Paddington Hotel Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Hotel close to Paddington Station

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Rooms are minute. Towels were fantastic! Great location if proximity to station is important. Not recommended for long stays!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Jalila, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your feedback. We do offer several room categories and we would suggest one of our executives rooms for a future stay. Warm regards, Mercure London Paddington Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Just Uncomfortable

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Small room, tiny bed, and very annoying, constant noise from bathroom (and the raiload station behind)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Jalila, Hotel Management
Dear Dr Lacan, We are very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay and wish to have the opportunity of welcoming another time for an enhanced experience. Best regards, Mercure London Paddington Hotel Team